We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Ranked #24 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very friendly hotel”
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Stayed at the hotel for a day.
Chose the hotel because in addition to breakfast and dinner are served complimentary tea coffee fruit during the day.
The hotel room is easy. The bathroom has a hairdryer and shower gel.
The hotel itself is a very nice interior. Very friendly and welcoming staff.
Loved the food at the hotel. Good breakfast with a good selection of dishes. About five hours there are pastries. Dinner is also very tasty.
The whole day is free tea, coffee and fruit.
I settled in the early morning, before the standard for the hotel check in.
The hotel is located conveniently. Next quarter Nouveau houses. Go to the Museum of Art Nouveau.
The Old Town is fifteen minutes walk through the park.
I think I'll be back on occasion in this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vesnyshka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZaneGrike, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for writing this review!
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay!

See you sometime soon!

With best regards,
Zane Grike
GM at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    262
    70
    27
    10
See reviews for
93
241
53
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vayrac, France
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

This was my fourth trip to Riga but my first stay at the Valdemars. It's a beautiful, renovated hotel with many excellent extras. There is a free and delicious buffet for guests each evening. Fruit, tea and coffee are available all day and are also free. There are plenty of places to sit and read if you don't wish to do so in your room. There is plenty on offer at breakfast.

The only negative for me was largely of my own making. I was woken up at 1.00 am by a number of men talking very loudly in the corridor outside my room. This went on for about 20 minutes. I was woken up again at 6.00 am by more loud voices, speaking Russian, and much laughter from the next door room. The noise got worse over the next 20 minutes until I could bear it no longer and went to ask them to shut up. Their door was open and one very drunk young man came up close, asking me what I wanted. I pushed him away and he punched me on the side of my head hard enough to send me to the floor and break my glasses. I have been in some pain ever since. I called Reception and a man came very quickly. He told me, quite rightly, that I should have called him first and not tried to deal with the situation myself. So, I suppose this is a warning to any future guests not to be stupid like me; get the hotel staff to deal with violent drunks. I am in Riga again in January. This incident won't put me off staying in the Valdemars again, though I trust I won't have to put up with drunken Russians again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molepolole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZaneGrike, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Dear Guest,

glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!

I heard about the incident that happened with you, unfortunately, as you say - this time you should have just approached the reception and we would handle the situation ourselves.
If you saw the Security man that was working that evening, you would know for sure that it would be enough with only a warning from him to the loud company sitting outside.

Hope that you are feeling much better now and we are looking forward to welcome you back soon!

With best regards,
Zane Grike
GM at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Crest
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

The Hotel Valdemars is a beautiful, family-owned hotel located near Riga’s Old Town. Its staff members are extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the sites to see in both Riga as well as nearby cities such as Jurmala and Sigulda. The hotel has six floors and two elevators so getting to/from guest rooms was very easy.

Our room was good-sized and opened over an interior courtyard. Despite being in a business district, we were never bothered by any noise. The bathroom had an enclosed shower and had been modernized. There were lots of TV stations available in many different languages. Also, free wi-fi was available throughout the hotel.

Room rates were incredibly reasonable (we booked directly with the hotel) and included a great breakfast buffet, self-service tea & coffee all day long (including take-away coffee), an afternoon snack available from 3:00P-5:00P and a complete dinner buffet. The breakfast buffet included hot items (i.e., scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, sausages, real porridge) and cold items (i.e., meats & cheeses, fresh fruits, tomatoes, cucumbers, yogurt) and great breads - Latvian rye, hard rolls and sweet rolls. We were at the hotel one rainy afternoon and the snack was a “make it yourself” waffle; waffle batter and a machine were by the coffee in the restaurant area. Toppings for the waffle were either a local honey or strawberry compote. We tried a bit of each and they were both delicious. It was a wonderful break on a rainy afternoon.

The dinner buffet was a surprise to us because we weren’t sure it was included with all room rates until our arrival. Dinner was served from 6:00PM – 9:00PM. Each night there was a variety of salads, a soup, a main course and vegetables and also breads. Dessert was available by the coffee/teas. During our five night stay, there was a different meal each evening. The chef does an excellent job. Directly outside the restaurant area is a bar with very reasonably priced beer and wines which you can enjoy before dinner and/or with dinner (or afterwards). Otherwise, there is bottled water by the glass from a dispenser. Again, coffee and tea are included. This meal is a HUGE plus in terms of value and the ability to stay in the hotel and enjoy its ambiance.

To reach the Old Town, you have to walk a couple of blocks down Valdemara Street (Valdemara Iela) OR you can cut through the Esplanade Park at the corner of Valdemara and Elizabetes. Either way, you can’t miss the beautiful buildings once you cross over the Riga Canal. From the hotel, we also walked to the Central Train Station and Central Bus Station. The walk took about 20-30 minutes. The hotel staff gave us information about how to use the train to reach the Baltic seaside (Jurmala). We saved a great deal of money by going there directly without using an agency-sold tour. The same was true for visiting Sigulda. There we used a bus schedule we obtained from the Tourist Office in Old Town and, upon arrival in Sigulda, we used its Tourist Office to book a tour with an English-speaking guide who took us to the various sites via a golf cart (it’s necessary to reach Turiada Castle – some 4km away).

Finally, if you enjoy shopping, there is a mall that’s only a few blocks away from Hotel Valdemars (reception can show you on a map). It has lots of stores and also a Rimi grocery store in the event you want to purchase any food or liquor at good prices.

We thoroughly enjoyed Hotel Valdemars and highly recommend it. We will definitely return to Hotel Valdemars when we’re next in Riga.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ExcellentAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZaneGrike, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Dear Guest!

so many good tips you are giving to other Guests! God job and thank you for that!
It was a pleasure welcoming you and we hope to see you some other time!

With greetings from everyone at Valdemars
Zane Grike
GM at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I stayed 3 nights and was more and more delighted by the hotel. Very nice and cosy lobby with "family atmosphere", for example pictures of the employes in their childhood. Rooms are cosy too. My single room hat a quite small bed and a quite simple bathroom, but that doesn't matter.
The Art Nouveau-building is beautiful and the staff is extremely friendly. The most astonishing thing was that you can get fresh fruits, water, tea and coffee whenever you want. Also afternoon snacks and a free dinner buffet in the evening is provided for the guests. You really feel "pampered" in this hotel. It's almost like being together with friends or a guest in the house of friends. The value-for-money-aspect is excellent! Claudia from Germany

Room Tip: Aks for a room with window to the backyard which will be more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 60Claudia60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZaneGrike, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Hello!

"Feeling among friends" is exactly what we are expecting from our Guests! Glad that you felt that too! It was nice to welcome you and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Hope to see you soon!

With best regards,
Zane Grike
GM at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Have just returned from Riga after a fantastic stay at the hotel. The hotel is well situated for the old town and the actual hotel is very impressive. It has recently been renovated with the bedrooms being modern and extremely clean. The hotel provides a good choice at breakfast and a great buffet evening meal. There is free use of the internet and 24 hours free coffee and tea. The staff are very friendly and helpful.Just around the corner is the art deco district and just up the road is the Radisson hotel which has a great panoramic view of Riga from its 26th floor- the kyline bar, well worth the 2 Lats each entrance.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 304Brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZaneGrike, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Dear Guest,

we are happy that you enjoyed your stay at hotel Valdemars! Thank you for very nice review.
Hope to see you some other time soon!

With greetings from Riga,
Zane Grike and everyone at
Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEICESTER
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed for 3 nights on the 2nd floor overlooking the courtyard. Although there was some noise from people outside in the patio area it became quiet at a reasonable time.
The building is c.1900 and originally an apartment block - very impressive. It has been renovted to an excellent standard and offers excellent service with small but interesting extras. Books and table games are available as are free tea/coffee/juice at any time. This can be taken in the lounge area or a pleasant patio. Breakfast is a comprehensive buffet style and a similar evening meal - we were impressed that our visitor could eat with us for EUR7.00. We were surprised though that there was no proper vegetarian evening meal - although the salad selection was comprehensive.
Hotel is situated close to Old Town and in particular the Art Deco district.
This hotel aims to feed the body and mind..it did for us.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMICHAEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZaneGrike, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting this review!
Really nice compliments!

We are glad that you enojoyed your stay and loooking forward to welcome you back soon!

With best regards
Zane Grike
GM at Clarion collection Hotel Valdemars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

The hotel is in a beautiful building that looks like a castle, and in a good location; an easy walk from the inter-city bus drop-off, and the Old Town. The breakfast buffet, afternoon teas, and dinners were all very good, and money-saving, as Latvian currency is highly valued.

However, the front desk clerk (same person day and night for the two nights we spent there), wasn't very helpful and we had trouble communicating. We nearly missed our Air Baltic bus to the airport because of her, which was most stressful. And, although our room and bathroom were very large (we were in a wheelchair-capable room), the beds were very narrow, and the room was very hot. Even with the window wide-open, on a cool night, the room receives no breeze, and we woke up in the night sweating. The only thing we could do to cool the room was to leave the door wide open to get the breeze from hall, but of course we couldn't leave it open all night!

Room Tip: Don't pick the wheelchair-capable rooms - they are hotter and stuffier, and it's close to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CurrerE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZaneGrike, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for posting your review! We are glad that you liked the exterior and interior of our hotel!

I will inform our reception girl that she should be more careful with giving more detailed information to our Guests, but I am sure that her intentions were nothing but positive.

With best regards,
Zane Grike
GM at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#22 of 109 in Riga
910 reviews
0.4 mi away
Monika Centrum Hotel
Monika Centrum Hotel
#14 of 109 in Riga
546 reviews
0.6 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.4 mi away
PK Riga Hotel
PK Riga Hotel
#21 of 109 in Riga
652 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Edvards
Hotel Edvards
#50 of 109 in Riga
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Address: Kri jana Valdemara iela 23, Riga 1010, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Riga
#14 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#17 Business Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars 3.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hotel Valdemar you live in comfort and style in the heart of Riga's history and culture. The over 100 year old house is an example of Riga's unique Art Nouveau architecture and total renovated in 2006.Hotel Valdemar is located in central Riga, only a few minutes walk from Old Town. On the tranquil courtyard, you can during the summer months enjoy a cup of coffee in the sun, while the one million city of Riga pulsates just outside.We want to take good care of our guest we therfore offer all our guest complimentary breakfast, afternoon tea and evening meal between 18:00 and 21:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Riga
Clarion Collection Valdemars

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing