We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Nearby Hotels
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$238
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bellevue Park Hotel Riga(Riga)(Great Value!)
US$74
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rixwell Elefant Hotel(Riga)(Great Value!)
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$229
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel(Riga)(Great Value!)
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (814)
Filter reviews
814 results
Traveller rating
388
298
88
28
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
388
298
88
28
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevening buffetold townfree dinnertea and coffeegreat hotelhalf boardbeautiful art nouveauupgraded to a suitelounge areabeautiful citycozy hotelporridgebuffet stylebusiness tripcity centrevisit rigareceptionist
Filter
Updating list...
380 - 385 of 814 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2011

The hotel is marked as a 3 star hotel, but you get more (something like 3 and a half). We had a suite and it was spacious. There was a flat screen TV in the room, but it did not have many English speaking channels (only CNN, Euronews, and some animal channel). The equipment in the room is not of the highest quality. We missed fridge. Some other guests asked for a fridge and they got it for no extra charge. Our room had a balcony which we used. View from top floors is nice.
The hotel has a gym, Turkish sauna, and jacuzzi. Gym is open whole day, but sauna and jacuzzi are only from 5PM till 10PM. We used them a lot and we were always alone there. The gym also has a TV you can watch when you exercise.
We read some comments where people say it is a noisy hotel, but we did not hear anyone. Guests are mostly older people, adults, and small families.
Sometimes large groups of Swedish or German (mostly elderly) turists come. When they all come to get breakfast or dinner, the eating hall sometimes gets crowdy.
Staff is extremely helpful and friendly. When we requested something, they reacted quickly.
There is free internet connection all over hotel and the quality of connection is very good. It worked the whole 10 days of our stay with no problems at all.
Breakfast is very good. There is a lot of choice. However, there is only one kind of milk. There is no low fat milk or low fat yougurt. The dinner buffet is very good, excellent salads, main dish was always very good. The only thing I did not like that much were the deserts. If you stay here 10 days, you will get a pink desert at least 8 times, sometimes even two or three days in a row there will be same desert. In the bar you also get desert for free in the afternoon. You can also take coffee or tea for free 24/7.
The bar is not expensive. There is a laptop computer in the lobby. The hotel does laundry and it is not expensive as in many other hotels. Pets are allowed for free but you do not see them around.
Cleaning of the room is very fast, basic and not thorough. We tipped the cleaning lady cause we thought this way she would clean more but she did not.
One thing that could be done differently: there are two entrances to the hotel and both of them have stairs so you have to carry the heavy luggage up the stairs. There should be a ramp for that. For disabled guests, however, there is a special elevator.
Location of the hotel is very good. To the old town there is a five minute walk through a nice park. There are small grocery stores and kiosks around the block and a large grocery store is in a shopping center 5 minutes walk down the street. There is also a Chinese restaurant next door. Down the street there are sushi places and many other restaurants.
When we will be in Riga again, we will probably book this hotel again.

Room Tip: Some people complain that there is too much noise from the traffic if you take a room facing the street. It did not bother us.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelF0rW0rkAndFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZaneBusa, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2011

Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your comments!

I am truly happy that you enjoyed your stay and it was a pleasure to welcome you at our hotel.

Just a small note from my side - we have more English language channels than you listed in your review, maybe you just missed them?

Warm greetings from everyone at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars!

Zane Grike
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I stayed here for 4 days and really enjoyed it. The location is about a ten minute walk from the old town. Rooms are a good size, clean and comfortable. There is a lift. Best of all were the extras. Free buffet breakfast and dinner. Also free coffee / tea all day at the bar (and free pasteries in the afternoon). I have never seen that before. There is a jacuzzi but it is not very good - few bubbles. But apart from that I would return and stay here, no doubt about it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alekito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZaneBusa, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2011

Dear Guest,

we truly appreciate your compliments and it makes us happy that another happy Guest is recomending our hotel!

Jaccuzzi is now fixed and bubbles working on full speed, so please - do not hesitate to return! :)

With best regards,
Zane Grike (ex. Busa) and everyone at
Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Great hotel, location about 10mins walk into the town itself but a beautiful walk. Rooms were huge and nicely decorated bathroom also huge. Breakfast great from fruit, yogurts, continental to hot food was all good. The extra's were free tea and coffee at anytime of the day plus free fruit and cake in the afternoon. Buffet style dinner at night which was included in the price was also good value. The menu for the evening meal was displayed at the bar everyday.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgieB56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZaneBusa, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2011

Dear Guest,

thank you for posting this review! :)

With greetings from Riga,
Zane Busa
General manager
Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

This place is quite something. It's a hotel, but the lobby feels like a hostel. The rooms are good in size, but there is practically nothing in them and it is very noisy: you can hear people breathe next door.

The breakfast is okay: when I stayed there were a lot of Swedes and the food is very Swedish oriented, so everybody was very happy. There is 24/7 coffee and tea with something to nibble in the lobby, but the bar closes early, which is all right given the fact that the city centre is very close.

The hotel is very clean, the bathrooms okay and well maintained. There is a courtyard, but hardly any sunshine due to the high buildings. Oh, and you can smoke in the courtyard. If you like. Oh, and make them call an AirBaltic taxi, much cheaper.

Good choice, not the best, but good, save choice.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toekook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZaneBusa, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2011

Dear Guest,

thank you for your comments and feeback regarding your stay with us! :)

With best regards,
Zane Busa
General Manager
Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

I stayed here in May for several nights and this hotel has some good and bad points. I'll let you decide if this location is for you. The hotel itself is quite impressive from the outside. It is in an old military building located between the old town and the art noveau area. The good is that it was clean, modern, the free breakfast and dinner, etc. The bad was that this hotel seems to cater to tour groups, so on several occasions there was a huge rush to get to the dinner buffet and breakfast buffet. It was very stressful. Also, the hotel could not locate my reservation when i arrived, even though I booked online through their website. Luckily, i had my reservation printed out. Also, the internet connection would not work for some reason. I went to the front desk to ask, and they could not help. It worked great before in Lithuania and again afterwards in Estonia. Perhaps Latvia has a different connection? The worst part about the stay for me was that the room was so, so noisy. It felt like the entire Latvian army was stomping around above me. The rooms have only a small carpet, and because they are so tall, all noises seem to echo. I heard everyone up and down the staircase and in the hall. Honestly, it was like a college dorm room, it was so noisy. I wasnt even on the street side. If they can get more carpet for the rooms and control the tour groups at the buffet, this would be a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tallcodude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews