We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD HOTEL AND A REASONABLE PRICE”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of City Hotel Teater

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Hotel Teater
Ranked #39 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Asker, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“GOOD HOTEL AND A REASONABLE PRICE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

I spent one night at this hotel in late April in connection wit a seminar which took place at the hotel. The hotel has a good location, reasonable price and a staff who understood English quite well. The room where we held the seminar was rather small and during the seminar we had to open the windows several times. The equipment we needed worked good, and the meals we had were good.

My room was simple and and did not contain much equipment, but as most of my time was spent on the seminar, it was OK, taking into consideration the moderate price.

After the seminar soem of us went for a stroll to the charming old city and walked through beautiful jugend style houses. The old city was easy to rach from the hotel.

I also like to recommend a small a small and modest restaurant in the builiding next to the hotel. Some of us had dinner there before we should leav. The food was very good, cheap and well prepared, Much value for money!

I can recommend this hotel if you are looking for a cheap and quiet place with a good breakfast in an OK dining room, located slightly outside the center but within walking distance to some of the more famous places

Henry Grindheim
Asker
Norway

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    176
    56
    16
    9
See reviews for
44
133
33
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

just a good hotel, good location 15 min walk from the old city, good restaurant and good english staff.
Just in the corner you have a market to buy some things, clean and spacious rooms.
We stayed 2 nights, the first night i advice some problemas with the fridge, but not have any notice, and when we left the hotel the fridge still doesn t work.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ignacio e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adapazari, Turkey
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

The hotels position is good. Easy access to the old city. The hotel is also almost in the center. If you like walking easy and enjoyable to walk to the old city. It takes only 15 minutes. The hotel is clean and nice. Comparing to the price of the room, it is very good hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turkish54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

The location was good and gave plenty of opportunity to explore the city. Our room was very big and well furnished. A few of our groups rooms had a smell of detergent, but wasn't too bad. The breakfast was good, although a few strange options were available and some was a bit cold as it was a buffet. However we had no real complaints, especially bearing in mind the price we paid. Would return if I go back to Riga.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kentyseaford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

Hotel was at a good location for exploring Riga. The room had a strong chemical smell that indicated it was cleaned regularly, but I would have preferred something more neutral. The main problem was the water pressure and temperature in the shower which was difficult to control and kept changing. And, when you are visiting Riga in the winter (or very cold spring) you want hot water there.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adaziv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didim, Turkey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

This was the 2nd time i stayed in Teaterhotel in a short time. Its a nice pleasant priced hotel only 15 minutes walk from center. The rooms are big and clean. Only the safebox could be better placed higher.
Breakfast was more than enough and i must say also for dinner there is a small menu, and the chef knows what he is doing. Wonderfull dinner. The hotel Teater is for me a hotel i will allways come back.

Room Tip: rooms streetsite are also not noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bert040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nastasija M, Public Relations Manager at City Hotel Teater, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Dear bert040,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for having taken the time to leave your impressions on TripAdvisor.
It would be a pleasure welcoming you again at the City Hotel TEATER and fulfill your dreams.

Have a great day!

Kind regards,
Anastasija Moisejeva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Harjumaa, Estonia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

We really enjoyed the clean and beautiful rooms, tasty rich breakfast, elegant restaurant and friendly personnel of the hotel. The location is very very good - in the city center, yet quiet area. Highly recommended for a romantic stay in Riga or for families with children. Many thanks for making our weekend beautiful!

Guests from Estonia and Lithuania

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nastasija M, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Teater, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Dear Maia,
Thank you very much for staying with us and for having taken the time to leave your impressions on TripAdvisor.
We hope to welcome you again at City Hotel Teater!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.7 mi away
Rixwell Terrace Design Hotel
0.7 mi away
Europa Royale Riga
Europa Royale Riga
#40 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
#20 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
PK Riga Hotel
PK Riga Hotel
#25 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Monte Kristo
Hotel Monte Kristo
#44 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Edvards
Hotel Edvards
#54 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Teater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Teater

Property: City Hotel Teater
Address: Bruninieku iela 6, Riga 1010, Latvia (Formerly City Hotel Bruninieks)
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Riga
#20 Business Hotel in Riga
#29 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#33 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel Teater 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Hotel TEATER is one of the most enjoyable 4 star hotels in Riga. The hotel is located opposite to the Dailes Theatre in a vibrant cultural and business part of Riga centre. Old town is only in 15 minutes walking or 3 minutes driving distance. Nearby the Hotel one can find many landmarks such as Arena Riga, Skonto Exhibition Hall, Galleria Riga shopping center, Royal Casino, Olympic Sports Center, Gertrude's church etc. The hotel is in a beautiful Art-Nouveau style building which was built in 1905. The 24h front-desk and lobby-bar are located under a glass roof which connects both buildings of the hotel. The hot buffet breakfast is served in the restaurant on the 7th floor with magnificent view over the city. Hotel offers relaxation in Sauna with pool, Beauty Salon and Terrace on the roof top. Hotel has smoking area with stunning views over the city. Wi-Fi is available in all areas and is free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Hotel Teater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing