We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the upside - Smashing location, well...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rixwell Centra Hotel
Ranked #36 of 110 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2010

On the upside - Smashing location, well designed room and a good price. On the downside - Parking a little complicated but not too bad, suspicion that the sheets had not been changed and a slightly uninspired breakfast.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonhutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (640)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 640 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2010

Loved this hotel right in the middle of the Old District with views of church spires and cobbled stone streets. Very clean rooms with efficient and mostly friendly staff who spoke English very well. The breakfast was limited and the breakfast staff didn't seem to want to be there. Reception staff were very helpful though. As mentioned in other reports the rooms were noisy at night (even in the middle of the week) - need to use the air-conditioner to drown out the sounds from nearby. Other than the noise, the hotel was very nice and well-equipped with excellent wifi in a beautiful part of Riga.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreatSouthernLand5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

Centra is a very good boutique hotel in the old city with excellent front desk personnel and very stylish modern rooms. Hip yet functional. Impressive building facade. Good prices from the hotel's own website. Free wifi, etc. A concern may be the high cost of parking a car, equal to more than a third of the room price (apparently parking is done through an independent lot, and parking is pricey in the old city). A very good choice when in Riga.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stan350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

Centra offered a big room (junior suite) with sofa, chair, view of the churches, two single beds and a huge flatscreen-TV, modern bathroom and acceptable internetconnection for just 48 LATs (67 euros) a night.

Location is very ideal, close to parking and all the restaurants and sights of Rigas bustling old city. Breakfast in cellar was nothing out of the ordinary, but I’m no big breakfast fan either.

One drawback: Elevator was slow and had me waiting every time I was going up or down from the 6th floor (there is a stairway as well).

Even on a Sunday to Wednesday stay it wasn’t complete silence at night with British stag-parties still hanging around before their Monday flights home, and Tuesday night offered some weird noises from what seemed to be a loft or close-by apartment or another room. Like someone was moving furniture or something like that.

For my combined business/pleasure stay I’d say the hotel was great value.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank larsms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2010

Excellent accommodation at a very fair price. This place made our visit to Riga. The staff was attentive and very helpful in advance of our visit. After ordering I received email regarding whether I had any special requests in connection with the visit. The hotel arranged luxury transportation to and from airport, with a driver who carrying our luggage. We had reserved a Suite with Twin beds, with separate bedrooms and living room. The living room was equipped with 42-inch television with international channels, well stocked minibar with good prices, two sofas in white skin (where one of them could be converted into bed if desired), a comfortable chair, writing desk with high speed internet, and a large living room table. It was a aircondition in the living room, which was easy to operate. We used this mainly as air cleaner, because of the cool season. On arrival it was a beautiful bouquet of flowers on the table in the living room, along with water and a lovely fruit platter.

The windows were large and let in much light - this is not a matter of course on hotels located in the old town of Riga. The windows were so broad that it was fully possible to sit there and watch the view. We lived in the 5th floor. The rooms were also very well insulated, we heard no sounds from the other rooms.

The walls was decorated with stylish paintings from local artists in Latvia. The bedroom had a , 22 inches televsision. Standards on the beds equivalent to a 5-star hotel, they were large and very comfortable bedding with high quality.

The bathroom was very modern and clean. It smelled fresh and welcoming. Bath, hairdryer, shower, heated towel amounts of high quality soaps and other bathroom items.

Breakfast was very good to be from hotel in Riga. Latvians do not think of breakfast as some big thing, they favor lunch. But anyway, it was both hot dishes, fruit, and everything else that goes with a standard breakfast represented. The selection was different eahc days we stayed at the Centra.

This hotel should aboslutt upgrade their photos on the website. It was much nicer in real life, and this tends not to be the case with hotels. I absolutely recomend this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steffster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

The hotel is really easy to find as it's a stone's throw from the Latvian Occupation Museum (also well worth a visit). I booked a suite on the top floor and was pleasantly surprised by the size and the bathroom. Hotel has good range of facilities including free Wi-Fi which is very useful when the tourist information office is closed (as it is over Easter). The staff were ok but did not seem very sure about opening times of museums and other tourist places. Also a few more relevant leaflets of places to see would be useful on reception.

Considering the old town is very compact, it was useful to have a nice room to go back to and relax (TV with satellite in lounge and bedroom of suite).

Overall although I was not that impressed with the city, partly because everything was closed over Easter, the hotel was an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jtb105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2010

This hotel where much better than we expected. Low price and in the middel of the city, close to everything. The hotelroom was ok size for two and the bathroom was very nice. It was very clean everywhere. The breakfast was ok and the breakfast area was very nice.
We had a room facing the street so it was some noise outside.
All in all we had a great time and if we come back this is the hotel we`ll be staying at.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bk5006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
0.0 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#7 of 110 in Riga
664 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wellton Riga Hotel & SPA
0.1 mi away
St. Peter's Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixwell Centra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixwell Centra Hotel

Address: Audeju iela 1, Riga 1050, Latvia (Formerly Wellton Centra Hotel)
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 110 Hotels in Riga
Price Range: £34 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rixwell Centra Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Old Town, an area favoured by locals, tourists and businessmen alike, Rixwell Centra Hotel is the perfect place where to stay in. This cozy hotel is unique with its spacious rooms with high ceilings and romantic views over the City. The Hotel is a seductive blend of the historical and the modern, providing 27 spacious and comfortable rooms with fantastic views of the Old Town. Constructed in 1884, is a vivid example of charming Old town architecture. Though the exterior remains untouched the interior has been completely newly renovated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rixwell Centra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing