We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very affordable budget jugend hotel”
Review of Hotel Man-Tess

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Man-Tess
Ranked #50 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
SWEDEN
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“A very affordable budget jugend hotel”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The hotel Man-Tess is located in Vecriga. That means it will be noisy if You have the windows open. When they are closed You are completely at peace. Go for the old style suite. At Euro 85 per night it is a bargain in Riga. Reception is decidedly low key. There is a koi pond and the Budgerigar who is Man or Tess. Also a small breakfast area. Service from the front desk is beyond belief. They have no room service but Marianna, the receptionist bought flowers, a bottle of Riga Balzam, Riga champagne, piragi, sprats, glavas siers and presented receipts with nothing added to them! We of course added a thank You letter of Euro 15, but she really did not expect this. This kind of service is quite unexpected and beyond belief in a three star hotel. Brealfast is quite OK. The scrambled eggs are NOT made from powdered eggs and there are piragi for breakfast and a double espresso. The hotel bar is ridiculously affordable. A BOTTLE of Jack Daniels from the bar costs Euro 20 and a large beer (Zelta) 1 Euro. There is no restaurant. The suite is well appointed and with creaking floors. The bathroom is well lit and OK. The hot water takes time but it will be there, just You wait and see. The ONLY concern we have is the lack of air condition, which makes the room hot in august. Open the windows when You go out for dinner and You will be fine when You come back. Do not expect Relais &Chateaux refinement but You do not pay for that either. The Man-Tess remains a solid, affordable choice for weekenders wanting to do Riga and we will definitively return.

Room Tip: Choose the old style suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhodesian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    59
    25
    6
    1
See reviews for
23
75
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coquitlam, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This hotel is totally over-rated! While its location is ideal for walking about the old town, it lacks in every other way. The staff were for the most part inhospitable and acted put-upon when asked for directions. The room "appeared" clean, but had disgusting mold in the bathtub. The bed was one of the worse I have ever slept on with bedding that barely covered the mattress. The breakfast for the most part was disgusting with the same uneaten sausages served 4 mornings in a row. I do not recommend this hotel at all!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7469moog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights and chose the hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews. Had a room with two twin beds--the room was huge, with gorgeous high ceilings and a wood floor. Great location (Riga's awesome central market, plus the train and bus stations are maybe a 5 minutes' walk away). Good wifi connections, mini-fridge in room. Nice buffet breakfast included in the room rate. Special thank you to Marianne who was especially welcoming. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank violetvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This hotel is a gem in the centre of Riga right by the Galleria Shopping Centre, central squares of bars and restaurants, next door to the Pharmacy Museum, Opera House and Atlas Art Nouveau Building. To get to it you simply catch the 22 Bus from the airport get off at the last stop by the Forum Cinema and walk under the subway and straight ahead you will see the Galleria shopping centre and turn left, the hotel. Its costs £0.70 to get the bus and you get this from kiosks at the airport, just make sure to beep them on the terminals on the buses/trams. You can't really get any more central to the old city if you tried, everything is less than 10 minutes away. The staff were all very welcoming, friendly and chatty, they serve breakfast to you and also cover the night shifts as porter, so you feel safe being locked in and out of the property, they spoke beautiful english and we were really flattered by their politeness, willingness and helpfulness. The rooms we got given was booked as a triple, but was a family room and was well huge!!! We were on the top floor with views of the opera house and atlas art nouveau globe and we have enough space to host a ball. It was the little things about this hotel that made the stay special, a heater to dry clothes on, so you could wash things through, hair dryer, shampoo, a little stool to sit on, fridge, satellite tv and the complementary breakfast which had everything-porridge, biscuits, toast, yogurt, fruit, cheeses, hams, cereals, scrambled eggs, sausages. When we left they stored our luggage for us and even though we didn't have late check out we were allowed to stay in the lobby and just read till it was time to head home. People have mentioned noise at weekends, we stayed at the weekend and were fine, you may here the bike/tuktuk taxi's go past with music on, but there is no big bars on the street as made out in other reviews, but simply a closed shopping mall, embassy and another hotel. If you are after a hotel with a central location, welcoming staff and huge rooms, book here, yes its a little dated, but its a 19th C Manor what do you expect. ADVICE-There is hot water, be patient it takes around 7-10 minutes to come through, but is hot when it arrives.

Room Tip: Top floor Room 42 is huge, make sure to let the bath run for at least 10 minutes for hot water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guinevere2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I feel sort of sad having to mark this down due to the activities of patrons of a nearby bar but it did affect our overall enjoyment of the hotel. We chose a more expensive suite that overlooked the road to the front of the building. The answer is that you should ask for a room to the side of the hotel which overlooks that road instead. Friends who stayed there too when we were there were not so badly affected.

The hotel itself is well positioned for the centre of the city and within a reasonable walking distance you can access every part. We took a river cruise on a tiny cruise boat that left from the central park (by the Freedom Monument) and it was much more interesting than I had expected as the trip went out onto the much bigger estuary. There are plenty of restaurants around which serve a variety of food and the cuisine was a lot more interesting and varied than I had expected from reading up on the country, online.

The room was great and the furniture heavy imposing dark wood. The bed was not the most comfortable but not too bad. The shower was in the bath and there was a leaking pipe (not that this worried us as it didn't impair the use of the bath or shower) the water was hot but the shower head gave little actual spray - more like an open tap running on your head, but it did the job.

We heard a mozzie in the room so take repellent with you - the plug-in sort are best. My wife was bitten.

We actually went into the bar that was causing the noise, earlier on the Saturday evening. We had had a late night ourselves and wandering back we fancied some chips and a late night beer. It was the sort of place that attracts mostly young people and of course as everywhere else closes those determined to keep on partying end up there. One of the down-sides to the smoking ban is that these days wherever you go, bars often have more people outside than inside! And bar-owners build impressive canopied verandas where smokers and revellers can sit and chat and smoke and drink. Such as this place has. This means if they are riotous and uncontrolled the noise will disturb neighbours.

We went back to the hotel to bed afterwards and then were regularly woken by shrieking, whooping, and what seemed to be a group of young men having some sort of competition to see who could scream the loudest. Each time we awoke we could hear loud laughing, shouting, hollering as well as a hubbub of chatter.

I would have shouted out the window an appropriate request such as "Please do keep the noise down" but I initially assumed the noise was from the square which is 150 yards away, and has lots of open air bars: so I didn't bother. But when I went eventually to get some water from the shops at 6.30am the bar still had a few people there all with drinks in their hands, all still chatting away as if it was 6.30pm - whilst the square was empty. Who was the guilty party for the screeching I couldn't tell so I couldn't really just have a go at anyone.

The Sunday night the screaming idiots were gone but we still could hear a noticeable general hubbub right through the night until morning and again there were people still there in their evening clothes, supping beer.

Apart from that - the breakfast was OK, continental style and a reasonable choice. Staff were mostly welcoming and efficient but there was no particular warmth coming from them - a little reticent I felt. But they were not difficult or unhelpful.

Riga is a lovely place to visit - the temperature was actually warmer than the UK. Definitely worth a visit and the people all speak perfect English! In fact English is the second language effectively as the Latvians speak Russian or Latvian and I am sure they speak in English to each other when people from both traditions are speaking to each other. Certainly English is the common language with most other nationalities. We found the attitude very friendly and welcoming generally.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room! And take ear-plugs just in case!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JumpinJackFlash60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
344 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This hotel is situated right in the middle of old town and is just minutes away from most attractions. Despite it being freezing outside the hotel and rooms were very warm. Despite being city centre it is not noisy. Staff very very helpful. Would definitely stay here again. Would recommend that the hotel provide drawers to store cloths, there was just a wardrobe in my room.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bazerelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

My only complaints?.... a triple room was very small with hardly any room for luggage. but the beds and quilts were so comfortable and just a step up on what we usually get in Riga. the breakfast was also just a step up. staff were very helpful & friendly. stored out luggage for us all day till early evening. there is a Rimi supermarket just opposite if u need anything. some great bars and restaurant close by. would I use man-tess again? yes.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redqueeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.2 mi away
Rixwell Domus Hotel
Rixwell Domus Hotel
#40 of 109 in Riga
499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Monte Kristo
Hotel Monte Kristo
#43 of 109 in Riga
450 reviews
0.1 mi away
Konventa Seta Hotel
Konventa Seta Hotel
#29 of 109 in Riga
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
0.0 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Old Riga Hotel Vecriga
Old Riga Hotel Vecriga
#54 of 109 in Riga
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Man-Tess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Man-Tess

Property: Hotel Man-Tess
Address: Teatra iela 6, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Man-Tess 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Man-Tess is situated in the very heart of Old Riga in 18th century mansion. There are 11 rooms in the hotel: 5 doubles, 3 twins, 1 single and 2 suites. Rooms are big enough for extra bed and children coat. One of the suite rooms has antique wooden furniture; other rooms have a rather modern layout. Our guests have great opportunity to relax enjoying the beautiful view of the roofs and towers of Old Riga. Parrots and goldfish complement the lobby's decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Man-Tess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Man Tess
Man Tess Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing