We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two completely different experiences”
Review of Hotel Bergs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Bergs
Ranked #2 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Two completely different experiences”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

We had three nights in total, the first two were as part of a package with hotel telegraaf and the third was an extra night. After a lovely stay in the hotel telegraaf in Tallinn, we were expecting the same kind of attentive service. The welcome was not warm and the room was soulless and claustrophobic. In addition, staff frequently felt it was their righ to push past us although the cleaners were lovely. However, for our third night we were moved to a smaller room, which felt spacious, well-appointed and light. The service was also better on our last day. The hotel is really geared for business rather than luxury.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank saskiacromwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    69
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
63
135
22
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Silicon Valley
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Hotel Bergs is five star in all respects. The rooms are commodious, well equipped, modern, and comfortable. The front desk staff, the restaurant staff, and the maids were all anxious to please and completely "of service". The location of the hotel in a sort of courtyard surrounded by boutique businesses and some other restaurants is quiet, though the street leading to the Bergs courtyard is slightly seamy, mainly due to some empty commercial buildings. The food in the restaurant is extraordinary at dinner and really good at breakfast. The menus are limited, but the quality is excellent of the offerings is excellent. This is my home from home in Riga from now on.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eguisheim
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Another enjoyable stay at this fabulous small luxury hotel that does not take itself too seriously. Everything is just perfect but not glitzy, just tasteful, like staying in a large private house, comlplete with library and comfortable seating. Great location within walking distance of the city centre and parks, in a very quiet situation with no traffic noise. Rooms are large and very comfortable with almost every comfort you can think of, but nothing superfluous. Barhrooms are beginning to feel a bit "vintage" but that is not a criticism ! Everything is perfectly clean and well maintained throughout the hotel. Fabulous cuisine in the elegant small restaurant, with a super wine list, while the breakfast is to die for...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I have stayed at Hotel Bergs numerous times and this is the only hotel I will stay in when visiting Riga. The service is exceptional, the rooms are elegant and very large and the food is incredible. The hotel is in a perfect location. Not only is it quiet (no street noise), it is only a 10 minute walk to Vecriga (Old Town). I would recommend Hotel Bergs to anyone looking for a beautiful hotel for a great price.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfchica97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I have been staying at the Bergs for many years, after having tried other places in the city. I consistently return as the rooms are great, beds excellent and the whole feeling of the hotel in excellent. The hotel is located on the less attractive portion of Elizabetes iela, but it is very convenient for most things I do. I wish the bathrooms had proper showers, but this is the only (small) issue I have with the hotel. I very much recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCinBp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Very nice boutique hotel in Riga. Resides in a quiet alley about 10 minutes walk from the Old City.
All amenities available including nice little gym. large comfortable room, and a nice and knowledgeable staff. would stay again, if ever in Riga

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashafrir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bornem, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Hotel Bergs has the advantage that it's very well located and also very quiet located. The rooms are contemporary and very spacious. The staff is very attentive and concerned about your well being. Service and food are of a very high standard.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunther D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.6 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#1 of 109 in Riga
769 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dome Hotel & SPA - Relais & Chateaux
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Gallery Park Hotel & Spa, a Chateaux & Hotels Collection
0.4 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.7 mi away
Grand Palace Hotel
Grand Palace Hotel
#5 of 109 in Riga
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bergs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bergs

Property: Hotel Bergs
Address: Elizabetes iela 83, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#3 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#4 Business Hotel in Riga
#4 Family Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bergs 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Bergs, a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World, is a boutique hotel, located in the business center of Riga in a charming pedestrian oasis called Bergs Bazaar. The Old Town, the Latvian National Opera, and most of corporate and government offices are 5-10min walk away. Opened in July, 2003, Hotel Bergs offers its guests 38 individually designed spacious suites (45-80 sq.M.), Several elegant conference and meeting rooms with state-of-the-art equipment. The Bergs restaurant, which has a veranda and summer terrace, is one of Riga's leading gourmet restaurants well known for its fine cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Bergs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bergs Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing