We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“bad breakfast..old rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Avitar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Avitar Hotel
Ranked #64 of 109 Hotels in Riga
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“bad breakfast..old rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012 via mobile

but does fill the needs. what more u want for this price.. 38euro per night. One pretty nice staff girl..young blonde.. would come again only because of her :) rooms need refurbishment but was ok. Pizza place and Chinese food nearby plus club Piens 2min walk for nightlife. Wednesday they are pretty crouded

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Svenzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    48
    23
    8
    6
See reviews for
14
29
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

VERY basic rooms but is enough to make do. On fourth floor can still hear passing traffic. Free wi-fi is a bonus but only reaches uptill 4th floor. Breakfast was 2.50 lats which is around £2.80 & is pretty good. All round average hotel but did the job without any problems. Cab journey into town & no restaurants in walking distance is a big downfall plus is a quiet road. Supermarket about 5-8minute walk. No a/c but not a major concern as weather was like London however a bit of heating would have been nice!

Room Tip: They have some rooms with a sink/worktop which gives a little extra room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shiv y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaipeda, Lithuania
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

The sixth floor apartments are great for single, they are spacious, big windows, not so loud noise from the traffic below. But the walls are not sound proof, you can hear almost everything if you want to. The second floor single apartments are better on that, but the sound from traffic is loud if you like to open the windows during the night, as no AC is provided for the rooms. But they are much smaller and darker compared to 6th floor. Generally if you are not staying lot of time in hotel its a nice choice to have.

Room Tip: starts with #61; #62-65 - sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

This cozy and affordable hotel has a friendly staff, clean rooms and a tasty breakfast. Although it is located 25 minutes away from the OLd Riga, the walk is very pleasant and you can see the streets of real city and remarkable houses with great architectural details along the route, which are not mentioned in tourist guides. The hotel has free parking, which is an added convenience. I am certainly going to use it again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lennyvica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

its close enough to the center, very clean and quite peaceful rooms.The view reflecting from the rooms of the hotel is mostly urban. soft lighting welcomes you during all day .the stuff is very helpfull.
i came there for work and got to use also the conference room which had everything i needed.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leichic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

We came to Riga for a few days as part of a Europe vacation and Avitar was a great place to stay.The price was a bargain and the room was spacious and neat.

The continental breakfast was delightful and we enjoyed our walk to Old Riga - it took about 30 minutes but the weather was nice and it was a great way to see more of the city. The staff was friendly and answered all our questions. Avitar is definitely a good bargain!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pinkzgd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

This hotel is very clean and offers a great breakfast. Public transportation right outside of the hotel that enables you to quickly get to Old Riga. Friendly staff and comfortable but simple accommodations. We enjoyed our stay - I recommend this to anyone who wants a nice hotel for a low price.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liebyuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Skanste
Hotel Skanste
#100 of 109 in Riga
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Hotel Riga VEF
Days Hotel Riga VEF
#55 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rixwell Irina Hotel
Rixwell Irina Hotel
#58 of 109 in Riga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#43 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
3.9 mi away
BEST Hotel Riga
BEST Hotel Riga
#57 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dodo Hotel
Dodo Hotel
#51 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avitar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avitar Hotel

Property: Avitar Hotel
Address: Krishjana Valdemara iela 127, Riga 1013, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Avitar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Avitar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avitar Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing