We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality in perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Square Hotel & Suites
Ranked #57 of 110 Hotels in Riga
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This is a rather small hotel with 30 rooms. It is located in the very centre of the old city. Welcome drinks make you feel welcome :). Hotel has young but very professional and helpful staff. Rooms are clean, quite spacious and well equipped. Spacious bath tub. Cleaned twice a day + cleaning lady leaves you a bottle of water every night. Breakfast follows the high quality like in everything. It is not about quantity but includes very good set of bread and cold cuts + warm dishes, serials, fruits etc.
We did not try the restaurant downstairs but it looked very nice as well.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the square on the 4th floor. Highest floor of regular double rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pepesone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 122 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2014

Stayed 2 nights in an executive room with plenty of space and good (free) wifi access. Reception staff were very friendly, with clean and tidy accommodation. Only slight problem was with the bar area, where the barman was unable to charge anything to the room for the entire stay. Would use same hotel again as central to everything in the old town, and overall very good.

Room Tip: Worth payng a little extra for the executive room which was considerably bigger than the standard ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed for four nights during early February in an Executive Room. Check in was smooth and friendly as were all our dealings with the hotel staff, Without exception we found everyone to be attentive and professional. Our room, although different from that pictured on line, was quite spacious, well equipped with a large bedroom. Although sub-zero temperatures outside, the room was warm and cosy. The standard of cleanliness was exceptional. Slippers and dressing gowns provided. Internet facility free in foyer, but no gym. Location was very central to old Riga and useful to return to during the day. Breakfast was excellent with a wide variety of choice, Several reviews have commented on difficulty in sleeping due to outside noise. However, it was certainly not a problem in February, Access to and from airport is easy.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abandbarbseniors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

The hotel is well located in the Old Town, the staff are friendly and helpful, the room was comfortable with an added bonus of a private sauna, the room was very clean, breakfast offered a reasonable choice although the fried eggs sit around a bit and are quite hard when you get to them!

The main issue from my point of view is something other reviewers have mentioned, that being street noise until well into the small hours of the morning (4 am!). The noise of people shouting, singing in the street disturbed sleep for all 3 nights. Very little traffic uses the road so not an issue. The hotel cannot do anything about the noise in the street, but it would be this that stopped me staying here again. Better double glazing would help. Maybe rooms at the back of the hotel would not suffer as much, our room overlooked the square and was on a narrow but main thoroughfare.

Room Tip: Maybe a room at the back of the hotel would avoid the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris1922014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed here for four nights from October 14th on our first ever trip to Latvia. The location has to be one of the best in Riga for sightseeing. Bed was extremely comfortable and the breakfast was generous with plenty of choice. We did hear people returning home from a night out in the early hours but there was never any shouting or trouble. I would advise light sleepers to take earplugs if they want to remain asleep all night. I had read reviews and was aware this could be a problem so I went prepared. I would not hesitate to return to this lovely hotel. The staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LGDAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The main problem with this hotel is the noise outside....music and shouting go on until 3am....on a Monday! I can't even begin to think how bad it must be at the weekend. While the hotel can do little about the bars outside it could do something about the ineffective double glazing and fit curtains that actually block out the hotels floodlights.

The decor falls somewhere between a very dodgy 1980s nightclub and a run down Hilton of that era. My double bed consisted of two differ height singles pushed together with pillows that managed to be flat and lumpy at the same time.

This just isn't a five star hotel, probably not even a four star. It's more of a posh three star for the wealthier stag and hen parties that fill the square outside.

Should I have to return to

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
3  Thank luckybrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

I traveled with my mother (80 yr old with wheelchair) and requested a room with wheelchair access; we got 2 rooms: 1 twin room with bathtub and 1 single room for wheelchair access bathroom.
The location is excellent, fast wifi, the receptionist and bell boy are very friendly. Breakfast was ok & adequate.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OpaVaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.3 mi away
Pullman Riga Old Town
Pullman Riga Old Town
#18 of 110 in Riga
260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#2 of 110 in Riga
802 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Palace Hotel
Grand Palace Hotel
#6 of 110 in Riga
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Gallery Park Hotel & Spa, a Chateaux & Hotels Collection
0.2 mi away
Dome Hotel & SPA - Relais & Chateaux
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bergs
Hotel Bergs
#1 of 110 in Riga
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Square Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Square Hotel & Suites

Address: Kalku iela 3a, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Riga
#18 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#41 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range: £61 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Square Hotel & Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming five star Royal Square Hotel & Suites is situated in the main street of the Old Town of Riga with the convenience of an international airport just 15 km away. Is ideally located for those who want to relax, explore or do business.Facilities and services meet the needs of today’s traveler - the rooms are spacious and bright, fully furnished in European style with a private sauna and natural fireplace in suites.The fine dining restaurant Desiderata, where you can taste gourmet menu, will be at your service. The Royal Square Hotel & Suites your home in Riga with comfort in heart of Riga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Square Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Square Hotel Riga
Royal Square Hotel And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing