We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, location and value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rixwell Centra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rixwell Centra Hotel
Ranked #30 of 109 Hotels in Riga
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great hotel, location and value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Huge rooms, nice breakfast, really helpful staff makes this an ideal place to stay, but ONLY if you get a room at the back. We checked in and our friend who lives in Riga told us to ask for a room at the back of the hotel due to the noise. We did and were told they were full but were instead handed a pair of earplugs and were advised to ring reception if the noise was really bad as they would ring the police!!
We got back about midnight and couldn't understand what the fuss was about as the rooms were silent. However, at 2am we were woken by all the marauding stag parties which did not make for a good nights sleep.
Would still highly rate this hotel as the decor, staff and location are all excellent and if you're a night bird it's perfect!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Meadow1542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    241
    60
    12
    5
See reviews for
50
265
65
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed for 1 night in a suite since it was so cheap. Got a very big corner suite on 5th floor overlooking the main street outside.

They were very helpfull with everything at the reception. The only minor flaw would have to be the early breakfast (ends at 10) and the early checkout (by 11, but we got it postponed to 12 without any problems).

We really wished we had stayed all our nights in Riga at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MagicByte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosaville, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Situated in the old part of the city, the hotel is well located to explore this fabulous city. It is excellent value with large, very comfortable rooms & serves a great breakfast included in the price. The staff were very friendlly & helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nettie4566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona, USA
Level Contributor
309 reviews
209 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

We arrived by train from Tartu, Estonia, and left by bus; this hotel is only a short walk from the train station and the bus station is even closer. Check-in was quick and efficient. Our room (305) was huge! I suspect many of the other rooms are quite a bit smaller. It looked like it had been newly remodeled as everything was in tip-top shape. In addition to the beds there was a couch, a chest of drawers, a mini-fridge, a good-sized flat-screen TV and a desk and chair. There was a hot water pot with a supply of instant coffee and tea. The bathroom had modern fixtures and quite a bit of counter space with a variety of amenities. Free wifi with reasonable response time. Several reviewers mentioned noise from a bar across the street. Well, the bar is apparently gone, at least for the time being, as the building across the street is gutted and is being remodeled. Things were very quiet while we were there. Breakfast was very good with a selection of hot and cold foods. The hotel has lunch available but we didn’t try it. One of the nicer places we’ve stayed, particularly for the price.
Tip: We can recommend the Café Miga, just down the street at Audeju iela 11, for dinner (they also have a set-price lunch daily). The Rimi grocery store on the ground floor of the shopping center just a little further down the street has freshly baked pastries and anything else you might need.

Room Tip: See if you can get one of the big rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jspace63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

We loved this hotel. We had a large room that was clean, and comfortable. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. They arranged a cab for us to the airport on ck out day for only 14 euro. They also helped us with sites and directions. Very good customer service. Stay on a higher floor of the hotel as the streets can get noisy. Great location!

Room Tip: Request a room on highest floor possible to avoid street noise and music
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WRLDtrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

very good room, excellet location, fantastic service with very good recommendations to eat for example. it has a quiet bar inside to the hotel.

Room Tip: Corner suite in the 2th floor is excellent but if in the street some peaople celebrates (Eurocup fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank evizcaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

This a very good hotel located just in the center of the old town. It is clean and with big rooms. The stuff are nice and halpful. The facilty are well maintain. Good place to stay in Riga.

Room Tip: Ask for a view to the old city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doron_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.0 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#9 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
0.1 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.1 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.2 mi away
St. Peter's Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixwell Centra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixwell Centra Hotel

Property: Rixwell Centra Hotel
Address: Audeju iela 1, Riga 1050, Latvia (Formerly Wellton Centra Hotel)
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rixwell Centra Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Old Town, an area favoured by locals, tourists and businessmen alike, Rixwell Centra Hotel is the perfect place where to stay in. This cozy hotel is unique with its spacious rooms with high ceilings and romantic views over the City. The Hotel is a seductive blend of the historical and the modern, providing 27 spacious and comfortable rooms with fantastic views of the Old Town. Constructed in 1884, is a vivid example of charming Old town architecture. Though the exterior remains untouched the interior has been completely newly renovated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Rixwell Centra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing