We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super hotel in disguise”
Review of Hotel Skanste

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Skanste
Ranked #102 of 112 Hotels in Riga
Reviewed 29 December 2011

If you like it cheap and simple this is your place to stay. No extra glamour, just pure simple standard accomodation. The double room has television with numerous local channels and our favorite channel CNN. The breakfast is totally fine if you do not expect a gourmet breakfast, it has all you need: coffee, tea, eggs, tomatoes, sausages and cheese +++ However, one remarable notice: ALL vegetables in Latvia like tomatoes, cucumber and similar has a very good standard! We LIKE. Another remarkable notice: LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION. If you are attending something FUN at Arena Riga, this hotel is just @ it. So go for it! Last we would like to mention that hotel Skanste has a very fresh "sleep temperature" and perfectly good sleeping "conditions." We've been here a couple of times and actually we sleep better here than at SAS Radisson blu.... Do not really know why, but it is true!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveladus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2011

I spent there 2 nights recently and was very happy with my stay.
Simple, clean, and welcome place. Friendly people working at the front desk.
Hotel is located just over 2 kms from Old City and Train/bus station but you can get close enough by taking tram No 11, or just have a nice walk.

Breakfast there is quiet good, the only thing I could complain about is acoustic building..You can hear people walking above you or taking shower next to your room....but is OK for 2 nights.
I think it is great value, specially for less than 20 USD bed + breakfast.
Dont think twice...make a reservation !!
cheers,.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DariusKN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

The hotel is a little bit outside the center, but still on a walking distance though. Staff was alright and English speaking. The breakfast was not anything special but good enough to start the day with. The hotel is especially great when you attend an event in the Arena Riga (like a concert for example): it is it just opposite of the street! In general an OK standard for a very OK price!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Solfaktor
1  Thank Smeagol81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Hotel is cheep, but value is OK. Don't expect all lights in the bathroom to work, to have air conditioning or at least ventilation system - but it is ok (maybe too noisy in the morning - you can hear everyone taking a shower).

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VaidasP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Though the hotel is located not in the very central part of Riga, it is easy reachable by public transport. If you visit Riga by car and want to find an inexpensive accommodation, the hotel is what you need.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dr17ee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nazty23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
3.7 mi away
Vilmaja
Vilmaja
#76 of 112 in Riga
41 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Jurnieks
Hotel Jurnieks
#92 of 112 in Riga
66 reviews
2.3 mi away
Conference Hotel Tomo
Conference Hotel Tomo
#101 of 112 in Riga
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Avitar Hotel
Avitar Hotel
#69 of 112 in Riga
115 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Liene
Hotel Liene
#94 of 112 in Riga
58 reviews
1.0 mi away
Viktorija Hotel
Viktorija Hotel
#41 of 112 in Riga
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Skanste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Skanste

Address: Skanstes iela 9, Riga 1013, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 112 Hotels in Riga
Price Range: £19 - £29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Skanste 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Skanste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing