We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Bergs Riga”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Bergs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bergs
Ranked #3 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
firenze
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel Bergs Riga”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

Interesting location near, but not inside, the city center.
Not a big hotel, with strange mix of familiar & professional feeling.
Quite expensive, but rooms are really nice and clean and the service is at the top.

Room Tip: Definitely recommend the 2 floors rooms: they have special atmosphear!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fracort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    66
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
60
127
20
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

This is a very nice, modern hotel, in a cool building, situated in its own courtyard of nice shops and restaurants. It is a little bit outside of the Old Riga area, but a 5 five minute walk through a beautiful park gets you right in the middle of the hustle and bustle of Old Riga. There are also some nice things in the neighborhood where the Bergs is--good restaurants, good shopping, and I would highly recommend ESPA Riga--the best spa experience I have ever had.

The rooms at the Bergs were very nice--quite modern, as one would expect. They were also pretty spacious, with 2 french door-style windows that provided nice light and air. Room service food was excellent, but a bit on the expensive side, as one would expect.

Friendly people at the front desk. I speak a little Latvian, and unfortunately the conversation reverted to English a little too quickly. I'm sure it was courtesy on their part, but I would have liked to practice my Latvian a bit more, as I was able to at other hotels. Another slight annoyance--why so many Russian channels on the TV? Perhaps 3 English channels, 5 Latvian channels, and like 20 Russian channels--I found this mildly offensive to have more Russian channels than Latvian channels. But I am oversensitive about such things, having family that suffered from the Soviet occupation.

My own personal issues aside---don't hesitate to stay at the Bergs. It's a first-class hotel, and a good value by European standards. Riga is a beautiful and fun city, and Hotel Bergs is a nice oasis in which to rest from the travels.

(As a final note, I would also recommend comparing this hotel to Hotel Neiburgs, which is in a slightly better location, and is a slightly better value for the money. But you can't go wrong with either of them.)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulyDenver_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

I stayed here for three nights with my girlfriend and I have to say that this is the best hotel I've ever been to. A newly renovated hotel with every offer you can imagine (e.g. it's own pillow-menu to its guests to ensure the best comfort, bodyguard-service, massage, etc.).

Good value for money in my opinion! I would recommend everyone to go here!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MajorPer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

This place is so lovely and charming. The interior space is painted in a rich gray hue, with the decor is a cross between old-world and African art touches. Rooms are spacious and couldn't be better outfitted--with healthy snacks, DVD player (and complimentary music), comfortable bedding and surroundings (mini-kitchen, seating area, etc). Excellent, atmospheric meeting rooms for those who might need them. Location is great too--very easy access to old town Riga. My only complaint is the breakfast--a $25 buffet seems steep, and you'd think it would be included for the price. There are a la carte options, but nothing for a business person on the run. They need some complimentary offerings--a yogurt and pastry would have been nice. On the plus, right out your front door you have "the garage," a wonderful restaurant that we sampled twice during our stay.

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank badgerak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

I have chosen Bergs by "accident", the hotel where my friends were staying was fully booked, so I google-mapped & booked the closest option to their hotel, and it turned out to be Hotel Bergs. At first I thought that €700 for 4 nights was very expensive for a cheapest available room but I changed my mind as soon as I walked into the so-called studio. I had my own luxurious appartment in Riga!! With walk-in closets, living room, tiny dining room, and reasonable size kitchen with microwave (minus the stove due to fire hazard). The location is perfect, in front of a wonderful park and 5 mins walking distance from old town and train station. However the hotel is hidden off the main street, so it's extremely quite. Breakfast buffet was ok, somewhat limited choice, however one could order a la carte as well. Had dinner in the Bergs Restaurant, the food was amazing, the beef filet was tender like butter, and cooked to perfection. Overall, loved everything about Hotel Bergs. There is only one tiny flaw I could think of - the doors in the bath shower are so narrow, every time I took a shower, there was a flood on the floor. And, Sofitel's MyBed, you have definitely met your match at Hotel Bergs!! The pillow menu is extensive, and the mattresses are so soft, it's like sleeping on a cloud! Will definitely be back when next time in Riga. I recommend this new modern hotel to anyone and for whatever needs- families with children, business trips, romantic stay: Bergs can cater to all, in my opinion. Great hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Butomika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
481 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stayed here for three nights and found the hotel good value and in a great location. At first we were concerned that it might have been too far away from the main tourist attractions of Riga, but we needn't have worried. It was an easy walk to the old town and to the major art nouveau buildings. When we went down to the old town for dinner on a Saturday night, we really appreciated the Hotel Bergs' location - several of its main competitors were down here and it was really noisy and chaotic. The decor is very modern and the mini-apartment concept included a dining and living area and small kitchenette, worked really well. We used it to make our own breakfast and save the 20 Euros the hotel charged for breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan8552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
155 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

Very nice Boutique Hotel with very spacious rooms to a reasonable price. Rooms are clean and well furnished. The small "kitchen" corner was very useful. Only negative point was the check out- the room was charged to our credit card even tough it was already prepaid. After some minutes the problem was quickly solved. Nice and romatic hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brucewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.6 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#2 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dome Hotel & SPA - Relais & Chateaux
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.7 mi away
Grand Palace Hotel
Grand Palace Hotel
#11 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gallery Park Hotel & Spa, a Chateaux & Hotels Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bergs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bergs

Property: Hotel Bergs
Address: Elizabetes iela 83, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#3 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#4 Business Hotel in Riga
#4 Family Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bergs 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Bergs, a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World, is a boutique hotel, located in the business center of Riga in a charming pedestrian oasis called Bergs Bazaar. The Old Town, the Latvian National Opera, and most of corporate and government offices are 5-10min walk away. Opened in July, 2003, Hotel Bergs offers its guests 38 individually designed spacious suites (45-80 sq.M.), Several elegant conference and meeting rooms with state-of-the-art equipment. The Bergs restaurant, which has a veranda and summer terrace, is one of Riga's leading gourmet restaurants well known for its fine cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bergs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bergs Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing