We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Square Hotel & Suites
Ranked #56 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay.”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed for four nights during early February in an Executive Room. Check in was smooth and friendly as were all our dealings with the hotel staff, Without exception we found everyone to be attentive and professional. Our room, although different from that pictured on line, was quite spacious, well equipped with a large bedroom. Although sub-zero temperatures outside, the room was warm and cosy. The standard of cleanliness was exceptional. Slippers and dressing gowns provided. Internet facility free in foyer, but no gym. Location was very central to old Riga and useful to return to during the day. Breakfast was excellent with a wide variety of choice, Several reviews have commented on difficulty in sleeping due to outside noise. However, it was certainly not a problem in February, Access to and from airport is easy.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abandbarbseniors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    95
    40
    18
    10
See reviews for
28
117
24
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

The hotel is well located in the Old Town, the staff are friendly and helpful, the room was comfortable with an added bonus of a private sauna, the room was very clean, breakfast offered a reasonable choice although the fried eggs sit around a bit and are quite hard when you get to them!

The main issue from my point of view is something other reviewers have mentioned, that being street noise until well into the small hours of the morning (4 am!). The noise of people shouting, singing in the street disturbed sleep for all 3 nights. Very little traffic uses the road so not an issue. The hotel cannot do anything about the noise in the street, but it would be this that stopped me staying here again. Better double glazing would help. Maybe rooms at the back of the hotel would not suffer as much, our room overlooked the square and was on a narrow but main thoroughfare.

Room Tip: Maybe a room at the back of the hotel would avoid the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris1922014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalmally, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed here for four nights from October 14th on our first ever trip to Latvia. The location has to be one of the best in Riga for sightseeing. Bed was extremely comfortable and the breakfast was generous with plenty of choice. We did hear people returning home from a night out in the early hours but there was never any shouting or trouble. I would advise light sleepers to take earplugs if they want to remain asleep all night. I had read reviews and was aware this could be a problem so I went prepared. I would not hesitate to return to this lovely hotel. The staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LGDAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The main problem with this hotel is the noise outside....music and shouting go on until 3am....on a Monday! I can't even begin to think how bad it must be at the weekend. While the hotel can do little about the bars outside it could do something about the ineffective double glazing and fit curtains that actually block out the hotels floodlights.

The decor falls somewhere between a very dodgy 1980s nightclub and a run down Hilton of that era. My double bed consisted of two differ height singles pushed together with pillows that managed to be flat and lumpy at the same time.

This just isn't a five star hotel, probably not even a four star. It's more of a posh three star for the wealthier stag and hen parties that fill the square outside.

Should I have to return to

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank luckybrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

I traveled with my mother (80 yr old with wheelchair) and requested a room with wheelchair access; we got 2 rooms: 1 twin room with bathtub and 1 single room for wheelchair access bathroom.
The location is excellent, fast wifi, the receptionist and bell boy are very friendly. Breakfast was ok & adequate.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OpaVaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
643 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Very difficult to beat this hotel's location. Royal Square offers very comfortable air-conditioned rooms, a great breakfast, and a gorgeous restaurant. Very good free wifi coverage. Everything you need for an enjoyable visit to Riga's beautiful old town. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waterloonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

It is said Royal Square Hotel in Riga is a five star hotel. After having three nights genuine experience, I can say it is not. One of the receptionists is very cool, not passionate in dealing with customers. When I asked for good restaurants, he just gave me some restaurants. When I asked for further, he was not patient at all. The room was very small. It was difficult for me to pull me luggage in. The noise outside the old town was also a bit annoying. The facilities in the bath room was difficult to use because there was a lot of weird buttons. If there were better choice with the same price and same stars hotel, I will choose another one.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leung Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Rixwell Centra Hotel
Rixwell Centra Hotel
#32 of 109 in Riga
618 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.2 mi away
Grand Palace Hotel
Grand Palace Hotel
#6 of 109 in Riga
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#1 of 109 in Riga
756 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#7 of 109 in Riga
616 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rixwell Domus Hotel
Rixwell Domus Hotel
#40 of 109 in Riga
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Square Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Square Hotel & Suites

Property: Royal Square Hotel & Suites
Address: Kalku iela 3a, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Riga
#18 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#40 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Square Hotel & Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming five star Royal Square Hotel & Suites is situated in the main street of the Old Town of Riga with the convenience of an international airport just 15 km away. Is ideally located for those who want to relax, explore or do business.Facilities and services meet the needs of today’s traveler - the rooms are spacious and bright, fully furnished in European style with a private sauna and natural fireplace in suites.The fine dining restaurant Desiderata, where you can taste gourmet menu, will be at your service. The Royal Square Hotel & Suites your home in Riga with comfort in heart of Riga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Square Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Square Hotel Riga
Royal Square Hotel And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing