We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and modern”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Square Hotel & Suites
Ranked #46 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Ljunghusen
Level Contributor
110 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice and modern”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

There were some problems when I arrived. The windows didn't close properly. A handy man came from a sister hotel to try to fix it. I ended up changing room as it didn't work out in the end. The hotel is located in a very busy part of town and there are lots of noise coming from the street and square next to the hotel, drunk people singing/shouting. The room was comfortable and the cleaning was good. I would avoid the hotel just because of the noise. The breakfast was very good, fresh orange juice is allways nice. The restaurant in the hotel was the best I tried in Riga, very very good food and service.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the street/square side. Unless you can't hear anything :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    95
    38
    18
    5
See reviews for
24
116
24
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We have been traveling through the Baltic countries essentially staying at very good 4 star hotels. We decided to move up to a 5 star hotel because the price difference was not substantially greater. Arriving late in the afternoon we were given room 402 and to our detriment we did not sufficiently examine the room a d our mistake as well when we realized the deficiencies was not requesting a room change. The room had terribly stained carpeting and the bed spread was soiled as well. The bath towels were thin and threadbare. In addition the hotel offered no assistance with our luggage and the front desk was exceptionally clueless with regard to restaurants, cultural information, touring etc. certainly beneath the standards of a concierge in a 5 star hotel. When we did request the manager we instead met with the marketing person who was courteous but offered nothing else than the repeated mantra: why did't you ask to chane rooms? And we responded THAT was our error. At no time did the manager contact us or offer anything even a bowl of fruit or a glass of wine. She was conveniently never there when we were.
At the end of the day, having stayed in numerous 5 star hotels, our level of expectation was not met. Indeed by any stretch of the imagination the level of service in this hotel was never in the range of a 5 star hotel nor was the handling of a customer by a refined innkeeper ever even attempted. The five star rating is a figment of the management's imagination.
The only good things about the hotel was 1. It's excellent location in the old town and 2. It offered a very acceptable breakfast especially when items could be ordered off the menu and prepared fresh.
A very poor 5 star venue! The room we got should have been properly inspected by housekeeping
And it should NOT have been assigned to guests until it was clean and proper.

Room Tip: Do not accept a room with a vaulted ceiling! You will bang your head every time you get out of bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank selftours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2012

If you want to go in the heart of the old Riga – this hotel shall be the first in your list. Situated in the heart of the old city, five minutes from the St. Peter's Church. Nice and warm reception with elite transfer from or to the airport at reasonable price. Very tasty breakfast with quiet environment, hospitable staff and beautiful view on the old Riga. The rooms are clean, spacious with bright french windows (standard room). So, all what demanding traveler needs is presented here with five star lever! Plus – it's not overcrowded. Shall you go on the long, or shirt trip, I would recommend this hotel. Nothing will disturb from the old Riga atmosphere. Also, few steps away you will find a must visit medieval themed restaurant, but about it read in a separate review.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benderrodrigeuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Very nice modern hotel, nice (small) room with all facilities such as free Wifi, TV with many european channels, topclass bathroom and a very service minded and friendly staff 24 hour a day. The restaurant in the basement was a very good experience, excellent food - maybe the best in Riga - perfect service exciting menues to reasonable prices. Why I do not leave 5 stars for the total value?
Much noise with singing and drunken people from the street. And a very effective blowing and noisy air condition system in the hotel and unfortunately also in the room.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkkonummi, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We were a group of ten persons for three nights at the hotel in question. The hotel at the heart of the old city, next to the summer terraces. Some of the French balconies were opened directly to the market square. Live music at the market continued to late night, so recommend ear plugs for a trip for older people. Upstairs there is a small intimate sauna with two persons Jacuzzi can be ordered at no extra charge. Extra great breakfast, and never crowded. Polite helpful staff. The return journey with the hotel's 8-person Vito taxi and one normal taxi (one taksivoucher from hotel), total 25 lats. I recommend! Not the least air-conditioning or multilingual driver's why. In short excellent.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

This hotel is located right next to a town square in the Old Town. From the time we booked to the time we left, the service was excellent. Staff really went out of their way to make sure we were well looked after and comfortable. They picked us up at the airport in Riga when we arrived and even had us pre-order our dinner so it would be prepared for us on arrival!

The restaurant, Desiderata, has excellent, authentic food and is well worth splurging on. The BEST array of breads we have ever had in our lives. Service was excellent.

The room was big and clean, with a large full bathroom (although slightly dated).

I would not hesitate to stay here again and highly recommend it. We felt so looked after during our entire stay. Stay here if you want service, fantastic food and value for your money|!!!

Room Tip: Rooms next to the town square - you will hear the live music. We didn't mind though! It was fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linz, Österreich
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I stayed there for one night in january! It was so cold in the room during the night and so I changed the room, which was very easy!
But the new room was from the heating not better the room before. Ok it was winter and outside temperature was - 20 °C, but even in Russian hotels (3*) the room heating is better, then in this 5* Hotel! The whole hotel was not heated enough! Service was very friendly! Next time I will stay some where else in Riga!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andiaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Ridzene Hotel
0.3 mi away
Pullman Riga Old Town
Pullman Riga Old Town
#18 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garden Palace
Hotel Garden Palace
#61 of 109 in Riga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#8 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
0.1 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#2 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Palace Hotel
Grand Palace Hotel
#9 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Square Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Square Hotel & Suites

Property: Royal Square Hotel & Suites
Address: Kalku iela 3a, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Riga
#18 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#37 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Square Hotel & Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming five star Royal Square Hotel & Suites is situated in the main street of the Old Town of Riga with the convenience of an international airport just 15 km away. Is ideally located for those who want to relax, explore or do business.Facilities and services meet the needs of today’s traveler - the rooms are spacious and bright, fully furnished in European style with a private sauna and natural fireplace in suites.The fine dining restaurant Desiderata, where you can taste gourmet menu, will be at your service. The Royal Square Hotel & Suites your home in Riga with comfort in heart of Riga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Square Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Square Hotel And Suites
Royal Square Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing