We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”
Review of City Hotel Teater

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Hotel Teater
Ranked #28 of 112 Hotels in Riga
Reviewed 30 January 2012

A very nice and clean hotel with excellent service. Very good value for money.
Try to get a top floor room which offers an excellent view over the city.

Room Tip: Try to get a top floor room which offers an excellent view over the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DanishCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2011

Stayed in Bruninieks Hotel last weekend with my spouse. This is not usual cramped std hotel, but located in town house with high cealings and spacious rooms. I'm allergic to small hotel rooms and this hotel was good surprise at that price level. Location is pretty good, 10 minutes walk to old town, in silent street.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jack_Forecast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We had a group of 20 friends from Italy staying here and everyone enjoyed their stay. The hotel was simple, yet comfortable and clean, but what pleasantly surprised us was the top quality service that we have received there.
The stuff was very helpful and the manager Simona did a wonderful job at making us feel welcome. We would recommend ANYONE staying at City Hotel Bruninieks!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nastasija M, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Teater, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

Dear Arina,

I would like to thank you for your honest and constructive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to City Hotel Teater!

Have a nice sunny day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I only spent one night at the Bruninieks hotel before a longer stay at another hotel in Riga but I was pleased. It is a simple and comfortable hotel, also within walking distance to the main attractions in Riga.

The hotel consists of two buildings which are connected by a lobby with a glass roof. I found it quite interesting and as I read on the hotel website one of them is a completely renovated Art Nouveau building.

A colleague and I got a very big double room on the first/entrance floor. It was simple but clean and quiet. The bathroom was also big and fresh, with a shower and clean towels.

Internet is available in the lobby, free of charge, as well as in the rooms for a small fee. I think it cost me 2 LVL in the room, which is the equivalent of around 3 EUR or 4 USD.
There is a small luggage room on the entrance floor, modern furniture and a big TV screen in the lobby and plenty of tourist info at the reception desk. The staff were friendly and helpful.

The breakfast room on the top floor is not anything fancy and neither is breakfast itself, but it's good enough to start the day. There's bread, butter, cheese, ham, salami, boiled eggs, coffe and tea and so on. If I remember it well, only one of the two elevators goes all the way up to the breakfast room and breakfast is usually served from 7 or 7.30 in the morning.

I'm not quite sure whether there were few people staying there at the time, or if the rooms are properly sound-isolated, but it seemed very quiet, which made sleeping very easy.

I would recommend this hotel, the rates on the website are not very high and I'm sure it's a nice, simple alternative for a pleasant stay in Riga.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cristinablendea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nastasija M, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Teater, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for you comment.
Now wi-fi internet is available free of charge in all hotel areas (in rooms as well).
The restaurant on the 7th floor is renovated and now it looks really fancy and elegant.
I hope you will come again to our hotel.

Have a nice day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Just returned from an 8 night stay at this hotel, our second visit in 2 years, and once again we were delighted with this hidden gem, situated on a reasonbly quiet one-way road within a comfortable 15 minute walk from the Freedom monument. We were 5 couples in Riga for a week of culture, sightseeing and longest day celebrations, and the staff really made us welcome. The rooms are large with plenty of storage space, a desk and chairs and each room has a full length mirror!! Not many 4* hotels supply those. Our room and huge bathroom was cleaned to a high standard daily. The reception/lobby staff were always cheerful and very helpful and even on the evenings when we returned fairly late, there was never a problem being served with drinks or coffee .

Breakfast is buffet style with a good variety including porridge, cereals, fresh fruit, preserves, hot dishes including eggs and sausages, pancakes and plenty of coffee and tea.

We will probably be returning to Riga in 2013 and will again stay at the City Hotel Bruninieks. It offers clean, welcoming accommodation in a nice quiet area at a fantastic rate - why pay more?

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mjacobsbros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nastasija M, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Teater, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for a beautiful comment.
It is such a pleasure when people are coming back to visit our city and to stay in our hotel.
Please contact us to have a special price for your next visit to Riga.

Have a beautiful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

The room was quite big, with a desk and tv. The furniture was unpainted pine, a little 80-style. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom big enough with plenty of hot water in the shower. The remote control for my tv sas gone, however, and the bed lamp was without bulb (I took the bulb of the other lamp, however). It seemed very clean.

The new windows and a new elevator hinted at the hotel beeing refurbished relatively newly. The reception doubled as bar, and in the heatwave in July a cold beer tasted nice.

The hotel has no aircondition, which is normally not neccecary this far north. But during my visit, it would have been an advantage. I opened the two windows as much as they went and slept naked without blanket. Eventually, I fell asleep. I woke early, though, as my room faced the street (that is actually rather quiet at night).

The breakfast could have been better. They had bacon and scramblet eggs, but.. it didn't look very tempting. As other hotels have rolls, danishes, several bread types, they only had white and black (rye) bread, and it wasn't very fresh.

Althoug the breakfast room was big enough, the buffet area was cramped, and queues formed.

I came in to late to try the roof bar, which closes at 10 p.m.

For a nights sleep, what was what I was after, the hotel is good value for the money. But the breakfast was a disappointment. I only reluctantly recommend it, as they might have had a bad day in the kitchen.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brainspin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2009

We arrived rather late - after 11 pm -, to be received by a very friendly night porter. The room was spacious, neat, clean and tidy, with an admirable hot water system. As we had selected a dead time in the year, the hotel was almost empty, and staff were extremely helpful, most of them speaking good English. The night porter is the exception: His only foreign language is Russian, but he goes to great lengths to understand any request and do his best.
The breakfast is definitely Latvian in character, good and plentiful.
The hop-on-hop-off city sightseeing buses stop right in front of the hotel, with tickets valid for 48 hours, so transport within the city is no problem; and even if you walk, you are at the Christmas Markets within ten minutes

We will definitely go back and stay longer!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barliman2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.7 mi away
Monika Centrum Hotel
Monika Centrum Hotel
#7 of 112 in Riga
637 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
#31 of 112 in Riga
566 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bellevue  Park Hotel Riga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Europa Royale Riga
Europa Royale Riga
#41 of 112 in Riga
447 reviews
2.6 mi away
Primo Hotel
Primo Hotel
#49 of 112 in Riga
155 reviews
0.9 mi away
Opera Hotel & Spa
Opera Hotel & Spa
#29 of 112 in Riga
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Teater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Teater

Address: Bruninieku iela 6, Riga 1010, Latvia (Formerly City Hotel Bruninieks)
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Riga
#20 Business Hotel in Riga
#25 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#29 Romantic Hotel in Riga
Price Range: £30 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel Teater 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Hotel TEATER is one of the most enjoyable 4 star hotels in Riga. The hotel is located opposite to the Dailes Theatre in a vibrant cultural and business part of Riga centre. Old town is only in 15 minutes walking or 3 minutes driving distance. Nearby the Hotel one can find many landmarks such as Arena Riga, Skonto Exhibition Hall, Galleria Riga shopping center, Royal Casino, Olympic Sports Center, Gertrude's church etc. The hotel is in a beautiful Art-Nouveau style building which was built in 1905. The 24h front-desk and lobby-bar are located under a glass roof which connects both buildings of the hotel. The hot buffet breakfast is served in the restaurant on the 7th floor with magnificent view over the city. Hotel offers relaxation in Sauna with pool, Beauty Salon and Terrace on the roof top. Hotel has smoking area with stunning views over the city. Wi-Fi is available in all areas and is free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your City Hotel Teater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing