We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite disappointed”
Review of Hotel Gutenbergs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Gutenbergs
Ranked #8 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Quite disappointed”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night and get the room no. 105 near the reception, where we heard every guest coming late at night. The room was very small with no view from the window. When we asked about the taxi to the airport, the receptionist told us the price 10 LVL, but the driver wanted 12 LVL. We were quite disappointed about this hotel, but no doubt he has a very good location.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jjotrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    198
    70
    13
    5
See reviews for
79
200
65
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

The hotel has a certain charm, not exactly my taste, but ok. Next time I will stay in Tallink or Radisson that can surely give customer-satisfaction guarantee. The receptionist was not particulary polite or caring, was just doing the JOB. The twin room was very small, no place for bags. But the breakfast room surprised me positively with both its style and selection.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blond72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Friendly reception. A bit dark in the lobby, but cozy.
There is an Apple computer in the lobby that you can use free of charge.
There is a restaurant with a terrace on the hotel roof, but it was closed, and we were very upset with it. Maybe because it was raining, I don't know.
Location is very central.

Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LT1493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2012

This is an exceptional hotel. The location is superb. The staff from the Reception and Restaurant is polite, helpful and very professional. I would highly recommend this hotel and its wonderful staff to all discerning travelers. If you would like to try grilled dishes in Latvian traditional style definitely visit also family restaurant Alibi. The best grilled dishes in Old Riga.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
151 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Charming hotel, helpful staff, cozy room, bad shower (no pressure), good & quiet location.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

I travel to Riga a lot on business and decided to try out this hotel. It's in the old town, so the building is old and the decor matches. If you want something more modern, try the Radisson hotels for example, but if you like the atmosphere of old buildings, this one is great. The breakfast was ok, didn't use the restaurant so can't comment on it.

The walls in the hotel seem to be a bit thin, you could hear people snoring in the room next door. The water in the shower changes constantly from hot to cold to hot in the morning, but it's not as bad as in the Radisson Blu :)

Go for a walk in the old town, and if you want good foor, the restaurant Biblioteka is on the opposite side of the old town. It's a bit expensive on local standards, but totally worth it in my opinion. The taxi back cost about 2 LVL.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Junior Suite, it has an enterance area in the old style of the hotel, but other than t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank astro12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We stayed in the front part of the hotel. Very quiet and relaxing environment but lacking simple basics like tea & coffe making facilities. Didn't use the hotel's restaurant as there are loads of eateries nearby. Likewise the bar. Overall it was a nice hotel but the rooms were disappointing.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.4 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.1 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#3 of 109 in Riga
739 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#7 of 109 in Riga
605 reviews
0.5 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gutenbergs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gutenbergs

Property: Hotel Gutenbergs
Address: Doma laukums 1 | Entrance from Muku street, Riga 1050, Latvia
Phone Number:
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#27 Business Hotel in Riga
#29 Family Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gutenbergs 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Gutenbergs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gutenbergs Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing