We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay, despite noise at night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rixwell Centra Hotel
Ranked #38 of 111 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2010

I've stayed at hotel Centra at the end of 2009 for 3 nights.

Let me start with saying that the location can't be beaten, right in the historic centre just a few steps away from restaurants, churches, markets and shops.

The rooms are large with a large very comfortable bed, a workingdesk and a chair, large LCD television with multiple foreign channels. The bathroom is a bit small but has a good shower and nice amenities.
Breakfast is served in the cellar, fresh coffee, fruit, bread, rolls etc. Good quality breakfast.

A minor for me was the noiselevel entering the room from the streets, loud music, people shouting etc etc, especially the first night I found it difficult to sleep. If you are a difficult sleeper I wouldn't recommend hotel Centra. To all other visitor's I would say yes! Good priceleve, great location, good breakfast and restaurants etc nearby!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaximillianAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 650 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2010

I recently spent 2 nights there on a business trip and have to admit to being somewhat dissapointed.
The reception is clinical and feels more like a dentists waiting room.
There is no bar in the evening, restaruant is only open for lunch, strange for a 4 star hotel.
The room was first class although facing the street the noise was horrendous and for that reason would not stay there again.
Breakfast was ok but nothing special.
Staff could be taught to smile and say good morning.
All in all adequate, but not great.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank forestry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2010

I stayed four nights at Hotel Riga that I booked based on Tripadvisor's advice - and based on the reviews, I also realized that if I want to stay in the old city and want to have good sleep, I better avoid the wekend. So I did.
The hotel has a fantastic location and I loved my room on the top floor with two tiny windows looking at church towers.
It felt very peaceful and safe, even for a solo woman.
They have nice modern original paintaings all over the hotel and a free internet terminal in the lobby.
I visited mid-November and there was a light festival that I highly recommend - a great experience! http://www.staroriga.com

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KisgyorgyEva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

Stayed here based on TA recommendations and we loved it. Terrific, spacious, modern rooms and the location in Old Town is perfect. Staff friendly and helpful. Absolutely the best deal in the Baltic States. Breakfast was excellent too, lots of variety.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pkchristensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2010

No complaint about nothing at all.

From the reception staff to the maids, everything was perfect.

All the info and helpfullness from the desk.

Don`t you hesitate, in Riga, for me this is the best price and location for a 4*.

Adios!

Jose

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank josezc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2010

Booked this hotel after reading the positive reviews - and we weren't disappointed. Got a fantastic deal on easytobook.com. The hotel is well placed in the middle of the picturesque old town and it's modern, clean and the rate includes an impressive breakfast buffet. We got the local bus from the airport to the old town - it's by far the cheapest option and the Stockmann centre stop is less than 5 minutes walk to the hotel. We recommend the authentic Latvian lunch buffet round the corner at Alus Seta, jumping in a taxi to eat at the family run Armenian and Georgian restaurant, Aragats, a cocktail or two at the Reval hotel's Skyline Bar and a medieval feast at Rozengrals. If you're a wine lover, we loved the fantastic Kid bar that's just a few doors down from the hotel - you can definitely while away an hour or two in there!

Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mariannelynton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2009

Once again used tripadvisor for short break.This time to Riga and booked junior suite which was excellent and very good value.As advised used no 22 bus from airport cheap and visited Jurmala on train good beach for walk,fresh air etc.Had meals around the hotel italian and indian but would not recommend.Steak house in domo square good but expensive,sky bar good,alberts bar good and belgian beer cafe but be carefull as they deliberately tried to overcharge by nearly £18.00 and that was for round of drinks?
Overall enjoyed Riga but 2 days is enough.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gtr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
0.1 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.8 mi away
Monika Centrum Hotel
Monika Centrum Hotel
#10 of 111 in Riga
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#7 of 111 in Riga
676 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tallink Hotel Riga
Tallink Hotel Riga
#15 of 111 in Riga
956 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rixwell Domus Hotel
Rixwell Domus Hotel
#46 of 111 in Riga
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixwell Centra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixwell Centra Hotel

Address: Audeju iela 1, Riga 1050, Latvia (Formerly Wellton Centra Hotel)
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 111 Hotels in Riga
Price Range: £25 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rixwell Centra Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Old Town, an area favoured by locals, tourists and businessmen alike, Rixwell Centra Hotel is the perfect place where to stay in. This cozy hotel is unique with its spacious rooms with high ceilings and romantic views over the City. The Hotel is a seductive blend of the historical and the modern, providing 27 spacious and comfortable rooms with fantastic views of the Old Town. Constructed in 1884, is a vivid example of charming Old town architecture. Though the exterior remains untouched the interior has been completely newly renovated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Rixwell Centra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing