We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel, but dirty and no internet connection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rixwell Centra Hotel
Ranked #30 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, but dirty and no internet connection”
Reviewed 20 August 2010

I was staying a few days in Riga and booked a junior suite in this hotel. The room was beautiful, but unfortuntely a bit dark... but not dark enough to hide the dirty toilet (disgusting). After complaining, the bathroom has been cleaned (but still far away from European standard). Besides this the hotel has a nice location, very close to the center. What was disturbing as well was the free-of charge internet... the WLAN was was only available in the lobby and it was so slow that it was not really usable...

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trauhut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    246
    61
    12
    5
See reviews for
51
268
66
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
140 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

Stayed here 2 nights in July. No complaints at all. Situated right in Old Town Riga, lovely clean large room with sofa. Great bathroom. Air con really good and much appreciated as so hot when we were there. Mini bar was cheapest mini bar we've ever had I think, very reasonable. Whenever we rang reception requesting ice, they responded immediatly. The reception staff were all great, very friendly and helpful. The computer in reception for the public was really slow and so the receptionist very kindly printed our boarding passes for our next flight. Breakfast choice not huge, but satisfactory. We would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone and be more than happy to stay there again.
Just along from the hotel was the restaurant 'Kid'. We ate a very tasty meal there one evening and well priced. Another evening we ate at the Italian restaurant in the next street and that was also veryy good.
Lots of eating places and The Lido with self serve buffet was a good cheap choice for lunch, especially as the beer was cheap there.
We'd read some reports that because of stag weekends, Riga could be noisy at night. But we didn't find that at all, which was good as we stayed over a weekend in July.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynneybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
182 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

My friend and I are currently at the Centra Hotel, leaving tomorrow. It will have been a 2 night stay, and this place rocks! The location couldn't be better, as it is right in the middle of Old Town. The reception upgraded us to a Junior Suite, for no additional charge, and the room is awesome. Service has been great and the AC is very cold! Plus, our rate is well below the "rack rate" quoted on their website.

I highly recommend this place!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 82-ag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

The hotel was in a central location in the old town. We booked ajunior suite from the hotel website 96 Euro with breakfast. It was cheaper than the booking sites. We were booked into another hotel but had to check out due to poor airconditiong. Our room at the Centra was huge and the airconditioning worked perfectly. The bathroom was ridiculosly small but good airconditiong made up for it. Very good restaurant nearby; Traktieris - Trattoria, 8 Jana Ilea, Riga. Pork with wine sauce approx. 6 euro.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oscardog16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We are a group of 4 mature friends travelling together. We booked this hotel 2 nights before our arrival and were very pleased with the hotel - especially that it was smoke free. We do not rent cars so location is very important to us. Hotel Centra was very centrally located. It was easy to explore the Old Town from this location. Upon arrival, we were greeted by very attentive and helpful staff. Check in was quick, easy and hassle free. Our rooms were spacious, clean and very quiet. Breakfast was delicious and ample for our needs. We spent 1 night at Hotel Centra and were very happy with our stay there. I would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Riga.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulineToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Rock B.C.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2010

I have just returned from my vacation with my sister and we stayed at this hotel the front desk staff are just great, were very helpful, I would highly recommend this hotel.
Location is perfect. When leaving we were up very early in the morning and the fellow at the front desk had arranged for coffee and a very nice breakfast to be sent up to us.What a nice touch.
Room was large, clean comfortable. I give it a 10. Thanks very much .Would definately return or recommend for sure....

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacquief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

This was a great choice. Modern hotel in excellent location.
The staff is very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast is reach.
The rooms are good size with excellent bathroom.
All in all a great choice

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UltimateDancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.0 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#9 of 109 in Riga
568 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
0.1 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.1 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.1 mi away
St. Peter's Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixwell Centra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixwell Centra Hotel

Property: Rixwell Centra Hotel
Address: Audeju iela 1, Riga 1050, Latvia (Formerly Wellton Centra Hotel)
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rixwell Centra Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Old Town, an area favoured by locals, tourists and businessmen alike, Rixwell Centra Hotel is the perfect place where to stay in. This cozy hotel is unique with its spacious rooms with high ceilings and romantic views over the City. The Hotel is a seductive blend of the historical and the modern, providing 27 spacious and comfortable rooms with fantastic views of the Old Town. Constructed in 1884, is a vivid example of charming Old town architecture. Though the exterior remains untouched the interior has been completely newly renovated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rixwell Centra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing