We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room & beautiful view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga
Ranked #30 of 112 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Hotel situated in other bank of Daugava river across "old" part of city. There are large and comfortable rooms in hotel. Also, I'd like emphasize nice window's view. Pretty waterpool and sauna may be found for you rest.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vincent_Old
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,023)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

488 - 494 of 1,023 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2010

The Good points

- View of Riga old town from the front door of the hotel
- welcome from the reception staff
- breakfast and serving staff

The Bad points

- Really a very disappointing hotel given who the parent company is - I expected so much more and now have concerns about the hotel that Radisson has just taken over in the city centre in Riga.
- Rooms were small
- Bath sink water - When I turned the sink tap on to brush my teeth, the water came out the colour of cold tea and didn't seem to run clean hoever long I left it to drain through - to the extent that I was forced to clean my teeth using the tap in the bath and shave in the bath to have clean water.
- Door didnt fit the doorway - There was an inch gap between the bedroom door and the carpet - didn't really do too much for any thoughts of privacy and I think that it would be a standard expectation to have a door that filled the doorway.

It is unfortunate that a hotel chain of this standard should allow what has the chance to be a good hotel to be so poor - it is out of the city centre and so quiet, but only a short walk into the centre for dinner etc.

Really would have expected more

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adamandkaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

I stayed there 3 times in the last 3 months, as this is the default hotel my company's travel provider books.

Upsides: the service is generally very good, although during my last stay I have witnessed an incident of the receptionist (trainee) being incredibly rude to one of the guests - but I am hoping that trainee will not get to stay much longer. Location is not bad, but not great either - it's close to the old town, but not in the heart of it, and there is literally nothing right by the hotel.

Downsides: the building is old. And it shows. It's not just the dated interiors... the last time I stayed, I was woken up in the middle of the night by a squeaky ventilation fan; other time I was staying in a room near an elevator, and found out the sound insulation is non-existent...
Back to the interiors - this is not 5* by any stretch of imagination. This is a solid 3*.

Verdict: next time I travel to Riga, I will ask our travel department to book something different...

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank summit3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

I chose this hotel because of its very attractive advanced purchase fares. It is located in a quiet romantic location overlooking the river and the city. The service is great, the receptionists were very friendly, and they allowed me to check in early. The hotel can be reached on foot by crossing the bridge from the old town, or by public transport (trams, buses, etc.). The room was spacios with a nice large bathroom. Free wifi is avaliable throughout the hotel, and there is also an internet enabled computer in the lobby, free of charge. Breakfast was not included in my rate but I went to check what sort of food was served and how much they charge for it and even though the food looked tasty I found the charge of 18 Euros per person a bit overpriced. Overall I rate this hotel very highly and it definitely deserves 5 stars and because of its great advanced rates it can also be affordable for budget-minded travellers. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lukino6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

Booked a Romance package, the champagnewas just well chilled at arrival, roses very fresh, lovely box of chocolate. Extended chack out by 4 pm.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gvdima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

Great location, nice staff -- especially in the bar... Rooms needs renovation - big rooms and bathrooms. Have not turned on the aircondition yet, so the room was very warm. We complained and got upgraded to a business room on the 9th floor - nice ;O)) Overall very happy, but my expectations were high since SAS Daugava has 5* - it felt more like 3,5...
Even if it is located across the brigde I would recommend it - the walk is just nice. 10 minutes and you are in the Old City...

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingermarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2010

Good
- Staff is very nice and friendly. They can speak several languages and ready to help you.
- Location is great. If you're lucky enough to get a room with the river and the old city view. You certainly will not be disappointed. And it was nice to walk by the bridge to the old city.
- Gym and pool included in price.

Bad
- Room furniture need renovation. It's not dramatic of course, but it's shame for Radisson.
- Unlike in other Radissons I've stayed in there is no safe-deposit in this one (at least in my standard room).
- A/c was not working. Which is not a big deal for Latvian climate in spring, but hopefully there will be summer this year :)
- View is great only if you are lucky. If you're not as lucky your windows will face grey soviet era neighbourhood.
- And the worst of all - slapping doors in the corridor which almost ruined my morning. I have no idea what was it. Could be room service or other guests, but the frequency of slaps suggested that that was wind (ye, I know that it's nonsense - but that's how it felt like).

Radisson needs to do something about all that.
Otherwise they are spoiling their good name, very nice place and putting their excellent staff in stupid situation.
Hope my money will help them. But I would recommend everybody planning to visit Riga to choose another hotel before renovation is started and completed in Radisson.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pltf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Latvija Conference & Spa Hotel
0.7 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Tallink Hotel Riga
Tallink Hotel Riga
#16 of 112 in Riga
949 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gallery Park Hotel & Spa, a Chateaux & Hotels Collection
0.5 mi away
Bellevue  Park Hotel Riga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga

Address: Kugu iela 24, Riga 1048, Latvia
Phone Number:
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Riga
#23 Business Hotel in Riga
#27 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range: £45 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga 4.5*
Number of rooms: 354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This picturesque riverside setting lies just 15 minutes from the airport and within walking distance of embassies and key business destinations. The hotel is adjacent to Riga's Old Town, where guests can visit key historical sites such as the Blackheads House, Riga Dome Cathedral, Art Museum "Riga Bourse" and Presidential Castle. You will also find plenty of leisure activities with National Library, various gardens, Livu Aquapark and Riga Zoo less than 30 minutes away. In addition to the magnificent scenery, we offer 8 room and suite categories all with comfortable furnishings and design. Included with each accommodation are coffee making provisions and in Superior Class rooms and higher - our signature Super Breakfast Buffet served each morning at Panorama Restaurant. This elegant on-site restaurant specializes in international cuisine and offers convenient room service. Both the restaurant and hotel lobby bar overlook the Daugava River, creating memorable atmospheres for sharing delicious foods and drinks. When you are not out seeing the sights of Riga, take advantage of a variety of luxurious amenities and services. Our fitness center features a 24-meter swimming pool and solarium, while the 1st-floor Beauty Shop Aleksandra offers a nice menu of beauty treatments. Additionally, the hotel provides 13 professional meeting spaces suitable for up to 320 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga Hotel Riga
Radisson Riga
Riga Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing