We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eye opener” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Museum of the Occupation of Latvia

The Museum of the Occupation of Latvia
Book In Advance
More Info
US$352.81*
and up
2-Night Round–Trip Cruise from Riga to Stockholm With City Sightseeing Tours
Ranked #15 of 219 things to do in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Museum of the Occupation of Latvia is an historic educational institution located in Riga, Latvia. It was established in 1993 to exhibit artifacts, archive documents, and educate the public about the 51-year period in the 20th century when Latvia was successively occupied by the USSR in 1940, then by Nazi Germany in 1941, and then again by the USSR in 1944.
Turku
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Eye opener”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

you should really visit this museum, to understand the history of Latvia and the people. It is not that far in past that all of these terrible things have happened.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank soiannel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    588
    407
    144
    52
    39
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“a must if you want to get a better understanding of Latvia's history and population”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

The museum will be modernized after the summer. During renovation the exhibition will be moved to another location.
For the temporary exhibition in the "Corner House" (KGB exhibition): MAKE SURE TO CHECK OPENING HOURS AND TIMING OF THE ENGLISH TOURS. It was not very clear to us when there was a tour, so we arrived in the afternoon, when there were no more EN tours. So we could not see the exhibition on the basement which interested us the most. No elevator to top floors.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank liz j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hadlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
258 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Sobering, educational and extremely informative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

I had to laugh, having visited this excellent little museum, when I noted the previous reviewer - One of the worst thing (sic) in Latvia - was a Russian from St Petersburg. Well, he would say that, wouldn't he? After all, the Latvians suffered unbelievable hardships as a result of uninvited Soviet occupation, despite a 1920 peace treaty in which the Russians unambiguously stated that "Russia recognizes without objection the independence and sovereignty of the Latvian State and forever renounces all sovereign rights held by Russia in relation to the Latvian nation". Well, that didn't last long..
The museum is a tour de force and a wonderful showcase for the enduring nature of the human spirit. Entry is by donation, so do be generous, and you need at least an hour to absorb the excellent displays. There are staff on hand to assist you, if required. Well done to those who have created this.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Prufreck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of the worst thing in Latvia”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Of course this is Latvian point of view of history and it should be respected. Anyway not all of aspects are shown there. But this is just IMHO

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank RomanKolesnikov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Fantastic history lesson”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I came to Lativa with very little knowledge of the recent history. This museum covers about the last 80 years under the German and Soviet occupations. I am not a museum person, but would recommend this.

The museum details the turmoils of the Latvian people very well, showing some artifacts, but mostly it was a reading visit. There is a lot of reading. They also some videos and also some great newpapers clippings and posters through the years.

I needed about 45 minutes to go through as i read fast and do skip through some things. My father took about 90 minutes to read in detail and really appreciate it.

The museum had no fee, just a donation box which i would recommend giving to.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Justis11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Museum of the Occupation of Latvia also viewed

 
Riga, Riga Region
 

Been to The Museum of the Occupation of Latvia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing