We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, high standard, but no AC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
Ranked #13 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Eskilstuna, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location, high standard, but no AC”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The location is perfect for a tourist in Riga, on the corner of the Old Town, just next to the market and the train station. Stockmann and a large Rimi are available nearby.The hotel has a nice classy look to it, with a feeling of quality far higher than the price might inficate. Our room was very large and nicely decorated in a classic style. One major drawback though: there was no AC, only a fan in the roof. Normally that is probably not an issue, but during our stay outdoor temperatures reached 33-34 degrees Centigrade, making the nights hot and sweaty, to say the least.The beds were pretty comfortable, we also made use of the folding bed contained in the sofa. It was ok as far as comfort goes, but unfortunately extremely creaky, waking the entire room at every little movement.All in all the hotel presents great value, with a location that's perfect if you intend to travel around or outside of Riga.Highly recommended, but make sure you get AC if visiting during the warm summer months.

Helpful?
3 Thank gronfelt
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    224
    51
    22
    7
See reviews for
80
285
51
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Setubal, Portugal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The SemaraH hotel is an excellent choice if you're in Riga on holidays orfor business. It's location in the Old city and nearby the market is ideal to visitthe main spots in town. The hotel has recently been renovated and ithas an attractive art noveau theme, giving it a great atmosphere. The rooms are cosy and staff is friendly, but they could do a little better with the daily cleaning of the rooms.

One of the strong points ofthe hotel is its restaurant. Food is superb and well presented at an affordable price. I recommed you stay in at night anddine at the hotel.

The transfer for the airport is about one euro more than if you ask for the taxi. It's worth it (14 euros)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Our stay in Metropole SemaraH was perfect! The location is ideal: Riga old town is just around the corner, both bus and train stations are across the road, but the area is not dodgy. The hotel has been renovated recently and I personally found it very beautiful. We had a classic room, which is on the small side, but still comfortable with pleasant decor, comfy beds, spacious shower and all the amenities one may need.
The breakfast is fantastic! Great variety, delicious and very fresh. 5+!!! I would like to say special thanks to the staff for arranging the early breakfast just for us, as we had to depart at 6.30 am. The food was superb and the service very attentive. Thank you!
I would be more than happy to stay in this hotel again next time I am in Riga.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors are quiter. The hotel is located on a busy street, and the tram may be a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ato-81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The restauration of the hotel took more than a year and it was reopened in the beginning of May.
My wife and I had the pleasure of visiting the hotel a week ago. Our first impression was a very dark coloured interiour and what we did was obviously comparing it with the "old" Metropol. After the first night, we had completely change our mind. The interiour came to our mind as exclusive and very peaceful. All from the start the service was excellent and the entire staff very friendly and helpful. There are all kinds of rooms in the hotel, from extra large suites to single rooms. All rooms have wooden floors and the bathrooms are spacious and equipped with amper space even for ladies toilettery things.
The breakfast buffet was very good and included everything you would need.
We will certainly live in this hotel again visiting Riga.

Room Tip: If you like a room towards the street, ask for a room on the upper floors to avoid noise from the tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sedelma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.1 mi away
Wellton Riga Hotel & SPA
0.2 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#3 of 109 in Riga
739 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Avalon
Hotel Avalon
#15 of 109 in Riga
901 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SemaraH Hotel Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SemaraH Hotel Metropole

Property: SemaraH Hotel Metropole
Address: Aspazijas bulvaris 36/38, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#9 Business Hotel in Riga
#13 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#30 Family Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — SemaraH Hotel Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SemaraH Hotel Metropole is conveniently located in the heart of Riga on the boulevard ring bordering the UNESCO heritage site Riga's Old Town and the central part of the city. Set in the charming historical building SemaraH Hotel Metropole has been a favourite destination for many prominent guests of this beautiful city since 1871. Either you visit Riga on leisure or business, SemaraH Hotel Metropole is a perfect place for your stay due to its proximity to main leisure and business attractions of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your SemaraH Hotel Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing