We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice in Riga”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
Ranked #11 of 112 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The hotel has been recently renovated with a new management, and I think they did a good job. The rooms are good, comfortable bed and good bathroom. Not the most modern one can find, but good indeed. The interiors are nice, great bar, free internet and really good breakfast. The position is excellent, few steps from the train and bus station, but at the same time not so close to avoid these areas, that are indeed not so good. The hotel is also in the center, few steps from the old town and five-ten minutes walk from the center if the town with its parks, shops and attractions. You really do not need a taxi, you can walk everywhere in complete safety. Finally the personnel was all really kind and helpful, and even smiling (not so common in Latvia). The price was really good as well, so I would indeed come back here.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alessandr078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (797)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

409 - 415 of 797 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

The location is perfect for a tourist in Riga, on the corner of the Old Town, just next to the market and the train station. Stockmann and a large Rimi are available nearby.The hotel has a nice classy look to it, with a feeling of quality far higher than the price might inficate. Our room was very large and nicely decorated in a classic style. One major drawback though: there was no AC, only a fan in the roof. Normally that is probably not an issue, but during our stay outdoor temperatures reached 33-34 degrees Centigrade, making the nights hot and sweaty, to say the least.The beds were pretty comfortable, we also made use of the folding bed contained in the sofa. It was ok as far as comfort goes, but unfortunately extremely creaky, waking the entire room at every little movement.All in all the hotel presents great value, with a location that's perfect if you intend to travel around or outside of Riga.Highly recommended, but make sure you get AC if visiting during the warm summer months.

3  Thank gronfelt
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The SemaraH hotel is an excellent choice if you're in Riga on holidays orfor business. It's location in the Old city and nearby the market is ideal to visitthe main spots in town. The hotel has recently been renovated and ithas an attractive art noveau theme, giving it a great atmosphere. The rooms are cosy and staff is friendly, but they could do a little better with the daily cleaning of the rooms.

One of the strong points ofthe hotel is its restaurant. Food is superb and well presented at an affordable price. I recommed you stay in at night anddine at the hotel.

The transfer for the airport is about one euro more than if you ask for the taxi. It's worth it (14 euros)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Our stay in Metropole SemaraH was perfect! The location is ideal: Riga old town is just around the corner, both bus and train stations are across the road, but the area is not dodgy. The hotel has been renovated recently and I personally found it very beautiful. We had a classic room, which is on the small side, but still comfortable with pleasant decor, comfy beds, spacious shower and all the amenities one may need.
The breakfast is fantastic! Great variety, delicious and very fresh. 5+!!! I would like to say special thanks to the staff for arranging the early breakfast just for us, as we had to depart at 6.30 am. The food was superb and the service very attentive. Thank you!
I would be more than happy to stay in this hotel again next time I am in Riga.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors are quiter. The hotel is located on a busy street, and the tram may be a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ato-81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The restauration of the hotel took more than a year and it was reopened in the beginning of May.
My wife and I had the pleasure of visiting the hotel a week ago. Our first impression was a very dark coloured interiour and what we did was obviously comparing it with the "old" Metropol. After the first night, we had completely change our mind. The interiour came to our mind as exclusive and very peaceful. All from the start the service was excellent and the entire staff very friendly and helpful. There are all kinds of rooms in the hotel, from extra large suites to single rooms. All rooms have wooden floors and the bathrooms are spacious and equipped with amper space even for ladies toilettery things.
The breakfast buffet was very good and included everything you would need.
We will certainly live in this hotel again visiting Riga.

Room Tip: If you like a room towards the street, ask for a room on the upper floors to avoid noise from the tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sedelma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Darina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SemaraHHotels, Front Office Manager at SemaraH Hotel Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank paula-soili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SemaraHHotels, Front Office Manager at SemaraH Hotel Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.1 mi away
Wellton Riga Hotel & SPA
0.3 mi away
Tallink Hotel Riga
Tallink Hotel Riga
#14 of 112 in Riga
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#1 of 112 in Riga
820 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#9 of 112 in Riga
695 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SemaraH Hotel Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SemaraH Hotel Metropole

Address: Aspazijas bulvaris 36/38, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#9 Business Hotel in Riga
#11 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range: £41 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SemaraH Hotel Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SemaraH Hotel Metropole is conveniently located in the heart of Riga on the boulevard ring bordering the UNESCO heritage site Riga's Old Town and the central part of the city. Set in the charming historical building SemaraH Hotel Metropole has been a favourite destination for many prominent guests of this beautiful city since 1871. Either you visit Riga on leisure or business, SemaraH Hotel Metropole is a perfect place for your stay due to its proximity to main leisure and business attractions of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your SemaraH Hotel Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing