We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel”
Review of Hotel Bergs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bergs
Ranked #3 of 112 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2006

An excellent hotel in every way. We stayed for 3 nights in July and would higly recommend Hotel Bergs. Lovely spacious rooms, professional staff and super breakfast. The location in the New Town area is also good for those who want to venture beyond the Old Town in Riga, but it's an easy 10 minute walk to the main sites.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank hwilson012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 394 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2006

Stayed here for the weekend. We booked the "penthouse" room which is a very large split level suite. The hotel is all glass and stripped wood "Scandinavian minimalist" style, and although not the type of place we usually stay we liked it. Both upstairs (bedroom) and downstairs (lounge) had large balconies and the suite was generally very well appointed. One problem was getting our suitcase up the spiral staircase which involved quite a bit of manoeuvring!
On the whole I would recommend this hotel but there are a couple of points to be wary of: there is a very noisy bar/club in the Bergs Bazaar which is very noticeable from the hotel - people were shouting in the street outside until 4am both Saturday and Sunday morning (not great if you are a light sleeper). Also even our non-smoking room had a smoky air (seems to be unavoidable in Riga where most of the population smokes), but leaving all the balcony doors open soon dealt with that! The staff were efficient and friendly and the breakfast was perfectly pleasant. It is a nice, gentle stroll into the old town via a large park - but taxis are readily available if you don't fancy the 10 to 15 minute walk.
Food and drink is generally great value in Riga, but the best thing was the hot chocolate in the chocolate shop / cafe in Bergs Bazaar right under the hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank quin-i-bog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
London
13
Reviewed 20 April 2006

Stayed here for a night. Got lucky and was upgraded to a penthouse suite. Great room, could easily have stayed there for a week. Great amenities too (although the gym could do with a floor exercise mat, and it would be great to have free wireless internet access throughout the hotel rather than only on the ground floor with prepaid cards). Service was good, sometimes great.
Would definitely come to this hotel again, whether on business or on a short break. I think it is hard to find better in this city.

  • Stayed: April 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2006

This is truly a great hotel with a very special feel. I have stayed there four times over the past few months and each time I have been impressed with the rooms and the service at the Bergs. The rooms are a great size and each room has its own unique layout and style. The staff are friendly and helpful and the facilities and surrounding create a real home from home feeling.

  • Stayed: March 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jmartin934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
London
525
Reviewed 3 March 2006

This hotel is a bit of an oasis! It is beautifully designed, clean and comfortable. The rooms are really large - ours even included a little kitchen and living area. The hotel is located at the heart of a little shopping complex that contains a number of interesting high class shops. The historic center of town is about 15 mins walk away. Don't expect much in the way of restaurants or bars locally - although the hotel restaurant is supposed to be very good (but not sampled by myself!)

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2006

We have just returned from a three night stay at Hotel Bergs and cannot praise it enough. The staff were friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. Our room was huge despite being the most basic option. It had lovely wooden floors, stylish and comfortable furniture and a really well equipped kitchen area. We couldn't have asked for anything else. The breakfast is good and the fact that it is served until 11am means that you can you have a really relaxing stay. We didn't want to leave and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JosieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2006

We stayed 3 nights (in 2 separate rooms) in hotel Bergs in November in a studio room (like superior room). I had read the previous reviews and was expecting the hotel to be nice and clean, but it was much better than I could have ever thought! The rooms were huge (about 50 m2), looked totally new with beautiful big bathrooms and small kitchens. The rooms were very clean and there were even fresh flowers and complimentary coffee, tea and hot chocolate (in nice little packages) in the rooms.The breakfast was also good and on the topfloor there was a small fitnesscenter with saunas and in the basement a laundry room (you could wash, dry and iron your laundry for free. There was even washing powder separately for white and colour wash).I can really recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank reissaaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.6 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#1 of 112 in Riga
825 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dome Hotel & SPA - Relais & Chateaux
0.7 mi away
Grand Palace Hotel
Grand Palace Hotel
#4 of 112 in Riga
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
0.4 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.6 mi away
Gallery Park Hotel & Spa, a Chateaux & Hotels Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bergs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bergs

Address: Elizabetes iela 83, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#3 Family Hotel in Riga
#3 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#4 Business Hotel in Riga
Price Range: £118 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bergs 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Bergs, a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World, is a boutique hotel, located in the business center of Riga in a charming pedestrian oasis called Bergs Bazaar. The Old Town, the Latvian National Opera, and most of corporate and government offices are 5-10min walk away. Opened in July, 2003, Hotel Bergs offers its guests 38 individually designed spacious suites (45-80 sq.M.), Several elegant conference and meeting rooms with state-of-the-art equipment. The Bergs restaurant, which has a veranda and summer terrace, is one of Riga's leading gourmet restaurants well known for its fine cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Bergs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bergs Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing