We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply perfection!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Bergs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bergs
Ranked #3 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Simply perfection!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

A beautiful quiet hotel located in the centre of the town close to many restaurants, bars and shops. But the only sure is that you will prefer the restaurant of the hotel! The staff very friendly and very professional! The hotel's decoration combines modern and classic style. The rooms are really comfortable and well designed.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    66
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
60
126
20
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, MA
Level Contributor
174 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

The Hotel Bergs is a very quiet and well appointed property that benefits from a central location at the heart of Riga and close to the main city parks and the Opera House. The hotel is surrounded by a complex of restaurants, including a gastropub and a few other bars and upscale shops. The restaurant in the hotel is one of the best in Latvia, with an impressive menu of local fish, game and produce. I booked with my Visa Signature card and was given a major room upgrade and a restaurant discount voucher and free complimentary breakfast. The hotel has very good fast WIFI, flat screen TVs and well designed modern rooms.

The hotel staff is friendly and well trained, including the restaurant staff which automatically brought me my favorite tea each morning as soon as I sat down at the table. The Hotel Bergs is a short walk to the Old Town in Riga without any of the drawbacks of being located in the OldmTown proper, with all of the late night noise. The Riga flower market is a few blocks away and well worth a visit, as are the two main parks in Riga. The park closest to the hotel has a very pleasant teahouse which makes a nice stop after a walk in the park. Nearby Blaumena Iela street a few blocks up is lined with some of the nicest Art Nouveau buildings in Riga, as well as a few good restaurants.

Hotel Bergs strikes the right balance between the classic and the modern, with some authentic classic Latvian art and contemporary furnishings. It is a much friendlier place than the Grand Palace Hotel and has all of the amenities of a mid-sized hotel without being too big. My room was very spacious with a complete small kitchen, seating area and comfortable modern furniture. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WellTraveled3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

Hotel Bergs just outside of the Old Town of Riga is close to the action and yet on a peaceful enclave - a labyrinth of cobblestone streets - the Bergs Bazaar. The hotel is modern with the latest technology (fast internet, flat screen tv etc) and yet retains a historic atmosphere with family portraits by Latvian masters and antiques. Our apartment suite room had Italian design furniture, a small kitchen, and extra two piece bathroom (toilet and sink) as well as a quite spacious two sink main bathroom. Everything was functional and attractive. Spotlessly clean. On the top floor was a small but pretty exercise room, change room and massage cabinet. Dinner at the Restaurant Bergs was romantic and tasty as was breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms are spacious - our apartment suite had all one could need for a short or longer stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

This was my 4th visit to Riga and every time I've chosen a different hotel. Staying at Hotel Bergs was an excellent choice and I and my husband enjoyed almost every minute of it!

We arrived in the morning because of flight schedules. We left our luggages and went to have breakfast. We also walked a little bit to see Berga Bazars but actually at this time of year there wasn't so much to see. We came back to hotel before noon and our room was already ready! What a nice surprise and perfect time for a nap.

Room: We got a room from the 3rd floor. It was the cheapest one but still a very big one. I love wooden floors so this was a perfect room for me. All the colors were very stylish and we both really appreciated the natural materials in textiles.

In the room there was a king size bed, a sitting area, small table and a kitchenette. There were some complimentary coffee and water in the room. It would have been easy to take some food with you and eat it in the room as there were plates etc.

The big windows with French balconies were adorable and I can imagine it would have been a nice place to watch people when there’s a market weekend in Berga Bazars.

I think that everything else was perfect in the room except we had very noisy neighbours. When the party was going on at midnight I called to reception and told them about the noise. I heard they tried to end it but finally it took 1,5 hours before it was silent. Some noise came also from outside but we didn’t find it so disturbing.

Breakfast: Breakfast wasn’t included in our room price but we found it was so good we had it in three mornings. The price was 14 LVL or 20 euros, but it was excellent. There was cold buffet with about everything you can imagine with excellent quality. Then you could order something hot, e.g. omelette or some pancakes. Cappuccinos and fresh squeezed juices were included in the prize so basically whatever you wanted it was the same prize. With such a delicious food and excellent service it was a perfect start for a morning. Well, not morning because usually it was later than 10AM when we had our breakfast. I really loved that you could get breakfast until 11AM!

Room service: One night after opera we ordered something from room service. I can’t remember if there was a charge but the food was as delicious as if you’ve eaten it in the restaurant.
Restaurants: The hotel restaurant is excellent. In the same yard there was also restaurant Garage, which was a really fresh finding. There were also several restaurants in the same block and very close so the only hard thing is to choose.

Service: The service was outstanding! It was really a pleasure when everything felt so easy and flowing from the first minute we arrived to the last minute when we picked our luggages from the hotel and left for airport.

Wi-Fi: There was free Wi-Fi in our room and it was working well.

What to see: A charming tea house Apsara is only one block away and there’s only about a kilometer to opera house and old town. The circus would have been a couple of blocs away but that we didn't try. The Berga Bazars were stylish but otherwise the neighbourhood was not very charming. However it felt safe and at wintertime there weren’t many people outside.

Hotel Bergs offered us a perfect place to stay in winter Riga. The room was so nice that the temptation just to stay in and enjoy the room was almost too big! I’d be really happy to stay there again!

Room Tip: Ask if there's a room without a joint door to another room. It felt that most of the noise came...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

When in Riga I always stay at the Bergs. Super location and lovely place. Boutique hotel with great service from friendly staff, great and big rooms with a small kitchen and the possibility of making lovely coffee, tea or hot chocolate if you feel like a warm beverage. The Bergs is a place with high comfort and customer satisfaction in focus. The restaurant is very nice and stylish and the breakfast offering is lovely. The place to stay...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathrineTOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham
Level Contributor
58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

A fabulous hotel! Huge rooms, stylishly furnished. Friendly staff. Fabulous location - a few minutes away from the old town, close to the Opera and parks. Amazing restaurant - top class food and service. I'd recommend this hotel for all travelling to Riga.

Room Tip: Ask for the apartment suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NathalieBAltrincham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Hotel Bergs has very spacious, modern and comfortable rooms, including small kitchens. The service is good; they provide free internet and even room service breakfast is free with a 5 Lat charge if it was otherwise included in your room rate. For the money, you won't find much nicer in Europe.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but the apartment suites are really spacious and worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phantom_in_Cobham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.6 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#2 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dome Hotel & SPA - Relais & Chateaux
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.7 mi away
Grand Palace Hotel
Grand Palace Hotel
#12 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gallery Park Hotel & Spa, a Chateaux & Hotels Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bergs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bergs

Property: Hotel Bergs
Address: Elizabetes iela 83, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#3 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#4 Business Hotel in Riga
#4 Family Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bergs 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Bergs, a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World, is a boutique hotel, located in the business center of Riga in a charming pedestrian oasis called Bergs Bazaar. The Old Town, the Latvian National Opera, and most of corporate and government offices are 5-10min walk away. Opened in July, 2003, Hotel Bergs offers its guests 38 individually designed spacious suites (45-80 sq.M.), Several elegant conference and meeting rooms with state-of-the-art equipment. The Bergs restaurant, which has a veranda and summer terrace, is one of Riga's leading gourmet restaurants well known for its fine cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bergs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bergs Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing