We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old-world charm, lovely staff and superb location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Gutenbergs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Gutenbergs
Ranked #8 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Old-world charm, lovely staff and superb location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2009

Do, do, do…. We stayed at Hotel Gutenbergs for 2 nights last week and had a fabulous time. My experience was a small, family-run hotel with very friendly staff who were helpful with all matters, large or small. My room was in the old wing of the hotel: exposed beams, old-fashioned furniture and ever-so-slightly sloping floors – very charming! I caught a glimpse of a newer room which looked nicely decorated. All mod-cons present – tv/phone/mini-bar; room and bathroom were spotless. We had our breakfasts (good selection) and a lovely lunch in the restaurant. The location is superb and the conference facilities are excellent with a lovely view over Old Town roofs. On future visits Hotel Gutenbergs will definitely be my first choice!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meerkat44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    194
    68
    13
    5
See reviews for
74
190
65
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
124 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2009

Based upon our experience – just don’t. The Gutenbergs, without doubt, is one of the worst hotel experiences I have had in many years. Even if you pay basic money you expect a good night’s sleep in a clean, comfortable room. You pay for 3 or 4 star, you definitely expect something better. The Gutenbergs just lets you down, never impresses and doesn’t even deliver on the basics.

We booked a tour of the Baltics, including Vilnius, Riga and Tallinn – with private transfers between the cities and a guide to show us the sites of each city. The offered hotels in Vilnius and Tallinn are at the top of the Tripadvisor recommended lists – the Gutenbergs was not, it’s about half way down. I’m a big fan of Tripadvisor and I should have known to trust my instincts and to request a different hotel. However, the tour company assured me that it was a popular choice and that they had previously had no problems – indeed that they highly recommended the Gutenbergs.

You can’t expect staff to be happy and smiling all of the time – but come on, the sun’s shining, just one smile, an occasional hello rather than a grunt, perhaps even a little willingness to help would make a difference. Perhaps we got the wrong crew – but they were miserable, really miserable.

We had booked a double room. We had already dragged our own luggage up 10 steps to the reception area, and were then told that the elevator didn’t serve our floor, and no there was no-one to help with our luggage. We then had to drag our luggage up another 10 steps to a mezzanine level to find our room – with twin beds. Back down the stairs with luggage. No she wasn’t really sure if she had any other double rooms. At last she managed to find one. This time on the third floor. Yes the elevator went to the third floor, but it still took another five steps, with our luggage to get to the new room - the smallest, darkest, most miserable room in the history of hotel rooms. If you are less than 5’8” you’d probably be OK to move around – but the stale smell and the10 degree angle, off horizontal, on the bed would have made it a very miserable stay. A telephone complaint about the room, no hangars, no access to the internet brought the offer of a third room. They managed to bring us the key this time, but we still had to manage those 5 stairs with our own luggage to another room on another part of the third floor.

Where to start describing this final room for our two night stay - small and very cramped, the luggage rack was stored on top of the closet, and just enough space to use it behind the entrance door. The room and bathroom were clean (shower, no bath and no plug for the wash basin) although the decor was very much dated and in need of a refresh. However, the cover for the bed was just plain dirty, I can’t imagine how long it had been since it was last cleaned. It felt dirty and smelt dirty – you were never going to put your bare skin against that living organism!. The curtains were very effective at keeping the room dark, if you were prepared to climb on the chair to step on the desk to draw them by hand. Trying from floor level, just brought the right had curtain right off the rail. Don’t sit on the bottom left hand corner of the bed – the mattress collapses into the frame.

The bed was comfy and you could certainly get off to sleep – however be prepared for the crowds outside and the all night partying. They stop around 3.00 am. No need to ask for a morning call – at 7.50 each morning you will be awake, I guarantee. That’s what time the cathedral bell (just 50m distant) starts to chime to call the faithful to service. Might be quaint for some, but not if you have spent the night listening to the revellers outside of your window.

The registration card advises you to lock your valuables in your room safe, as the management accepts no responsibility for items left in your room. There are NO room safes, there is a safe at the “low-security” reception. This is often unmanned – and all the old fashioned room keys are there on display for any stranger to come and take. No wonder they don’t accept any responsibility for your valuables.

There is much fanfare about the rooftop terrace at the Gutenbergs – advertised outside the hotel, in the elevator and in your room as open from 11.00 to 1.00 am every day. Not when we were there – “too cold” was the explanation with a look of disdain that would have frozen over hell anyway! Except everywhere else in town was open to the outside elements.

“Hello room service, please may I have a cup of tea and a cup of coffee (no facilities in the rooms to make your own!)?” No you can’t, but there is a restaurant across the road where you can go and buy one. She actually might have been smiling when she told me this one.

Breakfast looked to be OK, if you were German – they got waiter service, breakfasts to order and baskets of croissant and bread rolls at their tables. The rest of us had to do with no bread rolls, jam (jelly) that had all finished, and the remnants that the Germans didn’t want. Please, what does it take to smile when you say “Good morning”?

Good points – an amazingly good location in the heart of the Old Town; an excellent bowl of porridge for breakfast (the Germans don’t like porridge!); and enough disaster stories to dine out on for the next month.

Don’t, you have been warned.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter_R_Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2009

The Hotel Gutenberg in Riga, a lovely hotel in the old town of Riga.
Named after the Gutenberg bible, the hotel is full of character and style .Mind the beams! Very clean with a high standard of furniture and decoration.
Excellent reception staff always very polite and helpful. We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay in an excellent location.

Helpful?
1 Thank jhnewenterprise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 767 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2009

My wife & I returned recently from a very pleasant weekend in Riga where we stayed at the excellent Hotel Gutenbergs located in the old town.Our flight landed in the evening & we used a red taxi from outside the airport to get to the hotel.The journey took 15 to 20 minutes & cost 8.11 lats.Immediately on entering the hotel we got a good feeling about the place as the reception area was so clean,roomy & well furnished & the girl on duty greeted us with a pleasant smile & perfect english.Check in took no more than 2 or 3 minutes & we were soon in our room which was,to say the least,different.It was obvious that a big effort has been made to keep the old charm of the building as the whole design of the room was like a throw back to the past with timber beams,low ceilings etc but the result of it all was a great cozy feeling.The room was a good size,immaculately clean with a very large wardrobe,so no problems with clothes storage.Tv had a couple of english speaking channels including bbc news 24.The bathroom was also very roomy & again spotless with plenty of towels,shampoo,hairdryer etc.We couldn't find any faults with our room apart from the fact that we seemed to be next door to Riga's noisiest visitors who seemed to have a fetish about flushing the toilet & running the shower at ungodly hours on the one night that they seemed to be there.
Breakfast was good with a decent choice of cereals,bacon,spicy sausage,scrambled egg,toast,fruit,yoghurts,tea,coffee,fresh orange juice etc.On our 3 mornings there was always plenty on offer & the dining room was never anywhere near to being full.We found all the staff in the hotel to be very friendly & helpful.All spoke english fluently & all had a great knowledge of the city whenever directions etc were needed.They were a definite plus to the hotel.
If ever a hotel was well located for seeing the sights in a city then the Gutenbergs certainly is.It is literally only a few seconds walk to the Dome Cathedral & only 2 or 3 minutes walk from the House of Blackheads,occupation museum & St Peter's Church.The Castle,Three brothers etc are all within very easy walking distance.Alus Seta, Rozengrals & Raja Indian restaurants are also very close by as are a couple of Double Coffee outlets.
We found Riga to be really easy to negotiate on foot with most of the major attractions all reasonably close by to one another.We comfortably saw everything that we had planned to see in about a day & a half & that was even allowing for us to leave the hotel at around midday,not at the crack of dawn.The only time that we needed to use the public transport system was to get to the Ethnographic museum which we reached by bus & which was well worth the journey.
We liked the Gutenbergs for it's location,it's comfort & cleanliness & for it's excellent staff & we certainly wouldn't have any reservations about recommending it to any of our family or friends that may visit Riga in the future.We'll certainly stay there if we are lucky enough to be able to visit Riga again

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gaildorfblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2008

Very interesting converted old building in a great location in Riga's old town, just steps from the cathedral and within easy walking distance of all the sights, the central market and the river. The room was spacious and warm, well-equipped and spotless. In an old building like this, some "quaint" is inevitable; in this room it was the angle of the floor. There was also plumbing noise from next door so if you are looking for perfect in the building, go to a new hotel and skip the character and location.
The staff are pleasant and helpful without being effusive but I think this is the Latvian way. Breakfast buffet had ample choice. I did not eat in the hotel apart from this.

Overall, I was pleased with my choice and would recommend it to anyone visiting Riga.

  • Liked — Location and comfort
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank allesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2008

Charming hotel in the heart of Riga old town especially if you, like me, dislike the big hotel chains. This hotel really represents the old town's atmosphere.

Staff were friendly and the breakfast buffet was good.

Each room is different as the hotel was converted from something else. The first time I was there, I got a room with a big wheel in the middle. The second time, I got a more normal one.

  • Liked — The old time charm
  • Disliked — The very aunty-ish bed linen covers
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank pige_paa_ferie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
121 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2007

We stayed for 3 nights in August 2007 on the third leg of our Baltic tour. The hotel is in a great location just a few metres from the Dome. We found the hotel staff to be generally very good. It is still family-run and any requests were promptly an efficiently handled. Our room was full of character and met our expectations. We had the benefit of a portable air-conditioning unit and this kept the room temperature just right. We were aware that others were not so fortunate and found their rooms too hot. The hotel is upgrading some rooms over the winter period and this can only be positive. The original features in some rooms is both a positive (ambience etc) and a negative (awkward beams and small windows) and so anyone looking for a standard box will be disappointed. We loved the features of our room and this added to our experience.

Breakfast is the usual buffet-style arrangement. We were disappointed with the attitude of the staff in this area. They did not restock and were mulish when we asked for their help. So if you are that way inclined it's an early start to ensure you are in the line for basics such as croissants! We complained and it was noticeable that a family member was supervising the next day when things did get better.

The roof terrace restaurant/bar is a pleasant way to spend time looking out across the Riga skyline.

We would definitely stay at the hotel again.

  • Liked — Original features of room and location
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank quinnkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.4 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.1 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#2 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#9 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.5 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gutenbergs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gutenbergs

Property: Hotel Gutenbergs
Address: Doma laukums 1 | Entrance from Muku street, Riga 1050, Latvia
Phone Number:
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#27 Business Hotel in Riga
#29 Family Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gutenbergs 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Gutenbergs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gutenbergs Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing