We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Distinctive hotel in the old city of Riga”
Review of Radi un Draugi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radi un Draugi
Ranked #7 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Distinctive hotel in the old city of Riga”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

It's a nice hotel indeed. The building of 19 century at old narrow street surrounded by many street restaurants. It's good location for reaching all the main sights by foot. Nice breakfast. We lived in studio, spacious room with hallway and badroom in white romantic style. But it has one big minus - there is a rock cafe directly in front of the windows, so you can hear everything what happened there till 6 a.m.! Thus if this fact doesn't scare, you may chose this hotel for your enjoying of Riga.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nostawen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    265
    54
    10
    6
See reviews for
74
242
71
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampere, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in July 2014.

The best and in the same time the worst thing about this hotel is the location right in the middle of Old town Riga. It's great, because you can walk everywhere, there are huge number of restaurants and cafe's right outside the hotel, the surrounding area is really pretty and interesting. But the problems start in the evening: The location is also very noisy. There are bars just on the opposite side of the hotel, and the noise is really loud pretty much all night. We are not light sleepers so we weren't that bothered about the music and yelling coming from the street bars, but I know not everyone would sleep that well. They do provide ear plugs in the room, though.

The room itself was nothing special. Room size was just ok, the carpet was quite dirty, the bathroom was nice and rather roomy.

The breakfast was quite varied and actually pretty good quality, except for the juices.

Hotel staff at the reception & restaurant were super nice and helpful! :)

This is a great hotel, if you're looking for a nice, basic, decent hotel in a heart of the Old town.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eiqqu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The hotel is very near to all the sites of Riga and can be easily located as it is marked on all the tourist maps. The bedroom was large, air conditioned and well furnished with a good (tartan tiled!) bathroom and an excellent shower. The street side is noisy but the soundproofing is effective if you do not mind the windows remaining closed. Everywhere was spotlessly clean. The staff on reception and in the restaurant were friendly, very helpful and happy to arrange tours, taxis etc. Breakfast was good with various local foods on offer as well as the more traditional. The restaurant is shut on Sunday evenings but there are numerous places to try nearby. An excellent place to stay and within walking distance of most tourist places.


  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

At £34 per night with breakfast this hotel meets all the requirements for any trip. Whilst not 5 star, it was comfortable, plush carpeted, and the location couldn't be bettered. Some complain about the noise from bars in street, which was true, however, closing the 2 sets of windows did the trick. The air con was sufficient to keep us comfy all night in peace. The breakfast was ample with a small selection of meats, cheeses, toast, 3 min or 8 min boiled eggs and juices and cereals. The majority of staff were polite and helpful. 2 lifts available.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to book a room overlooking the street bars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkfella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stayed here for two legs of our journey- first time there were three of us booked in a double room. I had called ahead to request a room with a fold out couch for me to crash on, which was an extra fee for an additional person, but the room was very large and they had kindly made the sofa bed up and set everything up for me.
The second time around I had my own single room- small but pretty standard as hotels go.
All around very clean rooms, helpful staff, and an absolutely fantastic breakfast that came included with the booking. I'm not the type of person to usually eat in the hotel (would rather go out and eat the local food) but the offerings were so delicious we all looked forward to it every morning!
Great location, could not be more centrally located for the Old Town area. One downside is the noise- not the hotel's fault, but there are some very noisy bars in the area, and they stay open all night on the weekends. If noise is an issue, just request a room in the back away from the street- which we did after the first leg of our trip, and they kindly fulfilled our request and set us up with rooms in the back which were nice and quiet.
I definitely recommend this hotel-

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lch253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is centrally located in old town. So it's very convenient.
Good:
Good Location
Good Breakfast
Free welcome drink
Great staff (I think her name is Aijia who is very helpful and friendly! And the young gentleman as well.)
Close to lots of restaurants, bars and clubs
Good price

Bad:
Too close to the bars. On weekends, rooms can be noisy. That's why they provide guests with ear plugs. (Suggestion: double panes windows would help.)
Some rooms (7th floor) have "paper" curtain. That means at 6am, it's very bright already.
Bed is not that comfy

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank resakille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The location of this hotel is perfect - less than a 5 minute walk to the bus stop for the airport bus, in the heart of the Old Town and in a pretty cobbled quiet street. After reading a few negative reviews, I was pleasantly surprised to find I had no faults with my stay here. My room was newly redecorated, was very clean and had extra useful items such as shoe cleaning kit! Safes are free to use, just ask for the key at Reception.The only noise I had was from the inconsiderate fellow guests in the room next door. The staff were all friendly, with the majority speaking good English. Upon arrival I received a voucher for a free sparkling wine / orange drink in the bar, which was most welcoming in the heat. A weather report is displayed daily. Breakfast was basic, but adequate.

Room Tip: Room 58 - newly redecorated, double bed, spacious, quiet as on top floor at end of corridor. No vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annabel44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.2 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#1 of 109 in Riga
776 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#9 of 109 in Riga
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
0.1 mi away
Wellton Riga Hotel & SPA
0.2 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radi un Draugi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radi un Draugi

Property: Radi un Draugi
Address: Marstalu iela 1-3, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Riga
#7 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#10 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#18 Business Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radi un Draugi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star hotel in Riga „Radi un draugi” ("Family and friends") is situated in the heart of Riga – the Old Town - and close to many historic buildings, offering: - 72 well-appointed bedrooms, all of which are equipped with everything necessary to ensure your comfort and well-being; - 2 modern and fully equipped conference rooms, which can be used for a variety of events, including seminars, conferences and private parties; - the restaurant „Niklavs”,which is popular with Riga’s visitors as well as with those residents, who enjoy a good meal out. Your friendly hotel in Riga "Radi un draugi"! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Radi un Draugi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radi Un Draugi Riga
Radi Un Draugi Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing