We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be surprised if the rate increases on check in”
Review of Hotel Skanste

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Skanste
Ranked #100 of 109 Hotels in Riga
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't be surprised if the rate increases on check in”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I booked this hotel via Expedia. When I checked it, suddenly my booking was not valid, I had to take the "last room in the hotel" at a higher rate. It seems this isnt unusual. When I spoke to Expedia, they suggested this is a common occurence with this hotel, they tried to help but the hotel just saw a tourist and calculated how much they could increase the room rate.
The hotel is as poor a hotel as I ever stayed in, if you like cold rubber eggs, the breakfast is perfect, no food after 10:30 in the morning and only a local burger bar in walking distance.
There is nothing to do in the area, other than the Riga Arena across the road (which is why I was there).
If you are an avid collection of mould, dust and dead insects, this hotel is a dream, a virtual utopia.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th floor are best (it is a 3 floored hotel).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaya_Zarzecka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    33
    26
    13
    20
See reviews for
17
23
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This is a sub-basic hotel with poorly maintained rooms. The big led sign on top of the opposite building shines all night and takes away your sleep. I asked for a room change but they refused. Your voucher calls it a "buffet breakfast", but it is not: You need to cut a piece from a block of margarine :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Turgay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Riga hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Rooms look a bit tired. But bedding and towels still fresh and crisp. Rooms nice size, no cleaners faults found bud marks on the carpets and walls. Decent size. Reception staff very friendly. Good quality for price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
Thank A E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

There is nothing wrong with this hotel, but I wouldn't necessarily recommend it either.
The room was big, with a wardrobe, fridge etc. One of the twin beds was incredibly squeaky and I get the impression that a hoover was only used on the exposed bit of carpet as there was quite a lot of dust and stuff on the floor when we moved the beds. Breakfast was fine and staff were courteous but not overly friendly.
There is nothing wrong with this place and it does not fail to deliver on anything it advertises, but don't expect to be pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raisinmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
63 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Booked a single room, tv, cupboard, private bathroom. Room was comfortable and very clean as the bathroom that also has hot showers and provided shower gel , shampoo and soap. The location is just a 20 minute walk to the city centre walking down straight along K. Valdemāra street which is near, so it is not too far away from the city centre and prices are better to stay on a budget. You can also take bus n.3 to the city centre, but everything in Riga is in a walking distance. Breakfast included, buffet style with a selection of egg, different breads, cereals, toasts, cheese, ham, vegetables, tea, coffe, yogourt, etc served in a nice and spacious breakfast room. The whole place is very clean and quiet, perfect for any type of traveler, including families. Staff was nice and on the overall I liked very much my stay at this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LTA1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Clean, bright hotel with easy walking access to the city or via bus. Spacious rooms with reasonable bathrooms and a fridge. Breakfast is not too good as it consisted of salami, cheese slices & yogurt. Some sort of fruit juice was also available. Reasonable prices overall and I would recommend this hotel for a short trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnonymousUser0084845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
354 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 440 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Ok to choose this hotel if you just consider following:
1) hotel is located just opposite Riga Arena, and unless you have business there, there is absolutely nothing of interest. Small coffeehouse down the road- and a bit further away you will find Super Netto and small shops.
2) Walking into Riga Old Town takes approx. 25-30 mins- there are busses to the centre- get advise from receptionstaff.
3) Hotel is built of cheap materials, uncomfortable beds, stained carpets, simple decor and limited cleanliness. Sattelite tv consisted of 2 latvian and 1 russian channel- and short haul sounds from euronews. Hotel is NON-SMOKING.
4) advertised wifi not present in room- but able to connect by cable and works fine. Wifi is available in the lobby. Most staff speaks english.
5) Breakfast 7:30-10:00 incl. few hot items, fine for the standard of hotel

The hotel offers great rates and if you dont need luxury and central location, then I recommend this hotel. Riga is a lovely city to visit and if your time permits go on tours to Sigulda and Jurmala.

Room Tip: think all rooms are the same- good size. Unfortunately you will hear doors slamming all the time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aeronaut65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.4 mi away
Avitar Hotel
Avitar Hotel
#63 of 109 in Riga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Jurnieks
Hotel Jurnieks
#89 of 109 in Riga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
1.0 mi away
Viktorija Hotel
Viktorija Hotel
#40 of 109 in Riga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#43 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
3.7 mi away
Vilmaja
Vilmaja
#79 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
1.0 mi away
Funky Hostel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Skanste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Skanste

Property: Hotel Skanste
Address: Skanstes iela 9, Riga 1013, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Skanste 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Skanste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing