We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Give it a miss especially if slightly disabled” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel TIA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel TIA
Ranked #67 of 109 Hotels in Riga
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Give it a miss especially if slightly disabled”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2008

My friend and myself have just returned after staying at the hotel Tia in Rigs Latvia, we were quite shocked as we arrived to be confronted by several stairs up to the entrance this was not shown on their website and having a whhelchair for myself made a big problem as my best friend had to lug ip up and down the stairs every time also our bags, but the staff were polite and the room was very clean and newly decorated with a modern bathroom with shower a little small but fine no toilletries but wealways take our own the room was in soft shades and the beds comfy, but that lift beware there is a big gap and one lift shudders i got stuck in one on arrival it scared me I pressed the alarm to no avail ut my friend realised soomething was wrong and got help for me I did panic also the doors kept closing as you tried to get in and and out and were hardly big enough to hold my wheelchair had to hold it up, the receptionist was polite very helpful and apologetic telling us this has never happpened before, also no one has come with a whhlchhair before and telling e that it does not tell you this on their web site, by the way the web site is new, and told us she was sorry and would help i told her i was scared to use the lift but had no choice we were on the 2nd floorand had to take my wheelchair up and down each timr thank godness this only in the morning and again when we came back to sleep, we spoke to the staff and they did say right away that they would take some money off our bill, but i was going to ask this anyway, soon after getting in our room the phone rang and we were asked if we were happy with the rom we said ys thank you but think we should get a reduction as i was terified of the lift also it ad a big gap and was not level personaly we do not think it had been serviced in years, but their standards are not the same by far, the breakfast was adequate with a god variety but i only have a cereal and clear tea, would i recommend this hotel wll a big NO health and safety are paramount and this lacks it if someone slippped in the gap og the floor and lift OH DEAR I have read reviews about the staff but found them okay they did smile and seemd a concern for me, if you use taxi's use the red ones they are the best and cheapapest from the airport to hotel was 8 lat and coming back to the airport just over 6 lat we ordered the car and when we got back it was waiting we were concerned we my have to pay waitiing time but were told NO, but beware of the black taxi we were ripped offf coming back from the town as we were tired and it was raining we were told 5 lat, we knew tihis was a lot but had no choice the meter was not put on but these are private taxi company and have read aboyut this should of been no more tha 2 or 3 lat the most, over all we enjoyed our weekend apert from the rain many shops and shopping cenres and a lot to see, hope this helps other fellow travellers like ourselves, but do yourself a favour and choose a different hotel that gives you all he facts on suitability

  • Liked — cleanliness of room/decor light nand bright
  • Disliked — the lift sorry but one was like a death trap with big gaps and lift shuddering very csary
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dogtyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TIAManager, manager at Hotel TIA, responded to this review, 16 April 2008
On the 8th of March 2008 in our hotel arrived the guest who wrote previous review. She need a room with disabled facilities but unfortunately we do not have such kind of rooms in our hotel. Lady stayed in one of our hotel rooms and our staff did everything possible to make her's staying as comfortable as possible. We also gave a special discount for the room. However without special room and special facilities we couldn't do so much as would be preffered.
We also have double checked and didn't find any information in web-sites that we have disabled facilities in the hotel. In the reservation sheet we received from the internet system also wasn't any special requests, any notes that room with disabled facilities needed. We didin't receive any special e-mails or telephone calls from the guest as well. If we would receive any information the guest will be informed about facilities we haven’t. Consequently there is very long review in www.tripadvisor.com about disabled facilities. Lady complains that we do not have any information anywhere about disabled facilities we haven’t. We agree if we would have such facilities we give this information to our guests. But if we don't have, we don't have to mention this. We do not write all services we haven’t we inform our guests about services we have. The same it is with other hotels in Riga and their websites. If the hotel has mentioned facilities all information is given. If no, there is no information about it.
We are very sorry about incident that heppend and we would like to ask followings: dear guests please always write your special requests in your reservations to avoid any problems and misunderstandings.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    67
    49
    14
    5
See reviews for
22
60
28
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2007

The location of the hotel is not bad at all, although allow at least half an hour walk till Old Riga. Hotel shares same building with insurance company and couple of others. Which means they all have same entrance and thus every one can go to the floor with the rooms if the security guard (only one) is not watching.

I have booked a double room with one double bed in this hotel for my girlfriend (for 3 nights) who was visitting Riga (my hometown). The room turned to have 2 single beds instead and overlooking dirty patio.

The staff is completely unfriendly. The maid was constantly knocking at the door around 1pm as she could not clean the room later justifying it with some other business she had to do. This resulted in room not being cleaned for 2 days.

Suprisingly, maid was much more friendly than receptioninst and security guy who did not allow me to spend last night with my girlfriend. They said that she can not have any visitors after 11pm but offered to allow me to get in for a "small fee" = bribe. We could not stand it and moved out to better hotel.

Conclusion: don't be fooled by a cheap price.

  • Liked — location, price
  • Disliked — staff
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank montonero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Riga hotels

Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2007

You get what you pay for. Armed guard at the downstairs bank somewhat off putting. Early morning alarm call, unasked for, courtesy of what can only be assumed to be a kitchen porters pot scrubbing master class!
BEWARE of asking reception to book a taxi to airport as an executive taxi four times the price of Riga taxis, which you can book yourself, turned up.
Be prepared for the 15 or so minute walk into the city.

  • Liked — Security!
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jakeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2007

Just back from a weeks stay in the hotel Tia.. Let me start with the few good points

1) only 10 mins from the centre and skyline bar
2) 24 hour reception, free internet and relatively clean rooms

HOWEVER

1) we were charged £30 for small amount of makeup on the wall which in turn wiped off leaving no trace at all. When we tried to argue the point they pulled the "no speak english" card and we had no option but to pay it.
2) Breakfast was absolutly vile. Eggs, sausages, pancakes were all disgusting and the only good pojnt was toast and OJ.
3) had a habit of phoning taxi firms that charged us a lot more even tho we specifically asked for the licensed cheaper ones ( maybe they work on commission)
4 added on a few extra drinks and crisps which we never took from the room

To sum up its in a handy location and the rooms are ok but the negatives by far out weight the positives

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — Rip off
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Alanpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2007

Hotel clean as in other reviews bathroom very small, the hotel was a little to far from the town it is about a 20 to 25 mins walk to the centre. Great for the football ground we saw the Latvian finals, for just 1 lat. - £1.00p. it was just round the corner from our hotel. Latvia as a place is very nice and the people are friendly too. Food same as our prices beer is a little cheaper.

Yes be very careful of the taxi rip-offs, after arriving at Latvia airport got a little red taxi and asked the price before getting in it was 8 lats, the hotel booked ours for the return to the airport and asked how much this would be she said 15 lats we though it was expensive but saved us the long walk with our suit cases into town to find our own red taxi, when we arrived at the airport the taxi driver charged us 25 lats, good job be had the money on us, didn't have enough money to buy anything at the airport though.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROWDAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2007

Returned to the Tia for the second time
Feel it is ideal for anyone visiting Riga who is looking for a
somewhere to sleep not too far from the centre
Breakfast is ok
Use the tram and the trains so cheap

I will be returning in Sept

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DOUGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2007

Stayed for 2 nights early july. Its a little too far from centre. Paid £60 a night as booked early. Bathrooms are clean, new but cramped. The actual rooms are old and seen better days. The people who stayed opposite our room were heavy smokers and it drifted into our room, which wasn't great. Breakfast was basic and not much choice. Only stay here if not really fussed about being near the centre and spending minimum time in hotel. We also stayed at the Albert Hotel & Domina Inn Hotel for cheaper and they were top notch impressive modern hotels. We paid about £56 a night as left it late to book online. Very handy for football ground which is around the corner.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank Stocktondave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.6 mi away
Avitar Hotel
Avitar Hotel
#64 of 109 in Riga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hanza Hotel
Hanza Hotel
#35 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rixwell Irina Hotel
Rixwell Irina Hotel
#60 of 109 in Riga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Days Hotel Riga VEF
Days Hotel Riga VEF
#56 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Edvards
Hotel Edvards
#54 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Hotel Teater
City Hotel Teater
#41 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel TIA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel TIA

Property: Hotel TIA
Address: Krishjana Valdemara iela 63, Riga 1010, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel TIA 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel TIA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tia Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing