We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never slept better in a hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Bergs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bergs
Ranked #3 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Never slept better in a hotel”
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Super modern and quite exclusive design on the place. In fact too modern to fit my my taste, because design often overtakes comfort. I stayed in a suite, meaning the room was spacy enough and situated on top flor with own balcony.
Pricing of course according to design and style = pretty expensive. What gave me the total value for money was the extremely comfortable bed. I never slept better in a hotel!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LasseBromma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    66
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
60
126
20
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
274 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

If you want an upscale hotel for business, you should definitely stay here. If you're here to see the Old Town, you might look at closer, cheaper options.

Arrival
There are no bellmen or doormen. So you have to carry your bags up about 12 steps to the lobby. Check in takes a long time. There was a long queue behind me because the process is so slow. They weren't friendly either. How can you have front desk people who never smile? Then she said "our check in time is at 4pm, but you are lucky because your room is ready." Would have been better for her to start with the good news.

Lobby
Gorgeous but small. Very well designed. There's only a couch and a couple chairs, so no place to hang out really.

Room
My room was huge. It was modern and well appointed. It had a huge window although the view was of the rooms opposite me so I had to keep the curtain closed. Shower is strong and hot. Only complaint was that it was two floors with a narrow, somewhat hazardous staircase going up. Then I forgot to insert my key in the slot, so I had to run up and down several times. Bed and couches were soft and comfortable. Overall a great room experience.

Wifi
Free throughout the building. I had a problem with my iphone that they could not fix. Ipad worked fine. They rolled their eyes and said that it's a setting on the iphone that needs to be changed -- not helpful.

Restaurant
Rated as the best in Riga, which may be true. It has a great but small bar area where you can use your laptop/ipad. I had two desserts which were probably the best two desserts I've ever had in my life. Can't imagine how great dinner would have been. Breakfast was NOT free. It was small with a tiny buffet, but you can also order off the menu.

Old Town
It's a 7-10 minute walk. But that seems like forever the first time you do it. It doesn't feel close. But the good news is that you can walk.

Departure
Same dour looks. Took about 2-3 minutes to check out (with no queue) so plan accordingly. There are no taxis so they had to call one. It took about 10 minutes for it to arrive. Had to carry my own bags down the stairs and put them in the car because they have no doorman or bellman.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angmohgao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Beautifully designed and privately owned, the management keeps it very up to date, clean, stylish and comfortable. Every room features a small kitchen

Linemen and fabrics by local designer, similar stuff can bought just round the corner

Bergs is also known for one of the best restaurants in Europe


There is a nice little shopping area around the hotel with cool restaurants like Garage, coffee shops and hair saloons

Check out the ballroom on the top floor, perfect for events and meetings up to 50 ppl, has panOramic views over town

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OlgaSergienko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Excellent hotel, excellent service, excellent huge rooms. Only irritating thing was that I had great difficulties every time trying to open my hotel room door! But once you are in, it's rather a flat than a room. You'll get your own kitchen, suite, really comfortable bed, huge bathroom - so just be patient with the lock of the room. Breakfast good.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nelli2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton of Ticino, Switzerland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Well, I definitively share the opinions stated by other recent reviewers: in essence this is a wonderful, modern and stylish structure located inside a very quiet courtyard within the Bergs Bazaar complex (the complex has its roots going back as early as 1900 when it was hosting as much as 130 among shops and restaurants). The facts: we booked a "normal" room for 3 nights, checking-in on march 17th, 2012. Well, we were lodged in a superb, comfortable, quiet, large apartment on the 1st floor, facing the courtyard, with lots of space for clothes and luggages. The room was U-shaped (which offered optimal privacy), featuring a living and a kitchen corner. Essential but nevertheless luxurious black-white tones, dark wood floor and really top quality furnitures completed the picture.
On the arrival day we had the opportunity to enjoy a three course a-la-carte dinner at the Bergs Restaurant, hosted by Kaspar Jansons, one of the best Latvian chefs. Well, food quality was exceptional, the price absolutely reasonable, service excellent and the atmosphere intimate and romantic!
Great place, great stay, wonderful staff!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sekok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

I do not have a single negative thing to say about this hotel, not one. I stayed at Hotel Bergs in July 2011 for 2 nights. The location is superb, convenient, close to everything (short walk from 2 to 15 minutes to anywhere you'll want to visit). The hotel is inside a large courtyard and is therefore extremely quiet. The staff is helpful, courteous, smiley, positive, and because they're Latvian: BEAUTIFUL. When walking around the hotel grounds, you'll realize that everything can become a photo opportunity, as the entire space, from the reception to the rooms, has been designed with a great attention to detail. The hotel breakfast was delicious, and the restaurant in the courtyard offers some of the best wine in the Baltics. As for the room, it was extremely modern, quiet, spacious (TONS of storage space). The bed linen was soft, making me want to sleep in every morning. Finally, the gym and sauna were clean and very lit with large windows.

Whether you're traveling for leisure or business, this hotel is definitely where you should stop. If you're on vacation, ask the hotel for large towels and head over to the beach (train station is nearby, takes 20-30 minutes maximum). Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis-Philippe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

I loved the Hotel Bergs - beautiful boutique hotel, excellent service, great location. Sadly when I was in Riga it rained 3 of the 4 days, but luckily there were several great dining options nearby.

I booked on Orbitz - got a better rate than booking direct!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah8711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.6 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#2 of 109 in Riga
707 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dome Hotel & SPA - Relais & Chateaux
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.7 mi away
Grand Palace Hotel
Grand Palace Hotel
#11 of 109 in Riga
562 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gallery Park Hotel & Spa, a Chateaux & Hotels Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bergs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bergs

Property: Hotel Bergs
Address: Elizabetes iela 83, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#3 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#4 Business Hotel in Riga
#4 Family Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bergs 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Bergs, a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World, is a boutique hotel, located in the business center of Riga in a charming pedestrian oasis called Bergs Bazaar. The Old Town, the Latvian National Opera, and most of corporate and government offices are 5-10min walk away. Opened in July, 2003, Hotel Bergs offers its guests 38 individually designed spacious suites (45-80 sq.M.), Several elegant conference and meeting rooms with state-of-the-art equipment. The Bergs restaurant, which has a veranda and summer terrace, is one of Riga's leading gourmet restaurants well known for its fine cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bergs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bergs Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing