We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location with a very helpful staff.”
Review of Radi un Draugi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radi un Draugi
Ranked #7 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good location with a very helpful staff.”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

We stated for 3 nights and everyone was very helpful and friendly. There was an extensive breakfast buffer. The only negative was the noise from the clubs below on Saturday night. However, the hotel provides ear plugs, the windows are double-panes and you can turn the fan on the A/C up to high so it is really not a problem. The location is extremely convenient to the train and bus stations and all the sights in old town. You can walk to either very easily. An overall value.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Instanttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    265
    54
    10
    6
See reviews for
74
242
71
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisboa
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Wonderful location in an old building in the heart of the old town.In the check in,the reception girl was unfriendly and cold ,not very kind,but in the other days the reception boys are much more helpful.
Nice room with good bathroom.Confortable.Not very noisy.
Nice private parking in the hotel,but a litle bit expensive.
Breakfast room was very very small with only a couple of tables and the breakfast staff was not hepful or friendly.I think that a 4 star hotel needs a big and better breakfast room.
This hotel has all to be na excelente hotel,but has to change in litle things.I think the breakfast system with vouchers is ridiculous for a 4 star city hotel.We're not in a beach resort with all included.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mfilcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wien
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Long story short: if you expect from a hotel that you can sleep there then do not book a room in Radi un Draugi. It is surrounded by bars that are stay open until 6am and even though the hotel has new windows it is just too loud to sleep, even if windows are closed.

Aside of that, the hotel is majorly overpriced for what you get:

- people behind the reception were not friendly, motivated, caring or helpful in any way: we were not told that we need breakfast vouchers for breakfast when checking in, no one even tried to help us with the bags when we wanted to put them into the storage room and when I finally asked to call a cab for which we had a voucher, it also didn't work out the way I thought it would: Because it took much longer than the "5 minutes" we were told I called at the cab company and they said they had no booking so they sent another cab. In the meantime a cab of that company arrived and the cab-driver gave some money to the guy at the reception, which I found strange. When we were in the cab I got a call from the cab company saying that the cab was now at the hotel - my assumption: the guy at the reception called the driver privately to get a commission.

- the breakfast was poor in choice and partly quality, unfriendly staff and they were frying ham in the breakfast room - so if sitting there for too long all clothes soaked up that smell.

- interior design of the rooms was ok, but a lot of details lacking. For example: we only had a bathtub with a shower that you had to hold to rinse. Only problem was that it was almost impossible to do that without making the whole bathroom swim because there was nothing on the floor so that the water could run off.

Overall: not worth the money even if you could sleep an night - which you cannot - so no reason to book this hotel.

Room Tip: if you absolutely have to stay there ask for a room to the backyard (if they have such a thing)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank koberecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Probably one of the best hotels I've ever had a chance to stay. Location was just superb - right in the center of old Riga. Hotel staff was helpful with everything we requested from them and even more.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruxelles
Level 6 Contributor
369 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Wonderful hotel in the center of Riga, near the coach station also. The staff is very friendly and gives very good advices. The breakfast buffet is very good, the roome is clean and with a lot of place. Only one remark : during the week-end, there is a lot of noice in the street.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamm14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estonia
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Good location, in the old town.
Friendly stuff, especially Janis.
Quiet enough to have a deep sleep.
... and worth the price...
Good choice if you need to stay in center of Riga!

NB!
If you have a car make the reservation for parking earlier than only on arrival

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aivar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.2 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#2 of 109 in Riga
776 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#10 of 109 in Riga
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
0.1 mi away
Wellton Riga Hotel & SPA
0.2 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radi un Draugi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radi un Draugi

Property: Radi un Draugi
Address: Marstalu iela 1-3, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Riga
#7 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#10 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#18 Business Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radi un Draugi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star hotel in Riga „Radi un draugi” ("Family and friends") is situated in the heart of Riga – the Old Town - and close to many historic buildings, offering: - 72 well-appointed bedrooms, all of which are equipped with everything necessary to ensure your comfort and well-being; - 2 modern and fully equipped conference rooms, which can be used for a variety of events, including seminars, conferences and private parties; - the restaurant „Niklavs”,which is popular with Riga’s visitors as well as with those residents, who enjoy a good meal out. Your friendly hotel in Riga "Radi un draugi"! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Radi un Draugi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radi Un Draugi Riga
Radi Un Draugi Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing