We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turkish traveller”
Review of City Hotel Teater

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Hotel Teater
Ranked #30 of 110 Hotels in Riga
Reviewed 26 April 2013

The hotels position is good. Easy access to the old city. The hotel is also almost in the center. If you like walking easy and enjoyable to walk to the old city. It takes only 15 minutes. The hotel is clean and nice. Comparing to the price of the room, it is very good hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Turkish54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (460)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 460 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2013

The location was good and gave plenty of opportunity to explore the city. Our room was very big and well furnished. A few of our groups rooms had a smell of detergent, but wasn't too bad. The breakfast was good, although a few strange options were available and some was a bit cold as it was a buffet. However we had no real complaints, especially bearing in mind the price we paid. Would return if I go back to Riga.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kentyseaford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Hotel was at a good location for exploring Riga. The room had a strong chemical smell that indicated it was cleaned regularly, but I would have preferred something more neutral. The main problem was the water pressure and temperature in the shower which was difficult to control and kept changing. And, when you are visiting Riga in the winter (or very cold spring) you want hot water there.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adaziv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

This was the 2nd time i stayed in Teaterhotel in a short time. Its a nice pleasant priced hotel only 15 minutes walk from center. The rooms are big and clean. Only the safebox could be better placed higher.
Breakfast was more than enough and i must say also for dinner there is a small menu, and the chef knows what he is doing. Wonderfull dinner. The hotel Teater is for me a hotel i will allways come back.

Room Tip: rooms streetsite are also not noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bert040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nastasija M, Public Relations Manager at City Hotel Teater, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

Dear bert040,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for having taken the time to leave your impressions on TripAdvisor.
It would be a pleasure welcoming you again at the City Hotel TEATER and fulfill your dreams.

Have a great day!

Kind regards,
Anastasija Moisejeva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We really enjoyed the clean and beautiful rooms, tasty rich breakfast, elegant restaurant and friendly personnel of the hotel. The location is very very good - in the city center, yet quiet area. Highly recommended for a romantic stay in Riga or for families with children. Many thanks for making our weekend beautiful!

Guests from Estonia and Lithuania

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Maia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nastasija M, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Teater, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013

Dear Maia,
Thank you very much for staying with us and for having taken the time to leave your impressions on TripAdvisor.
We hope to welcome you again at City Hotel Teater!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

The room I've stayed in was modest but comfortable. Perfect for a budget one night stay. Enjoyed breakfast too: simple but delicious. ( Especially loved the pancakes with raisins)
The location was alright for me. The city center is 15min away, but the walk is pleasant as you pass by an old church, many coffee shops and bakeries.
However, it was quite noisy at night and I could hear people upstairs walking and talking. Seemed like the walls were made of paper, there's a bad sound isolation... It was a big drawback for me.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoruneK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

The room I stayed in was quite big, big enough for two people. The bathroom was big, new and very nice. Breakfast was excellent, with good choice of food. The staff was friendly and very helpful. If I come to Riga again I will definitely stay in this hotel. Close to the center and all historical places.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Milka987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.8 mi away
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
#25 of 110 in Riga
539 reviews
0.7 mi away
Monika Centrum Hotel
Monika Centrum Hotel
#11 of 110 in Riga
574 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rixwell Terrace Design Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel TIA
Hotel TIA
#68 of 110 in Riga
176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#21 of 110 in Riga
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Teater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Teater

Address: Bruninieku iela 6, Riga 1010, Latvia (Formerly City Hotel Bruninieks)
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Riga
#20 Business Hotel in Riga
#28 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#29 Romantic Hotel in Riga
Price Range: £27 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel Teater 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Hotel TEATER is one of the most enjoyable 4 star hotels in Riga. The hotel is located opposite to the Dailes Theatre in a vibrant cultural and business part of Riga centre. Old town is only in 15 minutes walking or 3 minutes driving distance. Nearby the Hotel one can find many landmarks such as Arena Riga, Skonto Exhibition Hall, Galleria Riga shopping center, Royal Casino, Olympic Sports Center, Gertrude's church etc. The hotel is in a beautiful Art-Nouveau style building which was built in 1905. The 24h front-desk and lobby-bar are located under a glass roof which connects both buildings of the hotel. The hot buffet breakfast is served in the restaurant on the 7th floor with magnificent view over the city. Hotel offers relaxation in Sauna with pool, Beauty Salon and Terrace on the roof top. Hotel has smoking area with stunning views over the city. Wi-Fi is available in all areas and is free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your City Hotel Teater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing