We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just another chain hotel - but they should have better staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Blu Ridzene Hotel
Ranked #5 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Germany+LA, CA
Level Contributor
128 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Just another chain hotel - but they should have better staff”
Reviewed 1 July 2008

I had been staying in Riga before, and had high expectations because my last hotel was amazing.
Well this one was not.

The first thing I really disliked was their registration procedure. They insisted that I fill in: Name, address, passport number, date of birth! and a few other details. I argued, and they told me a silly story about one "Mohammed" that didn't fill in the registry card and next day the police stormed the hotel? Sorry but I don't like that much of my personal data to be readily available for a possible ID misuse, especially since they also have my credit card details.

The room price was really expensive, but all I got was a 2nd floor room overlooking the reception on one side and the street on the other. I guess asking for a "really quiet room" is no use there.

The room decoration was at best average. The bathroom looked ok (no seperate shower) and had floor heating, which means it was permanently overheated. The bed was squeaking!

I returned to the room in the evening and my door had been left open by the cleaning staff. Imagine your hotel door is left open all day? Nice. Anyone who would have noticed could have just walked in. I told the front desk about it, suggesting there might be a problem with the door, but they just told me to make sure it was closed.

Breakfast is quite good, but service is bad. I asked for a cappuccino twice, each time the answer was "you have to pay". Which is ok, but can be put nicely.
Over 20 minutes for a cup of green tea is also not great service.

Checkout took 20 minutes because they were inefficient.

I'd never stay there again.

  • Liked — Nothing. I think Internet may have been free.
  • Disliked — Staff.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    193
    42
    9
    2
See reviews for
52
150
28
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2008

We were seven guys from Norway on holiday staying at this hotel for three nights during our first visit to Riga. The hotel is really nice and clean. The check-in/check-out was fast and the staff is excellent when it comes to service. During our stay we experienced a lot of pissed waitresses and storekeepers, but at this hotel everyone smiled and treated you with respect.

Its location is perfect, in a very nice area near the US embassy. 5 minutes walk and your in the Old Town.

The breakfast was pretty good with an above avarage choice of options. The dining hall is very nice and if its good weather you can enjoy your food outside in the garden.

The rooms differed. Me and my friend got the smallest room (406), but the bathroom was pretty large and it was spotless. One of my friends got a small suite (326) and was of course very satisfied with that. All in all it didnt matter to much since we were out all the time.

The free Internet in the hotel and the PC in the lobby is a nice thouch and good service. On the downside was the gym. Its OK i guess, but if your standard towards training is high as mine is you would not be satisfied. No treadmill, bench press or olympic bar. Only dumbells up to 24kgs and only one bench. The sauna though is real nice with a view over Prague.

All in all I would recommend this hotel. Its small, but very good quality. If you want more extras I think the Reval Hotel Latvija is a better choice, though you have to go a little bit more to get into the old town. If you like hotels thats smaller with more personality I think this is one of the bests in Riga.

  • Liked — Clean, good service, great location
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Erathol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
troon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2008

This was our first trip to the Baltics. With intrepidation we travelled. The airport is only 20km from the city. This hotel was a 10min walk straight from the bus/train station. This was a pleasant walk through the various city parks. The hotel is located right next to the USA embassy. The hotel is of a modern design, but once you experience the vast range of architectural styles in this city it becomes less of an eyesore and more of a statement of change. The staff in the hotel were very pleasant and helpful. The rooms were clean nicely furnished and very quiet. the bathrooms had a shower and seperate bath. We can safely say that the bed was one of the most comfortable we have slept in!! The breakfast was a buffet with everything from fruits, cereals to bacon and eggs. the coffee was lovely and free flowing.
one of the jewels of this hotel is the sauna. This is located on the top floor and has windows along one side that allow you to sit and look out at the beautiful city park, Esplande. This was most wonderful when we were there as it was snowing outside while we were sitting in 80 degrees celcius!!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — design
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank teamstirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow/Scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2008

Nice hotel but quiet. Probably about 4 star in UK terms. Very central. 5 minute walk from bus stop from airport (22a bus takes about 20 mins and costs 0.40 lats - about 50p compared to 7 lats for a taxi - about £9 and takes about 15 mins). 5 minute walk to centre. No tea/coffee facilities in room. Lovely restaurant and great range of food for breakfast. Buffet breakfast was always cold though. Very clean and comfortable but two single duvets on a double bed, not the best setup. Heated floors in bathroom - great in the morning. Very expensive mini bar - about £3.50 for small bottle of water. Room service expensive - each visit cost £5 on top of your order. Pay per view movies were about £15. Staff were very pleasant. Computer with Internet access in loby and access points in room but no printing service availaible. Would visit again as got a great price.

  • Liked — Central location
  • Disliked — cold breakfast and no tea/coffee making facilities
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hayley101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lommedalen
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2008

Hi!

I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights in jan 08. This hotel says that it is a 5 star hotel, but I don't agree. The rooms have good size, but they seems a little bit old, and the cleaning is not that good.
The breakfast is very good and varied, and it is easy to eat healthy food. The wireless connection was good to have!
The location is great with short distance to shopping and restaurants.

I can recommend this for business, but not for an romantic getaway.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Lommedalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hassocks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2007

Stayed here for a couple of nights on business.
The hotel is pretty good, the breakfast fantastic and the staff are attentive.
Also, the bar is a non smoking area - smokers have their own room!

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
Thank Spookyzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2007

We stayed at Reval hotel Ridzene in Riga.The hotel was fantastic the staff were great, very friendly and helpful,to the extent of having our pillows turned down every night and a sweet and the next day's weather forcast left on our pillows.(How cool that).The room was clean and a good size, the bathroom was fantastic and kept spotless.
Very central to all that you wanted to do in Riga.

Can't say enough about this hotel.

Was just a great experience.

Thankyou Hotel Ridzene

  • Liked — location,cleanliness,helpfulness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iomtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
0.4 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#2 of 109 in Riga
707 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bergs
Hotel Bergs
#3 of 109 in Riga
342 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dome Hotel & SPA - Relais & Chateaux
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Latvija Conference & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Ridzene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Ridzene Hotel

Property: Radisson Blu Ridzene Hotel
Address: Reimersa iela 1, Riga 1050, Latvia
Phone Number:
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#5 Family Hotel in Riga
#6 Business Hotel in Riga
#7 Romantic Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Ridzene Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, this Riga hotel is only steps away from popular attractions like the Freedom Monument, the majestic St. Peter's Church and Old Town, a UNESCO World Heritage site. All 95 rooms and suites boast convenient amenities like Free high-speed, wireless Internet and mini bars, and many offer stunning views of Old Town and nearby Esplanade Park. Savor local and international dishes inside a unique glass pyramid at Restaurant Piramida, or relax with a cocktail in the cozy Ridzene Bar & Library. Guests can take advantage of underground parking and complimentary access to the wellness center, which features modern gym equipment and a Nordic sauna. With 8 meeting rooms spanning a total of over 315 square meters, this hotel can host Riga conferences for up to 90 delegates and receptions for up to 100 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Rezidor, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Ridzene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reval Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing