We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect choice in Riga!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rixwell Centra Hotel
Ranked #41 of 112 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2010

The hotel looks lovely, rooms are HUGE, breakfast is good, everything is clean and fresh.. We had two rooms, both were top notch. Location is just amazing, right next to the old town and Riga's coolest shopping center. The only downside to the hotel is that the guests who arrive by car may have trouble getting to the hotel.. the street by which it is located is closed to cars (if you follow the advice of GPS that wasn't updated recently, you might have that problem) and one has to choose to either go through 4km extra to drive around the closed off part ..or park at the public parking by the shopping center (it costs 10 lats for 24 hours). We highly recommend visiting the Steak house next door, very tasty food and great service! I will surely stay at this hotel when I go to Riga next time.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlazePL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (666)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 666 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2010

We have just returned from this hotel and highly recommend it. Firstly, the location is great. It's in the Old Town near restaurants and shops. There is a lovely shopping centre 100 metres to the right of the hotel. If you walk straight on as you come out the hotel, this will lead you further into the Old Town and to most of the sites. The hotel is small, only 27 rooms over 5 floors but the rooms are very big with a separate table and sofa and plasma TV. Rooms come with free wifi, minibar and satellite TV with some English channels, BBC News, CNN, Discovery, Animal Planet. The breakfast was a very nice buffet. There were cereals, juice, bread, cheese, ham, yogurt, fruit and cooked food such as bacon and eggs. The cooked food was fresh and not reheated. The restaurant is open for breakfast and lunch but not dinner. That's not a problem though as the hotel is so near lots of nice restaurants and we recommend our favourite, Neiburgs. As the hotel is small, they don't have lots of fancy facilities. However, we found the service excellent. Our room was cold on the first night and we asked for extra blankets. We got these within 10 minutes. The reception staff spoke good English and were very pleasant to deal with. Going home, we used the hotel's own private airport transfer which was 19 Euros, so much cheaper than a standard taxi and we were driven in a nice mercedes back to the airport.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mo1UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights last week. We arrived at Riga airport and got the no 22 bus and then walked less than 500m to the hotel. The hotel is lovely, located very centrally and we had a fantastic, large room. We did specify that we had a 2/12 year old with us and expected there to be a small bed for him, however the travel cot was set up and he was too big. When we asked, the receptionist said that we could have an extra bed for a charge. To be honest, we didn't bother arguing and our little boy slept with us, the bed was huge anyway and we had brilliant sleeps!!!
Breakfast was basic, but filled us up enough to face the day!
Facilities such as a bar are lacking at the hotel but there was a little off licence oppoiste where we managed to stock up on drinks for the evening while our son was asleep.
We loved Riga as a city - it's not somewhere we'd return to probably as we like experiencing new cities, however we would reccomend Riga as a city to visit.
We stayed Mon to Fri and by Thursday pm we noticed more groups of younger people descending on the city and Thurday night was quite noisy outside - didn't keep us awake though!
We walked around the city and visited the catherdral and the church with the tall tower(the name escapes me), visited some parks, the Zoo, the Natural History Museum (even if everything was written in latvian we still enjoyed it), the Zoo, Lido Recreation Centre and we took a tour on the little mini train type vehicle that leaves from outside the Cathedral. Our little boy loved it!
We took our laptop and made full use of the free wi-fi too!!! It was very quick.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RochdaleSian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

I was staying a few days in Riga and booked a junior suite in this hotel. The room was beautiful, but unfortuntely a bit dark... but not dark enough to hide the dirty toilet (disgusting). After complaining, the bathroom has been cleaned (but still far away from European standard). Besides this the hotel has a nice location, very close to the center. What was disturbing as well was the free-of charge internet... the WLAN was was only available in the lobby and it was so slow that it was not really usable...

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trauhut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

Stayed here 2 nights in July. No complaints at all. Situated right in Old Town Riga, lovely clean large room with sofa. Great bathroom. Air con really good and much appreciated as so hot when we were there. Mini bar was cheapest mini bar we've ever had I think, very reasonable. Whenever we rang reception requesting ice, they responded immediatly. The reception staff were all great, very friendly and helpful. The computer in reception for the public was really slow and so the receptionist very kindly printed our boarding passes for our next flight. Breakfast choice not huge, but satisfactory. We would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone and be more than happy to stay there again.
Just along from the hotel was the restaurant 'Kid'. We ate a very tasty meal there one evening and well priced. Another evening we ate at the Italian restaurant in the next street and that was also veryy good.
Lots of eating places and The Lido with self serve buffet was a good cheap choice for lunch, especially as the beer was cheap there.
We'd read some reports that because of stag weekends, Riga could be noisy at night. But we didn't find that at all, which was good as we stayed over a weekend in July.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynneybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

My friend and I are currently at the Centra Hotel, leaving tomorrow. It will have been a 2 night stay, and this place rocks! The location couldn't be better, as it is right in the middle of Old Town. The reception upgraded us to a Junior Suite, for no additional charge, and the room is awesome. Service has been great and the AC is very cold! Plus, our rate is well below the "rack rate" quoted on their website.

I highly recommend this place!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 82-Ag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

The hotel was in a central location in the old town. We booked ajunior suite from the hotel website 96 Euro with breakfast. It was cheaper than the booking sites. We were booked into another hotel but had to check out due to poor airconditiong. Our room at the Centra was huge and the airconditioning worked perfectly. The bathroom was ridiculosly small but good airconditiong made up for it. Very good restaurant nearby; Traktieris - Trattoria, 8 Jana Ilea, Riga. Pork with wine sauce approx. 6 euro.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oscardog16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#9 of 112 in Riga
701 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
0.2 mi away
Rixwell Domus Hotel
Rixwell Domus Hotel
#48 of 112 in Riga
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Monika Centrum Hotel
Monika Centrum Hotel
#7 of 112 in Riga
637 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#10 of 112 in Riga
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixwell Centra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixwell Centra Hotel

Address: Audeju iela 1, Riga 1050, Latvia (Formerly Wellton Centra Hotel)
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 112 Hotels in Riga
Price Range: £26 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rixwell Centra Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Old Town, an area favoured by locals, tourists and businessmen alike, Rixwell Centra Hotel is the perfect place where to stay in. This cozy hotel is unique with its spacious rooms with high ceilings and romantic views over the City. The Hotel is a seductive blend of the historical and the modern, providing 27 spacious and comfortable rooms with fantastic views of the Old Town. Constructed in 1884, is a vivid example of charming Old town architecture. Though the exterior remains untouched the interior has been completely newly renovated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rixwell Centra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing