We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further for the best price/value ratio!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Ranked #26 of 109 Hotels in Riga
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Look no further for the best price/value ratio!”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

I might be a bit prejudice as I originally come from Riga and this is the 1st hotel I stayed in here, but - its certainly the best option when it comes to good value for your money. I stayed at Valdemars in July with my girlfriend and we really enjoyed our time there.
As mentioned before - location is definitely a plus. Not only its just a short walk to Old Riga, also the Art Nouveau Albert street is just 5 mins away, with good public transport connections too. Parking might be a minor issue, especially during the weekdays as there is no designated parking for the guests, just usual on-street Pay and Display parking lots. Both interior and exterior of the hotel is quite good. The lounge and reception area as well as the small inner yard definitely creates a nice and cosy atmosphere. Selection of food both for breakfast and dinner was quite good, can't really say much about the dinner as only had it once and even though its not the restaurant quality - still very much decent, breakfast on a contrary was exceptional every time. Tea and coffee and fruit option throughout the day is definitely a winner! Was slightly disappointed with the beer and juices selection - think there should be more varieties on offer in the bar. Room itself was clean and tidy, the only problem - wi-fi connection was intermittent...but thats due to the 6th floor.
To sum it up - very nice hotel, certainly a place to recommend, compliments to the staff as well!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtcom5t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZaneGrike, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for posting such a nicee review!
Actually we have a parking lot for our guests and it is just 2 min walking distance from the hotel, so somehow this information haven't reached you.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and looking forward to welcome some other time again!

With sunny greetings from Riga
Zane Grike
GM at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    253
    69
    26
    10
See reviews for
90
233
52
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Porvoo, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2012

This was our first stay at Hotel Valdemars, but definately not the last one :D Really cosy Hotel, possibly due to a fact that it's family owned and I think family members also work there. A short walk to old town wasn't a problem at all. Our suite was really clean and tidy, as well as the lounge and other areas in the Hotel. Fresh flowers also in the rooms. The staff were really helpful and nice. The dinner buffet was very good; everything there was fresh and tasty. The same goes with breakfast. Refreshments, coffee and fresh fruits, served for Hotel customers in the lounge all day. We travelled to Riga for the first time with my husband. Hotel and whole town was a big & happy surprise and we plan to re-visit next summer with our children.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eeva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZaneGrike, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear Guest,

we thank you for posting such a nice review and hope to welcome you some time soon again!

Greetings from everyone at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars!

Best Regards
Zane Grike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eskilstuna, Sweden
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

I and my wife have been at this nice and price worthy hotel before. This time we stayed at the hotel for 4 nights in our favourite room. The "Tower Room", while participating in the bi-annual meeting of the Honorary Consuls for Latvia (to some 60 countries)..We do as well apreciate the location of the hotel as it is in the very heart of Riga and has a very good and well composed breakfast as well as a very nice dinner buffet---included in the price. The food is to a large percentage organic and is very´well prepared and tasty. Nice staff.
The choice of hotel was our very private choice and not any of the hotels nicely suggested by the Latvian Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Staffan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear Guest,

we are truly happy that you had another pleasant stay at our hotel!
Thank you for posting such a nice review!

Greetings from
Zane Grike and everyone at
Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Just returned today from a one week stay at the Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars Riga. I researched it on Trip Advisor before booking and can only say that my friend and I had a lovely stay there and I would recommend it to anyone.

The staff, without exception, were all helpful and very good at English. The restaurant was buffet style, there was plenty of choice. We had an evening meal, again with a hot choice of dinner and salads. You could have free tea or coffee throughout the day and between 3p.m. and 5p.m. they invite guests to help themselves to refreshments (usually fruit and waffles - handy if you happen to be nearby to the hotel at that time!). The staff were clearing tables and replenishing the food the whole time.

The rooms were very clean and comfortable. I liked the soap dispenser and the all over body/hair wash in the shower, less mess than bars of soap!

I loved Riga, it is beautiful and the people are lovely too. I would return again and book the same hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you so much for posting this review!
We hope to welcome you some time again! See you soon!

With best regards,
Zane Grike
GM at Clarion Collction Hotel Valdemars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Good hotel, not far from Old Riga (15 minutes walk through a lovely park). Really a pity that the City Council does nothing to get rid of an ugly building next to the hotel that features an asbestos cover. Lovely and helpful staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njhugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZaneGrike, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for posting a nice review! Now when weather is so nice in Riga, a short walk through the park is just another advantage while staying at our hotel. We hope to see you some other time again.

With best regards,
Zane Grike
GM at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drammen, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We was here a weekend in may. A group of collegues who went to Riga to see the city and have a good time. The staff that welcome us was very nice and the check in went fast and pleasent. We arrived very late so it was good to just get our room and go to bed. The rooms was nice in a historical building. A photo exhibition around a glass stair case :D. Both breakfast and evningmeal was very good. And it was nice to sit in the back yard. A home away from home. With the service as a hotel. :) It was short walk to the old city and the staff helped us make dinner reservation and spa appointment. Amazing hotel in a amazing city. The only thing I could make a negative comment about is a very slowly drain in the shower. But after we told the front desk staff about this they sendt a cleaning lady up and she made it a lot better.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sakine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZaneGrike, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for posting such a nice review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and Riga! We hope to welcome you some other time again!

With best regards,
Zane Grike
GM at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
115 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

A fine and caring hotel near the city centre: what else can you wish. A nice, though sparsely decorated, room and a fine breakfast. And: even the evening meal is included.
No negatives at all? Well, in the breakfast room cleaning up used tables has no priority and there is that strange electricity cable running across the floor to the buffet. Not only dirty sticky tape attached to it, but it is also dangerous. Why not provide electricity for the buffet straight from the ceiling where there is already electricity? And the warm water in the room: an awful long wait sometimes. This spilling of water does certainly not fit in their eco-program. Internet connections were not reliable. The provided cable did not fit. Complaining brought no solution. The problem was seen, but not solved. For the rest: all good and friendly.

Room Tip: City view (front side)is a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rudolf_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZaneGrike, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving a comment, we appreciate your compliments and also your suggestions, that would make us even beter!

Zane Grike
GM at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.6 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Monika Centrum Hotel
Monika Centrum Hotel
#11 of 109 in Riga
496 reviews
0.7 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
2.4 mi away
Hotel Janne
Hotel Janne
#27 of 109 in Riga
135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#22 of 109 in Riga
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Address: Kri jana Valdemara iela 23, Riga 1010, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Riga
#14 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#17 Business Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars 3.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hotel Valdemar you live in comfort and style in the heart of Riga's history and culture. The over 100 year old house is an example of Riga's unique Art Nouveau architecture and total renovated in 2006.Hotel Valdemar is located in central Riga, only a few minutes walk from Old Town. On the tranquil courtyard, you can during the summer months enjoy a cup of coffee in the sun, while the one million city of Riga pulsates just outside.We want to take good care of our guest we therfore offer all our guest complimentary breakfast, afternoon tea and evening meal between 18:00 and 21:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Nordic Choice Hotels, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Riga
Clarion Collection Valdemars

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing