We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Square Hotel & Suites
Nearby Hotels
US$230
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$207
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bellevue Park Hotel Riga(Riga)(Great Value!)
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rixwell Elefant Hotel(Riga)(Great Value!)
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$152
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel(Riga)(Great Value!)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (296)
Filter reviews
297 results
Traveller rating
104
103
52
22
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
103
52
22
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoverlooking the squareexecutive roomqueens pubold townsister hotelrestaurant downstairsfree wififour nightsbottled waterlocation is fantasticbreakfast was excellentlarge roomcentral locationweekend breakgreat roomthe buscomfortable rooms
Filter
Updating list...
158 - 163 of 297 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2011

I've just returned after spending 3nights in the Royal Square Hotel with 8 other ladies and all off us agreed that it was fantastic we go away every year and all think that this is the best hotel we've stayed in. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff from carrying out minor repairs to the rooms to providing single bed in a room with just a double bed and and taking care of a suitecase whose handle had got stuck upright and everything was done very quickly. We ate in the hotel several times and it was always excellent and the bread which you get while you are waitng for your meal is absolutely delicious and baked on the premises. The waitresses couldn't have been nicer especially Laura. One evening we went to a Latvian evening in the Royal Garden which is a sister hotel and it was also very good, they also have a tearoom called the Secret Garden which sells divine cakes 2 cakes and 2 coffee 3 lats 90 which would work out £4.50 - £4.75 which is very good value considering what you pay in M & S tearooms for mass produced cakes. Riga itself is a lovely city beautiful buildings and compact so most places are walkable. I recomend the little train which can tke you around all the narrow streets that the tour bus can't manage. Just one thing get a price for the taxi into Riga from the airport, We had 3 taxi's 2 red and 1 which looked like an ordinary car the 2 red tad taxi's cost 8-9 lats the other one cost 29 lats so be on your guard. Also give yourself plenty of time when you are having a meal as I think that most things must be made to order as you can have quite a wait for your meal which is fine as long as you are awre of it.

Room Tip: dark. Some of our group could hear the music though it didn't bother me.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Retiree05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Good but not great. Excellent location, very friendly and helpful staff. However, the rooms look cheap - it's a good 4-star business hotel, not a 5-star luxury, like they advertise. Still, might stay there again, already know not to be disappointed.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with Viaggiare
Thank inga07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

I struggle how to be fair about this hotel - the location is perfect, rooms are very nice. But - the reception area is repulsing designed in provincial mafia style - black windows and ceiling, silver columns, round glass lift, and couches on which you only lay down, hence all empty + stuff is made entirely of fragile girls - they try their best and are nice, but the is nobody to help with luggage e.g.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fobski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Stayed 3 nights at end of May in room 304. Entire hotel spotless. Very helpful reception staff. Room very good size, full height windows all along one wall to the front of the hotel above entrance and lobby. Very comfy bed, very efficient air con, plenty of toiletries replenished daily, evening service of 2 bottles of water and bar of chocolate. Mini bar - reasonable prices. When we discovered there was only one bath robe and pair of slippers,they were very apologetic and another robe and slippers were delivered to our room immediately. 2 armchairs coffee table, work table and another chair. Shower over bath but very good sliding double shower screens, good water pressure. Bar prices very reasonable (except single malts), lovely staff. We had no complaints about breakfast, fresh fruit, cereals, pastries, juices, selection of meats, cheeses and salads, fantastic scrambled egg and various other hot choices, very strong hot coffee. Small heated outside terrace - very hot during our stay but in the evenings the staff always asked if you wanted the heater on or blankets. Did not use the dining room but the food looked very good. Small jacquzi and sauna on top floor. Right in the middle of the old town, so everything walkable. City bus tour good but very bumpy because of the cobbled streets. Vast number of retaurants. Take a tip do not dine in the Lido ones. Right outside hotel large square with huge umbrellas good snack food and live music in evenings. City is very clean, no trouble probably due to the fact there are camers everywhere and the police turn up within 1 minute. There are a fair number of beggars but they NEVER cause a problem, they just sit there. Large park areas within city, not very much traffic. There is a little noise usually aroung 5 a.m. when the clubs turn out. We all agreed overall it was one of the nicest cities we have visited and the hotel was perfect, however we had 4 rooms and would not recommend 401 because it has sloping ceilings so best to check.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilyCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

Came back today, had a great time in Riga!
Hotel location is the best!
We stayed in room 408 , view from the window was great , we had friends with us on Ney Year's night so we could see all the fireworks, wothout going out.
Room was nice and large , bathroom had a shower.Tv chanels (eurosport, euronews). The only thing i would change would be our pillows as they were very hard and uncomfortable.
Breakfast and restorant food was good!
They have a sauna on the 5th floor, nice size and jaquzzi wich was great as the weather was cold, and after a day out to use fcility was great!(advice-to take some water as they dont have water machine there). Reception staff was very helpfull!
Wi-Fi is on the ground floor.
Hope this help.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank topkat_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews