We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super hotel”
Review of Hotel Bergs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Bergs
Ranked #2 of 112 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2011

I've been to Riga with my friend for 3 days and we stayed in Bergs Hotel. locaton si absolutelly amazing, 5-10 minutes walking disatnce from all teh places (inc train station, if you want to gio to Jurmala). rooms are very big, with small kitchen and freezer where you can keep soem wine and cheese for evening time . if you decide to go, book Bergs hotel, its wosth staying.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 383 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2011

We stayed in hotel Bergs for 3 nights. The service is very friendly and super-efficient. The style of the hotel is fantastic : distinct class, a very nice integration of old and new. The rooms are very spacious ! The quality of the beds, the linen, the bathroom... you cannot imagine better. We also appreciated that the hotel is situated very well, at about 500m from the station (perfect if you want to go to Jurmala beach or Gauja National park) and about 1,5 km from the city center (very nice walk through the park).

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarpeDiem059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

I'm going to be upfront here and first say that we got a serious deal on this place after our reservation at another hotel fell through. Expedia offered to put us up anywhere we wanted in Riga at the original price we paid for our previous hotel.

We stayed in the studio suite, overlooking the Bergs courtyard and would normally go for 180 Euros a night.

After staying in a series of small hotels, Hotel Bergs was like a palace. The building was built 8 years ago in an historic old commercial bazaar that had fallen on hard times during the Soviet era. It is located off of Elizabete streets on the fringes of the Old Town and was extremely quiet. The Bergs area has many chic boutiques, cafes, restaurants, etc.

The room: High ceilings, incredible lighting, big windows you can open, efficient and quiet air conditioning, dark wood floors, a kitchenette, dining room table with four chairs, king sized bed (the sheets are to die for!), lots of storage space in bedroom area as well as foyer, big bright bathroom with his/her sinks, large flat screen TV with lots of multilingual channels, couch, easy chair, desk, large coffee table and lots of room to move around. The hotel also offers a pillow menu with buckwheat, silk, feather pillows, etc.

Amenities: There is a small gym with modern workout equipment. The space is a glass room that gets a little too hot but has great views. It also has showers, provides bottled water, etc. The rooms come with complimentary tea, coffee and cocoa and a nice new cordless kettle.
The hotel boasts one of Riga's best restaurants but it was a little pricy for us. Breakfast is not included (20 Euro) but we ate at one of the many nearby cafes.

Every second Saturday in the summer there is a bazaar where local people sell crafts, food, big hunks of rye bread, produce, etc.

If we had lots of disposable cash, I'd stay here again...although I do think breakfast should be included.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rainyday3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Its a small luxury hotel located close to the main train-station, mall, main opera/theater and central square. Old city is also in walking distance.
Restaurant was one of the best restaurants in the city some time ago. Breakfasts are absolutely great - fresh juices, salads, fruits, fish, even shrimps.
Rooms are very spacious (I had a studio ~45 sq m), with small kitchen and very nice bathrooms. I liked that floor in the bathroom is heated. Very nice balconies. Comfortable bed and sofa.
They have only couple of running tracks, but there is a fitness club right next to the hotel (where you can pay-per-visit).
Very nice staff, speaking both Russian and English.

The only negative thing about it - I had a door (although locked) between my room and the next room, so it was noisy when someone was staying there (quite weird, isnt it?). Just ask them to give you another room if you see the door to the next room.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shavkat_Sharipov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I travel to Riga quite often and Bergs is by far the best place to stay. Relaxing atmosphere, big and very confortable rooms, nice decoration and very friendly staff. There are in Riga good places to stay but when I have the chance to choose Bergs is the place.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Armando_74a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

Our two night stay in the Hotel Bergs was outstanding. Our room was spacious with a sitting room and bedroom and a small but well equipped kitchen. It had a lovely balcony looking out over Bergs Bazaar. The location is excellent - better than staying in the Old City as it is quieter and there is a good choice of restaurants and bars close by. The service in the hotel was excellent and the staff were very happy to help whenever asked. The attention to detail was superb and I would thoroughly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ekdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

Beautiful hotel with lovely big rooms with huge, super-king sized beds. Very good restaurant for dinner which is surprisingly not that expensive considering it is known to be one of the best in the city. We did not have breakfast (which is a la carte rather than buffet) so cannot comment on it. Stylish, quality furnishings everywhere. Very helpful concierge service - we booked opera tickets and restaurants before we left the UK and all was sorted painlessly via pleasant email exchanges. Staff varied from being just courteous (but always helpful) to being particularly friendly and welcoming. Only real (and admittedly, slight) downside was the shower head over the bath was positioned low down the wall so I (a fairly average height male at 176cm!) could not stand up and allow the water simply to fall onto my head.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CJMANUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.6 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#1 of 112 in Riga
808 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gallery Park Hotel & Spa, a Chateaux & Hotels Collection
0.7 mi away
Dome Hotel & SPA - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
0.7 mi away
Grand Palace Hotel
Grand Palace Hotel
#4 of 112 in Riga
637 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bergs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bergs

Address: Elizabetes iela 83, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#3 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#4 Family Hotel in Riga
#4 Business Hotel in Riga
Price Range: £120 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bergs 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Bergs, a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World, is a boutique hotel, located in the business center of Riga in a charming pedestrian oasis called Bergs Bazaar. The Old Town, the Latvian National Opera, and most of corporate and government offices are 5-10min walk away. Opened in July, 2003, Hotel Bergs offers its guests 38 individually designed spacious suites (45-80 sq.M.), Several elegant conference and meeting rooms with state-of-the-art equipment. The Bergs restaurant, which has a veranda and summer terrace, is one of Riga's leading gourmet restaurants well known for its fine cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bergs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bergs Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing