We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good.. But noise a bit of a problem..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rixwell Centra Hotel
Ranked #29 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good.. But noise a bit of a problem..”
Reviewed 18 March 2013 via mobile

This hotel was the last place we stayed after a week trip before an early morning flight. The hotel itself , the staff, the food and the rooms were all great.. The one thing that let it down for us were the bars across the road. It was pretty noisy the entire night.. But that said , we didn't ask to be moved ....At the end of the day the hotel is in an ideal location bang in the centre of town. If we stayed again would probably ask for a room not facing the street though.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Super T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    249
    62
    12
    5
See reviews for
52
272
66
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

This is an excellent hotel with an excellent location. We travelled as two couples and got two junior suites, room 404 and room 601. They were great rooms, spotlessly clean and plenty of space. Only down side was two single beds.

The hotel was really well located in the old town and restaurants and bars and sightseeing all around as well as a shopping centre. The breakfast was a feast with a huge choice and champagne available every morning. The mini bar was very reasonably priced for a hotel and the bar area, although quite small was welcoming and again very reasonable. The staff were lovely, not chatty or in your face but very helpful and spoke good english. free wifi, good few tv channels and plenty of information on local sights and places of interest.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: rooms 404 and 601 are officially the best rooms in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank looby1876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Can't beat this hotel. Very reasonably priced, clean, spacious rooms, comfortable beds and friendly staff. Centrally located so ideal base and in a location which means you can feel confident walking back after dark. Location made it easy to pop back to the hotel throughout the day when needed and cafes/restuarants on your doorstep for those times you dont want to venture too far. breakfast was perfect as it had something for everyone. many reviews have commented on noise. Due to location there was some noise from the street, but only really just when the clubs/bars closed. I think this woke me only once briefly before i rolled over and went back to sleep. But with such a central location, a bit of noise is to be expected and this didn't bother me in the slightest. To be fair, one doesnt get a central hotel if you want silence. The road did not have many cars so any noise was simply people. If i ever return to Riga I would definately stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi
Level Contributor
126 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Hotel to be recommended. Rooms are big and modern. Nice bathrooms. Comfy beds, maybe a bit too soft. All rooms give on the street, which can be loud because of the bars around (noise from people in the street, smoking). Lobby is the only thing bad, it is cold, not cosy and welcoming. It would need to be refurbished. Wifi works well. Breakfast is ok.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tree69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Hotel Centra Riga is an awesome hotel in pretty much every respect. It is located in Riga's old town, but right on the edge of it, with quick access to central Riga (with the Freedom Monument and Pilsetas Kanals park, among many other sights) and Centraltirgus (Riga's Central Market), all of which are a must if you visit this wonderful city. The rooms were very spacious, modernly furnished, with comfortable beds, TV with many channels in English. The words that come to mind when thinking about this hotel are understated minimalistic elegance. The corridors were funky, the wallpaper emulating tree trunks in a forest. The breakfast room is on the ground floor and it has an ethnic atmosphere with domed low ceilings, although still in modern style like the rest of the hotel. The breakfast was excellent with great variety. The staff were helpful and nice but not unnecessarily cheesy. And the price we paid for all this goodness was unbeatable. I almost want to say that Hotel Centra Riga provides luxury on a budget. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1BigBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Stayed in January and liked this hotel. Location is perfect, just center of Riga (old town), really close to all interesting places of the city. Staff of the hotel is friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean with good bathrooms and fine beds!
I recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Center of Riga!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoweAis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Milford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013 via mobile

Situated right in the centre of Riga, which when the temp outside is -20C, you do not to be wanting to walk very far back to your Hotel. It is very handy if you are getting the local bus from the airport, if you get off at the market it is only a few streets away from the stop.

As for the hotel, we stayed in the room at the back of the hotel on the sixth floor. It has everything that you need - tea & coffee, Sony Bravia tv with good choice of stations, heated bathroom floor, rocking chair, safe, good views to the river, which was frozen over at the time and it was also very quiet, clean and warm. What more can I say.

The breakfast was a self service buffet with plenty of choice, also probably the best coffee I have tasted in a hotel for breakfast.

Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Riga.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craigdotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.0 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#10 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
0.1 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.1 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.1 mi away
St. Peter's Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixwell Centra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixwell Centra Hotel

Property: Rixwell Centra Hotel
Address: Audeju iela 1, Riga 1050, Latvia (Formerly Wellton Centra Hotel)
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rixwell Centra Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Old Town, an area favoured by locals, tourists and businessmen alike, Rixwell Centra Hotel is the perfect place where to stay in. This cozy hotel is unique with its spacious rooms with high ceilings and romantic views over the City. The Hotel is a seductive blend of the historical and the modern, providing 27 spacious and comfortable rooms with fantastic views of the Old Town. Constructed in 1884, is a vivid example of charming Old town architecture. Though the exterior remains untouched the interior has been completely newly renovated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rixwell Centra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing