We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old with questionable service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga
Ranked #29 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Old with questionable service”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Well... Used my bonus points to book a room with kingsize bed.
The first question we got upon arrival was; would you like to pay 40€ / night for an upgrade to business class? It will include iron, coffee machine and pay-TV... Ehh, no thanks.

When entering our room we find out that we got 2 single beds... Not what I booked. Down to reception, discussions....got a new ("upgrade" room on the frontside of the hotel, but with a large bed. When back in the room at midnight we realize that traffic is quite strong and seems to run through the room it self.... Also found out that the toilet is loose, and after washing hands, the water does not drain out... Not so nice...

Back to reception. This time it's a more clever receptionist there... So we again gets a new room and an "upgrade", to "another business class ". No big upgrade I must say... Basically the same room as the previous. But this one has iron, coffee machine and free pay-TV... Wow!!!

Ok it's the correct bed and quiet...so I guess we should not complain... But I am happy I did not pay the extra 40€ / night...

I come to Riga from time to time for business, will I stay at this hotel? No thanks!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Patric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mika V, General Manager at Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Patric B.

Thank you for your kind review. On behalf of the hotel’s team, please allow me to apologize for not living up to your expectations during your recent stay with us. I do understand your disappointment regarding the room type and condition. We are constantly trying to improve our service, but regarding the condition of the hotel, unfortunately, we can not solve it as fast as we would like to. We know that rooms need to be refurbished, but, as you might know, it doesn't happen that fast - at given point we are preparing an extensive, long-term renovation plan for our property to conform to internationally renown Radisson Blu standards.

As for your check-in experience, please be advised that it is one of the receptionist's job duties to offer an upgrade opportunity, and of course, guest always has rights to refuse. We apologize if this offer somehow offended you, but that is one of our standard procedures.

Once again, please accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences and, I really hope you will give us another chance to extend our hospitality to you. I would like to offer you an upgrade to an business class for a standard room rate on your next stay to show our possibilities and care.

If there is anything I can assist you with in your future visits, please do not hesitate and contact me personally.

Best regards,
Mika Virtanen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    381
    224
    63
    18
See reviews for
155
180
72
345
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I also stayed in this Hotel recently for the World Choir Games. I had a single room but with a king bed, being only one person, which was small but adequate. My view was of the Soviet era apartments behind the hotel, but as I was not there most of the day it didnt matter. I agree that the breakfast was sumptuous and also the best that I have had. The service was very good and the desk staff very helpful. We got into an argument with a taxi driver about the fare and while we were able to manage this ourselves, when we told the reception staff about it, they advised that they would help if it happened again. It didnt. The hotel is a short walk across the bridge to the old town and also there is a tram stop nearby that will take you further into the city if you need it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the river side. They are larger and some have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John2090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mika V, General Manager at Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear John2090.

Thank you for your review. We couldn't be happier that you loved your stay. I am glad that our location, service and breakfast were perfect for your needs.

I look forward to welcoming you back!

All the best,
Mika Virtanen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for the World Choir Games and it was perfectly nice for a conference. We stayed in business rooms so they were nice and roomy with balconies. The breakfast though, was the biggest and best I have ever had. Just across the bridge from oOld Town.

Room Tip: Book a business room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phoeberose95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mika V, General Manager at Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear phoeberose95.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am happy to see that you had a great stay and that our location, your room and breakfast were ideal for your needs.

I hope to welcome you back the next time you are in Riga!

All the best,
Mika Virtanen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
523 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

While our room overlooks the river and is quite spacious, the location across the bridge from old town is mot our favorite. We have a business room so it's big enough but the bed is just ok and the overall feel of the hotel is just ok. Not a bad choice but not our favorite.

Room Tip: Business rooms are a bit bigger and have a view of the river and the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesliebauman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mika V, General Manager at Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear lesliebauman.

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am thrilled that you enjoyed the size of your Business Class room. However I would like to apologize for our location did not suite your expectations and needs. Unfortunately, there is not much that can be done in this respect :)

I hope to welcome you back the next time you are in Riga!

All the best,
Mika Virtanen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This hotel is a short bridge walk from the "old town " of Riga .if you select the river view you will have not only a view of it but of the many structures that make Riga special including an ancient shot tower, castle and numerous churches. The hotel has a specious lobby and bar and the dining room also overlooks the river. The river flows to the Baltic Sea so if you upgrade to a business class room ( not much more in cost) you can ask for a balcony room and enjoy the fresh Baltic air.
The business class rooms are unusually spacious, clean and comfortable in a Scandinavian theme.
Staff are friendly and housekeeping is excellent. The breakfast buffet is a must. Fresh orange juice
Cappuccino on request, Latvian dark breads, chef prepared omelets, smoked salmon, numerous fresh fish, piles of fresh hazelnuts for home made granola, this buffet is terrific! The only downside to the hotel is the limited air conditioning in exceptionally hot weather but this generally isn't an
issue with windows that open, in cooler Riga .

Room Tip: A river view will add to your experience and suggest a business class room as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonvoyage30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mika V, General Manager at Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear bonvoyage30.

Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you particularly mentioned the view, your room and breakfast in Panorama restaurant in a positive manner.

I would, however, like to apologize for any inconveniences caused by the room temperature. According to Radisson Blu standards and given the technical possibilities of cooling equipment the maximum temperature difference between outdoor and indoor temperatures should be from 6 to 8 degrees. That must have been a very hot day.

I hope to see you again when your travel plans bring you back to Riga!

Best regards,
Mika Virtanen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We were booked into the Radisson Blu Daugava for the World Choir Games and really enjoyed our stay. Friendly staff, great views of the river and Riga old town, comfortable rooms, good food and lightning fast internet.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Charl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mika V, General Manager at Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Charl H.

Thank you for your comments! I am happy that you loved your stay and that our team was helpful and professional.

I hope to see you again next year during the World Choir Games 2015 :)

All the best,
Mika Virtanen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siauliai, Lithuania
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2014

i like this hotel.The hotel is in a convenient location. the hotel staff is very nice and helpful. do not have any complaints. super breakfast. definitely recommend it.until the next time and thank you

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Valdas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mika V, General Manager at Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Valdas J.

Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to leave us a review. I am thrilled to see that you enjoyed your experience at the hotel and that you took the time to share your recommendation.

I hope to see you again soon!

All the best,
Mika Virtanen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Latvija Conference & Spa Hotel
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Ridzene Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.6 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
0.8 mi away
Wellton Riga Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga

Property: Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga
Address: Kugu iela 24, Riga 1048, Latvia
Phone Number:
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Riga
#23 Business Hotel in Riga
#27 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga 4.5*
Number of rooms: 354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This picturesque riverside setting lies just 15 minutes from the airport and within walking distance of embassies and key business destinations. The hotel is adjacent to Riga's Old Town, where guests can visit key historical sites such as the Blackheads House, Riga Dome Cathedral, Art Museum "Riga Bourse" and Presidential Castle. You will also find plenty of leisure activities with National Library, various gardens, Livu Aquapark and Riga Zoo less than 30 minutes away. In addition to the magnificent scenery, we offer 8 room and suite categories all with comfortable furnishings and design. Included with each accommodation are coffee making provisions and in Superior Class rooms and higher - our signature Super Breakfast Buffet served each morning at Panorama Restaurant. This elegant on-site restaurant specializes in international cuisine and offers convenient room service. Both the restaurant and hotel lobby bar overlook the Daugava River, creating memorable atmospheres for sharing delicious foods and drinks. When you are not out seeing the sights of Riga, take advantage of a variety of luxurious amenities and services. Our fitness center features a 24-meter swimming pool and solarium, while the 1st-floor Beauty Shop Aleksandra offers a nice menu of beauty treatments. Additionally, the hotel provides 13 professional meeting spaces suitable for up to 320 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga Hotel Riga
Radisson Riga
Riga Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing