We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location, clean and friendly front desk service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rixwell Centra Hotel
Ranked #33 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Lahti, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very good location, clean and friendly front desk service”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Had room number 604, view over the roofs of Riga - lot of chimneys - I could imagine that there will be some smoke above the roofs when heating period starts. So this hotel is not good for the view but everything else. Very clean, modern, nice bed, good TV sets, nice breakfast room with tasty breakfast. Best part is the location in the heart of the old town. And the service was nice too, transfer to airport by Mr. Dobbermann was well organized.

Room Tip: I only know taht room 604 view is not very special though the highest floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jukka L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    253
    66
    12
    6
See reviews for
58
274
67
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Excellent location (Old City, near to train/bus station), clean and very spacious room (superior twin) with quite good sound-proofing (closed windows mute the noise from vis-a-vis
bar), AC. Beds good enough, although not very large.
American style shower (head-in-the-wall system, no hose) is uncomfortable (and there is no a bidet). No shelf in the bathroom (though there is a place for shelf below the washbasin).
Only 4 dress hangers, no good place for suitcases

Room Tip: Room 204 (or 203, I'm not sure) - vis a vis the street bar; spacious; good windows sound-proofin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estonia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Best possible location on the edge of the old town, which may though be problematic for travellers with cars. Everything in the old town is within a five-minute walk, which is convenient.
The hotel is nice and clean with medium-sized rooms. The bathrooms though are spacious and nicely designed. There was air-conditioning in our room, which is nice in case a rare hot summer day occurs. The only thing I did not like was the ceiling which looked like it was an office room.
The beds were a bit too hard, but I know some people like it better that way.
Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelEst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Located in an excellent position on the edge of the old town, this very comfortable hotel enhanced our 5 night trip to the wonderful city of Riga.

The staff were all friendly and spoke good English. The reception was large and had internet access. Our room was a decent size with a good view of the street below, although we weren't disturbed by any outside noise . We were grateful of the efficient air conditioning as the temperatures ranged from low 20s at night to over 30 during the day.

There was a combined bath and shower in the bathroom and plenty of storage space for cases and clothing. The bed was very comfortable and the bedroom contained a free safe. The only slight negative was the dark wall and floor coverings but it wasn't a major issue.

The breakfast room is in the basement and had an excellent selection of hot and cold food and drinks. Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthernPasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Small and quiet hotel in the heart of the old town. Staff is helpful and smiling. Rooms are nicely decorated expect the sealing, which looks like you are in the office or cheap shop. Free internet is available in all the premises.
Breakfast is superb; variety of items is good as well the taste of the dishes. Also Italian dry sparkling is available.
The biggest disappointment was too hard bed which made back pain in the morning. As well the check-out is at 11am, what is too early for weekend travellers who like to party at previous night.
No parking available even though it is said so. They provide you parking in some pay parking plot few hundred meters away.

Room Tip: If you traveling on weekend with car, it might be cheaper to park your car in the city parking plots...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

We paid a bit extra and got the suite. Big and nice room. Perfect location. It's in the old city and everything is very close. There is also a bar in the hotel.
Only thing is the elevator was to small for 2 baby strollers.
The breakfast was ok but nothing more.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reisemacbergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I stayed here during the song and dance festival. I decided to treat myself so I booked a suite. The location was perfect for what I needed and the suite was spacious and clean and the breakfasts were really good. I would definitely stay here again. I had no problem with noise from the street. My organised airport transport at the end of my stay was a disaster. My lift had been booked for 7.45am, so I did what I always do and that is go just out the front of the hotel and wait for the lift to arrive. At 7.55am I walked back into the hotel to check and was told my taxi had been waiting for me all this time about 50 metres from the hotel. They didnt even bother to notice I was out the front waiting or tell me that the taxi was waiting. When I arrived at the airport, the taxi driver expected the 10 Lats payment. I told him that I already had paid the hotel, but he wouldnt accept it and I had not time to enter into an argument. So my message to those who stay here and book an airport transfer to the airport is : ask them where the car will be at the nominated time and ask the taxi driver before you step in the car whether the hotel has paid their fare and if they disagree you can at least tell them to talk to the hotel staff and get the matter sorted before you leave.

Room Tip: I had suite 604 and whilst the loungeroom faced the street, the bedroom was behind it with a door so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lembasts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
0.0 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#7 of 109 in Riga
618 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.1 mi away
Wellton Riga Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixwell Centra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixwell Centra Hotel

Property: Rixwell Centra Hotel
Address: Audeju iela 1, Riga 1050, Latvia (Formerly Wellton Centra Hotel)
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rixwell Centra Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Old Town, an area favoured by locals, tourists and businessmen alike, Rixwell Centra Hotel is the perfect place where to stay in. This cozy hotel is unique with its spacious rooms with high ceilings and romantic views over the City. The Hotel is a seductive blend of the historical and the modern, providing 27 spacious and comfortable rooms with fantastic views of the Old Town. Constructed in 1884, is a vivid example of charming Old town architecture. Though the exterior remains untouched the interior has been completely newly renovated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Rixwell Centra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing