We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rixwell Centra Hotel
Ranked #35 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Craiova, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
Reviewed 25 December 2011

The best choice for a hotel in the old city.
The price for a double room for single use was almost unbelievable. The room was comfortable and very clean.
The breakfast consisted in a lot of choices. The coffee was excellent.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulcristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    258
    66
    12
    7
See reviews for
60
276
68
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
St.Petersburg
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

Nice hotel with friendly staff. Perfect location in the centre of nightlife and sightseeing spots. There're some things to improve, like add a mirror in the room, have hygienic shower for women and flexible shower in a bath, but overall impression is very good. Coffee in the morning is excellent.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IngaIbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

When we walked into the room we were surprised and delighted on how big it was. After a couple of minutes we realized it was a great room right down to the window seats looking over the street below. We had two nights and by the time we left we both agreed that it was one of the better Hotels we had experienced on this trip. Centrally located in the old city and you can still whip around the corner and visit the most wonderful city market.
Sensible pricing and delightful staff cap off the complete package

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spilsby
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We booked this hotel late online. We knew the hotel was central but didn't expect it to be right in Historic Old Riga but quiet and extremely comfortable.
It wasn't clear on booking our twin suite that we would get an enormous 3 room suite with luxurious bath/shower room and breakfast buffet included.
Previous reviews on Trip Advisor were accurate and helped us to decide on this hotel and we were not disappointed.

Room Tip: We booked the last available so didn't get a choice. Our corner suite was enormous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJ2726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel in October for two nights. We travelled in a pair. We arrived at the hotel near midnight and found minor decorations takings place as the interior of the hotel is still undergoing some renovations. Our hotel room was spacious, in very good condition and quite simply was lovely. The bathroom was spacious and there was plenty of hot water (essential during cold weather). Our package included breakfast which included cereals, toast and cooked items. The hotel is located in a fabulous part of Old Riga and is literally minutes away from all major attractions and restaurants in the old town. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and made good recommendations for where to eat etc. I highly recommend it and would stay again.

Room Tip: Best to get a corner room or room facing off the main street to avoid noise at night time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lov3Trav3l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We booked this hotel only the day before via their website and found it to be a great stay at a great price!!  (61 Euros/night for double room)

The location is superb, right in the heart of beautiful Old Town Riga.
The main bus station is about a 10 minute walk (towing our rolling luggage).

The hotel is in a beautiful building and the lobby is fresh and modern.
We requested a quiet room and got one on the 6th floor facing away from the street.  

The room is plain but affords the basics: coffee maker (instant only, no black already creamed), safe, minibar fridge, decent storage space. The bathroom was very clean, spacious and had a great tub/shower with plenty of hot water and good water pressure.
The bed and pillows were very comfortable and the room had A/C.

The staff spoke English well and were friendly and helpful.  
I went down to reception to ask for an extra blanket and they got me one right then while I waited.  But we did tell them that one of the light bulbs was burned out in the bathroom and that the toilet was continuously running and they did not fix those issues during our stay.  

WiFi was free in the room and speedy.

The included breakfast buffet was nothing to brag about...scrambled eggs were cold, only two kinds of bread, a few cereals, very limited selection of fruit, a few cuts of meat...not much more.
But for the price we paid, we got a comfortable night’s sleep in an excellent location.
We would stay here again for the value alone.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2globetrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

The Centra is situated in the old town, just a few minutes' walk from the central bus station. We requested, and were given, a quiet room. It was very spacious and very clean. The furniture was modern and in very good condition. The lovely leather rocking chair was a nice touch. The bed was very comfortable with good quality linen. The bathroom was quite large and sparkling clean. There was a minibar and facilities for making hot drinks in the room. WiFi worked well. The staff were polite and helpful. Breakfast was very good. For the price, this hotel gives excellent value.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julietheoracle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
0.0 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#7 of 109 in Riga
638 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wellton Riga Hotel & SPA
0.1 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixwell Centra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixwell Centra Hotel

Property: Rixwell Centra Hotel
Address: Audeju iela 1, Riga 1050, Latvia (Formerly Wellton Centra Hotel)
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rixwell Centra Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Old Town, an area favoured by locals, tourists and businessmen alike, Rixwell Centra Hotel is the perfect place where to stay in. This cozy hotel is unique with its spacious rooms with high ceilings and romantic views over the City. The Hotel is a seductive blend of the historical and the modern, providing 27 spacious and comfortable rooms with fantastic views of the Old Town. Constructed in 1884, is a vivid example of charming Old town architecture. Though the exterior remains untouched the interior has been completely newly renovated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rixwell Centra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing