We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing value hotel in a beautiful city” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Ranked #33 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Amazing value hotel in a beautiful city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

Having arrived at Riga Airport, we were advised by the Hotel Valdemars in advance that we should get a light green or red taxi to the hotel. It was only about ten minutes drive and cost around 9 lats.

The hotel has a beautiful art nouveau exterior, like so many of the buildings in Riga. The receptionist at the hotel greeted us very warmly indeed, and she was very informative and gave us some excellent pamphlets and maps. A confusion about what sort of room we had requested was very quickly and amicably resolved, moving us from a twin to a double room. The receptionist took me on a tour of several rooms for me to decide which one we would prefer, and waived the increased cost of being in a double (which should have been €10 per night).

We had paid for what we thought was half board, but the food was so bountiful that we never needed lunch. The breakfast was the usual extensive buffet (served between 7am and 10am) and in the afternoon (between 3pm and 5pm) there were self-service waffles. Tea and coffee were available throughout the day, including lots of decaffeinated options.

Dinner was a buffet once more, with mains such as fish fillets or mild chicken curry. I suggest arriving early to avoid the disappointment of missing out on the first choice desserts and a greater selection from the cheeseboard. The food was good, although not always piping hot.

Our double room was fine, overlooking the inner courtyard of the hotel. Suites have a separate seating area and are available for an extra €20 per night. They also contain a welcome basket (with items to be paid for!) and a teddy bear (also to be purchased). The rooms were reasonably clean and functionally decorated rather than ostentatious, with very high ceilings and large windows. The shower was incredibly powerful. A pretty strong wifi signal was found throughout the hotel, with reasonable download speeds.

Down sides were the threadbare scratchy towels and the noisy corridors, where you could here people stomping around at all hours. Heavy rain on the lead window sills was also impossibly loud in the middle of the night.

The hotel was about only about 15 minutes walk across the Esplande from the Old Town and was a very good base for exploring Riga, not least because of the excellent value. I would recommend it as a solid three star hotel.

Room Tip: One the sixth floor is an amazing suite with its sitting room in a turret.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZaneGrike, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Dear Guest,

I thank you for posting such a nice and detailed review!
We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay at Valdemars!

Looking forward to seeing you soon,
Zane Grike
GM at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    241
    67
    25
    10
See reviews for
83
222
49
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wehl
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

I stayed at the Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars about a week ago now. I was immediately welcomed very warmly. I had a room on the sixth floor, where I was welcomed by the cute teddy bear Valdo, who keeps lonely travellers company. As I arrived in the evening, I immediately could go for the evening buffet (included in the price). There is a large choice of salads, bread and also soup and a main dish. One could not leave the hotel famished in any way.There is also fruit, coffee and tea throughout the day free of charge and the bar has affordable prices too. The morning breakfast was very adequate with a good selection to choose from. In every detail you can see the personal touch given by the staff. The room was quite spacious with a little sitting room down a few steps, where I could sit and enjoy the view. The curtains were a bit outdated (all pull down), but it was not a huge problem. When the bathroom light was broken, it was immediately fixed when I reported it at the reception. The staff were very helpful. Although they did not have stamps for my postcards, I was immediately directed to a place where I could get some.

The hotel is situated within walking distance of the main sights in the city center. I was given several info booklets at the reception, with lots of information, so I had no trouble navigating the city. All in all I can certainly recommend the hotel to others, it is a gem waiting to be discovered in the beautiful city of Riga.

My only regret was that I could not fit Valdo into my suitcase to take him home (you can buy the bear for a small fee).

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed76Wehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZaneGrike, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for posting such a nice review! We all are very happy that fully enjoyed all services that we offer to our guests. And don't worry - Valdo is waiting for your next visit!

With best regards,
Zane Grike
GM at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

I strongly recommend this hotel - Central location, beautiful building carefully restored. Clean, nice rooms. Friendly service, very pleasant atmosphere. Excellent value. I will definately stay here again next time in Riga!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Asamoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZaneGrike, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for lovely review and recommending our hotel, we are looking forward to welcome you some time again!

With greetings from Riga,
Zane Grike
GM at clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

Cosy family hotel with great value for money. Breakfast buffet super and nice free afternoon buffet. Good location. A private hotel with a professional performance! We stayed in a large room but saw that there are many sizes. If any complaint it should be that it took time for the shower to heat up.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZaneGrike, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Dear Eije,

thank you for your review, it was a pleasure to welcome you!

With warm greetings,
Zane Grike
GM at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
125 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

Me and a friend rented a suite for a week, must admit though that the only thing making it a suite was the fact that it was two rooms and a sofa. The free internet was of terrible quality so when I needed to use my wifii on the phone I had to stay downstairs or in the bathroom! During our stay the staff only changed the bed the night before we left.

There were two major dissapointments as we ended up getting sick and staying more inside the hotel than planned... one was there were no fridge or freezer and the drinks and refreshments in the room were in a tiny little basked which they did not fill up if you used any of it. And then there were only one desk with a tiny tiny tiny little TV. So there were no possibility for one of us to be on a laptop (on the desk for working) while the other one watching TV... as there were only one little desk and one chair in the "suite".

Then there was the food. Benefit: Free fruit. Downsides: coffee is powder coffee, juice is watered out, the "soft boiled eggs" were with green lining in the yolk 5 days in a row!

To be totally honest if it wasn't for the place looking "kinda pretty" I must admit the standard was more towards a motel in the US. This was not our first stay in Riga, next time for sure we will not end up staying here!

Room Tip: I don't even want to know how their regular rooms are like, as we did get a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZaneGrike, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
Dear Liz,

sorry to hear that you left our hotel dissapointed! As for 3* hotel , we have daily cleaning in rooms and change of bed linnen only every second day, but we would do that only if you would approach us with a request, the same with WI-FI - we would immediately check what is not working properly, if only you would inform us about this.

With appreciation and best regards,
Zane Grike
GM at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

This is my first stay at this hotel but it won't be my last.
Just returned home after spending 5 nights in Riga at this superb hotel.

Been visiting Riga since 2005 but always stayed in the old town before.
This hotel is suitable for everyone,business, couples,family, alone, no matter what group you are in a warm welcome awaits you at the Hotel Valdemars
Firstly the reception staff are extremely helpful and knowledgeable nothing too much trouble wether it be restaurants sightseeing or taxi's .
The breakfast and evening meals are superb, great value for your money.
All in all a very friendly hotel for everyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robinhood33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZaneGrike, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Dear Guest,

nice to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us!
Looking forward to welcome you some other time again!

Greetings from Zane Grike and everyone at
Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

Stayed at the hotel for a day.
Chose the hotel because in addition to breakfast and dinner are served complimentary tea coffee fruit during the day.
The hotel room is easy. The bathroom has a hairdryer and shower gel.
The hotel itself is a very nice interior. Very friendly and welcoming staff.
Loved the food at the hotel. Good breakfast with a good selection of dishes. About five hours there are pastries. Dinner is also very tasty.
The whole day is free tea, coffee and fruit.
I settled in the early morning, before the standard for the hotel check in.
The hotel is located conveniently. Next quarter Nouveau houses. Go to the Museum of Art Nouveau.
The Old Town is fifteen minutes walk through the park.
I think I'll be back on occasion in this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vesnyshka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZaneGrike, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for writing this review!
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay!

See you sometime soon!

With best regards,
Zane Grike
GM at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.6 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
2.4 mi away
Hotel Janne
Hotel Janne
#34 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Monika Centrum Hotel
Monika Centrum Hotel
#18 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.7 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Address: Krishjana Valdemara iela 23, Riga 1010, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Riga
#14 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#17 Business Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars 3.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hotel Valdemar you live in comfort and style in the heart of Riga's history and culture. The over 100 year old house is an example of Riga's unique Art Nouveau architecture and total renovated in 2006.Hotel Valdemar is located in central Riga, only a few minutes walk from Old Town. On the tranquil courtyard, you can during the summer months enjoy a cup of coffee in the sun, while the one million city of Riga pulsates just outside.We want to take good care of our guest we therfore offer all our guest complimentary breakfast, afternoon tea and evening meal between 18:00 and 21:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Nordic Choice Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Riga
Clarion Collection Valdemars

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing