We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did a job- no more”
Review of Hotel TIA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel TIA
Ranked #68 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Stockton-on-Tees
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Did a job- no more”
Reviewed 21 July 2007

Stayed for 2 nights early july. Its a little too far from centre. Paid £60 a night as booked early. Bathrooms are clean, new but cramped. The actual rooms are old and seen better days. The people who stayed opposite our room were heavy smokers and it drifted into our room, which wasn't great. Breakfast was basic and not much choice. Only stay here if not really fussed about being near the centre and spending minimum time in hotel. We also stayed at the Albert Hotel & Domina Inn Hotel for cheaper and they were top notch impressive modern hotels. We paid about £56 a night as left it late to book online. Very handy for football ground which is around the corner.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank Stocktondave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    69
    52
    15
    5
See reviews for
23
62
30
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2007

Just back from a 2 day stay at the Hotel Tia, Riga. Was pleasantly surprised at the standard of the hotel for the price. I paid 82 Euro in total for the 2 night stay. I booked through E-bookers and this is a little lower than the advertised rates on the hotel's website. It was a 5 to 10 minute walk to the old town so the location is ideal. The lobby area was large, clean and newly decorated. My room was small but not as small as i would have imagined for the price I paid. The bed was a little larger than the average single bed which was good. There was plenty of wardrobe and desk space and a 24" screen as opposed to the 14" you find in a lot of budget hotels in Europe. The staff were friendly even though the locals in general are a bit stand offish.

One thing I would warn other tourists about is, be careful booking a taxi back to the airport with the hotel. I took an airport (small red cars) taxi to the hotel for 8.0 lats. The hotel desk booked me a taxi back to the airport which cost 21.00 lats. I realise i arrived late at night when traffic was light and went back to the airport at rush hour and traffic was heavy but I dont think this accounted for the return fare which was almost 3 times higher. The taxi driver going back stopped the taxi just outside the airport and started explaining why the fare was so high before i even questioned it. She was speaking mostly latvian mixed with a little broken english and from what I could understand her company has an agreement with the hotel to provide taxi service and as they run Mercedes the fare is higher, she did also blame the traffic but to me the meter seemed to be going way to fast on the open road after we left the traffic behind. I think I was ripped of but had no option but to pay. You should get an estimate before getting into the taxi.

Overall i had a good experience at the TIA and would recommend it to people wanting to get a decent room at a good price in Riga.

  • Liked — Location, price and bright airy decor
  • Disliked — views from the rooms not great
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Irishglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2007

I (33 years old from Germany) stayed with my wife on x-mas and new years eve there. The hotel is clean and modern. The room cleaning service was perfect. Nobody knocked on the door, they just waited and make up the room after we went to the town however late it was. Once they ask us via telephone if we still need the cleaning service because it was already 2pm. We answered "no, today not". But when we returned in the night our beds were made :-).
A day before new years eve they put us a 0.7l bottle sparkling wine in the room to celebrate the new year.
The breakfast was good with everything that u eat at home.
Delicius latvian dark bread, some toast, scrambled and normal Eggs, Sausage, different Cornflakes, Cheese, Marmelade, pan cakes, oatmeal gruel, some different Salads, Juice, Tea, Coffee. Everything clean and with a good and fast girl that took care for it all the time.
It was a quiet and vey nice place. I would stay there again!

Eric from Hamburg

P.S. A good impression: when we arrived in the night one guest tried to take a "girl" to his room but the reception girl told him that it is prohibited to take such "girls" to the room.
There is also a free Internet and a security guy all the time in the lobby.

  • Liked — My wife liked the breakfast, I liked the always available but non-obstrusive service
  • Disliked — outside of the building and the view
  • Tips/Secrets — check different websites for best price. There are differences!
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ericwombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CARNFORTH LANCASHIRE
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2006

Recent stay at Hotel Tia early October. Good for cost conscious traveller...just over £100 for 3 nights B and B for two. On main route just out from the Old Town so easy to walk to, about 15 mins., though trolley buses go past regularly. we had rm 429 which had a view into rear courtyards of adjacent properties, not very inspiring but quiet. Room is en-suite, with a small hallway and separate inner door. Twin beds, fridge, in-room safe (key from reception), and wall mounted TV with remote. Mainly Russian channels but there is CNN. Room was clean and in good condition.
Breakfast is in the bar/restaurant and is typical continental. It's a bit bland but provides tea/coffee/juices, with usual meat/cheese and bread. The hot selection is basic: sausage(hot dog), scrambled egg in cake form, and pancakes.
The building is accessed by a set of steps so is not disability friendly, and the hotel reception shares the lobby with a private business which also has a reception desk, and an armed guard!
All in all a reasonable base for a short stay in Riga at a good price.

  • Liked — The price!
  • Disliked — Lack of kettle in room.
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank carnydude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2006

Easy reach of airport & taxi cost under 8 Lats to hotel (£8), but return journey cost 20 Lats which we felt excessive.

Staff helpful, rooms were basic but comfortable, only downside was the very thin walls. Breakfast was basic & could have offered a lot more variety.

It took 15 mins to walk into town & with traffic at a standstill most of the day, this was the easiest and sometimes the quickest way to get there.

Hotel has a large flight of stairs to get your suitcases into the hotel which is a little daunting as taxi drivers offer no help. Not too good for elderly or infirm people. It is quiet at night.

  • Liked — Quiet at night
  • Disliked — Poor breakfast & stairs up to hotel
  • Tips/Secrets — Not for the infirm
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Django4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston, uk
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2006

This hotel is very good value for money. The rooms are small to medium, but spotlessly clean and recently updated. The continental breakfast is of a good standard and the staff are both friendly and efficient.
Location is reasonable, about 15 minute walk to the old city.
I would certainly recomend this hotel to budget conscious travellers who reuire clean comfortable accommodation,

  • Liked — clean, comfortable, inexpesive
  • Disliked — rooms a little small
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank jcann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2006

Judging from the drab exterior I wasn't expecting much from this hotel but I was very pleasantly surprised. The staff were helpful and efficient and the rooms were clean, if a little spartan. The area is quiet but a ten to fifteen minute walk from Old Town. The oatmeal and pancakes served at breakfast were delicious! It's not the prettiest hotel in town but I'd certainly consider a return trip.

  • Liked — Breakfast!
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank odessa07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
City Hotel Teater
City Hotel Teater
#35 of 109 in Riga
418 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hanza Hotel
Hanza Hotel
#36 of 109 in Riga
586 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avitar Hotel
Avitar Hotel
#66 of 109 in Riga
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
OK Hotel
OK Hotel
#76 of 109 in Riga
49 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mosaic Hotel
Mosaic Hotel
#54 of 109 in Riga
67 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Edvards
Hotel Edvards
#52 of 109 in Riga
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel TIA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel TIA

Property: Hotel TIA
Address: Krishjana Valdemara iela 63, Riga 1010, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel TIA 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel TIA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tia Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing