We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Give Bruninieks a Wide Berth!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Hotel Teater

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
City Hotel Teater
Ranked #40 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Give Bruninieks a Wide Berth!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2006

I booked four nights in a double room at this hotel five months in advance. The cost was paid in full so I was not anticipating a problem when I arrived last Wednesday and presented my voucher to the reception staff. They spoke a little amongst themselves before telling me that there was a "technical problem" with our room and they had booked us into another 3 star hotel five minutes away. On arrival at the alternative hotel I found that Bruninieks had booked us in for 3 instead of the 4 nights I had paid for and that they hadn't even arranged a double room! The girl at the new hotel was very helpful but unfortunately they had no double rooms available. I was by this stage pretty annoyed by the way we had been treated by Bruninieks and returned to complain but was given no satisfaction. This hotel is best avoided!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank odessa07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    169
    54
    16
    9
See reviews for
40
131
31
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2006

We stayed in this hotel for one night, booked from [--------], the agent charged us immediately after booking (maybe that's normal in Riga, you have to pay before your stay).
Before we arriving, we were having high expectation, anyway 92 euro is about half month salary for a Latvia normal person. But we were so disappointed when we arrived. The lobby is nice looking, I have to say. But the room was horrible, we stayed in room 102, it was so smelly, maybe from the wall paint or the wooden floor. I couldn't sleep. We tried to change room, but the reception girl was rude and we couldn't change the room. For 92euro, there was no bath in the room and floor was dirty. I was afraid to get cancer after staying one night in that kind of smelly room. Horrible... Never never come back. It gave me very bad experience, we will think again whether we will visit Latvia a second time or not in the future though they have a nice beach.
And be careful when you change money in Latvia city (better changing enough money in airport)

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank standatcote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2006

Just back from two nights at this hotel and we have mixed emotions about it. First of all I totally agree with the writer before me that the staff sucks. They were slow and kinda ignorant and we got a feeling that we were disturbing them in their work when we had questions! Only one girl was nice and smiling. For example when we asked how much a cab to the airport would cost the answer was 12 L. The guidebooks say about 7 and when we asked for a phonebook to call another company (the hotel could only call one specific), they "didn´t have one"!!! So we took the bus:-)

Also the rooms were quite nice, but during our two nights stay they never cleaned it. They only changed towels. There were also no english speaking news channels in the room which I would have liked.

There is a nice patio on the top of the hotel, but they say its closed in the night time. No problem to open it and enjoy Rigas skyline. Just keep in down a little and nobody cares.

Try to get to the breakfast buffet quite early, since some dishes tends to run out as time goes by!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2006

Bruninieks is located in the New Town. The New Town is around 20 minutes walk from the Old Town, where most tourists prefer to be. All the cultural landmarks and museums are in the Old Town, as are most of the popular nightlife attractions.

As such, it's curious that the hotel is little cheaper than many situated more centrally. In fact, the small saving I made was eaten up by taxi fares at night. The New Town is not without its attractions - it is away from the masses of tourists and some of the sleazier elements of the nightlife. It's where the locals drink, and some interesting little bars are there. You will still, especially if you're a first time visitor, wish to spend most of your time in the Old Town, so take this into account when choosing your hotel.

Much of the New Town architecture is a tad grey and dull. There's a large wooden playhouse across the road though, and some nice restaraunts too - though you have to look around for them.

As a hotel, it's decidedly average. The rooms look a little 1970's in style - lots of browns, from carpet to wardrobes to beds. The bathrooms are ok, but the towels are very tatty and worn. I guess any rogues planning the traditional 'borrowing' of hotel towels will be thwarted, but the hotel can have no realistic excuse for using such poor quality accessories.

There is one bar, downstairs, which was basically the help desk with a few draught beer pumps built in. It was always nearly empty when I was there. It has large screen television sets, and an impressive metal knight's armour suit, complete with sword. I believe Bruniniek means knight, hence this stalwart defender watching over the foyer for your protection!

Overall, I could recommend it as an 'off the beaten track' choice if it were a lot cheaper. Priced as it is, though, and with the taxis you'll take to and from the Old Town, you will make little or no saving compared to superiour hotels in better locations.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jamesblr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, West Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2006

I would reccommend this hotel as a good base but the staff are proactively unfriendly bordering on rude. A happy medium seems to be if you ignore them as much as they ignore you. Rooms are a good size and clean with good bathrooms with underfloor heating. Breakfast is also good with a medium size selection of food available but be warned, they tell you on check in that it is available until 10am weekdays and 11am on weekends, but they start clearing away at 10/11am respectively. So get there a little before and you will manage to eat. It is a good 15 min brisk walk to the centre from the hotel but this is good as you see more of the town on this walk then you would if you stayed in the old town. There is a sauna available with an ice cold plunge pool but there is a charge of 15 lats (approx £15) per hour and you have to book at least 90 mins before, they are very cheeky not advertising this extra charge but at least it ensures you get it to yourselves.
Overall as somewhere to put your head and eat your breakfast its fine and not bad value and don't say I didn't warn you about the very unfriendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sammytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2006

Stayed here for 2 nights on a 'stag do' and must say i was impressed. In my room there was a huge corner bath, heated flooring(bathroom) tv, very comfy bed and a fridge with reaonable pries for items in it. The room was quite modern and clean not much of a view from most of them though. I did not eat at the hotel so i cant comment on that but otherwise very impressed for the money. If i had to improve one thing it would just to put a smile on the faces of the staff!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maddog1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.6 mi away
Rixwell Terrace Design Hotel
0.7 mi away
PK Riga Hotel
PK Riga Hotel
#25 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Monte Kristo
Hotel Monte Kristo
#44 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Europa Royale Riga
Europa Royale Riga
#36 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
1.2 mi away
St. Peter's Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
#20 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Teater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Teater

Property: City Hotel Teater
Address: Bruninieku iela 6, Riga 1010, Latvia (Formerly City Hotel Bruninieks)
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Riga
#20 Business Hotel in Riga
#29 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#34 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel Teater 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Hotel TEATER is one of the most enjoyable 4 star hotels in Riga. The hotel is located opposite to the Dailes Theatre in a vibrant cultural and business part of Riga centre. Old town is only in 15 minutes walking or 3 minutes driving distance. Nearby the Hotel one can find many landmarks such as Arena Riga, Skonto Exhibition Hall, Galleria Riga shopping center, Royal Casino, Olympic Sports Center, Gertrude's church etc. The hotel is in a beautiful Art-Nouveau style building which was built in 1905. The 24h front-desk and lobby-bar are located under a glass roof which connects both buildings of the hotel. The hot buffet breakfast is served in the restaurant on the 7th floor with magnificent view over the city. Hotel offers relaxation in Sauna with pool, Beauty Salon and Terrace on the roof top. Hotel has smoking area with stunning views over the city. Wi-Fi is available in all areas and is free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your City Hotel Teater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing