We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Ranked #31 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

Third stay at this "value for Money" Hotel. They offer a free Dinner buffet which is perfect when you arrive late and just want something light to eat before bed. The buffet is served up to 21:00. This time I arrived at 10 pm and missed it by a hour. Just mentioned it when I checked in. Some 20 minutes later, the Staff turned up with Sandwiches, Fruit and Yogurt. Very good initiative which made the day.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ulf N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZaneGrike, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for complimenting our hotel and service! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and meals!

Hoping to welcome you some other time again!

With best regards,
Zane Grike
GM at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    242
    67
    25
    10
See reviews for
84
222
49
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013 via mobile

When we stayed at this hotel everything was perfect! From the moment we checked in till the very end when we checked out. We arrived late and got two bags with some sandwich, fruit and yoghurt. Love this consept about Clarion Collection, free evening meal. The room was amazing! Breakfast and everything about the building. Staff was very helpful, and speaks good English. They can help you with all from local stores to tourist attractions. The location is great. Not far from anything. I will highly recommend this hotel for everyone. Family as well as business trips.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank T-Bear12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZaneGrike, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for such a wonderful and positive review! We all are very happy that yet another satisfied customer is recommending our hotel!

We hope to see you some other time again!

With greetings from Riga,
Zane Grike
GM at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
97 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

At the risk of sounding melodramatic I think I found a hotel that is perfect for me based on quality, customer service, atmosphere and price. From the moment I arrived I loved this place. On arrival I was surprised how posh the place looks, posh but stylish. I knew I was in for a treat at a bargain price. Check in was nice, there was relaxing music playing and everything felt homely and cozy like the people cared about what they were doing. The lady on reception asked my interests so she could help me plan some touristy things in Riga, I thought that was a very nice touch. I declined but it was nice to be asked none the less.the room was a single but of a good size. I liked the simple style of the room, the bathroom was large although in my room the towel rail wasn't working which made it cold in the morning. The hotel has a buffet meal and breakfast all included and snacks and coffee throughout the day. The quality of dinner and breakfast were excellent and I was well pleased with these little extras. In short this place is excellent, wonderful warm and friendly staff who care and go the extra mile. I would have no hesitation in recommending this place or staying again.

Room Tip: Although the public bus seems complicated for transport to the hotel it isn't and it's reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tajine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZaneGrike, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Dear Guest,

your review is the first one in 2013! And how nice that it is so positive!
We are happy that you truly enjoyed your stay at our hotel and appreciated all the small things, that are the most important!

Wishing you a Happy 2013 and see you sometime again!

With best regards,
Zane Grike
GM at Clarion Colelction Hotel Valdemars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with a small group on a work incentive weekend away. Great friendly hotel for a fantastic price. Very competitive rates with dinner buffet included, decent enough food for a buffet. Staff are very friendly and were more than happy for us to chill out in lazy clothes in the bar during the Saturday day after a heavy night out in a great club just round the corner (can't remember the name of it).

Rooms are more than spacious with extra blankets for when it gets cold - it was -9 whilst we were there. Bathroom is well sized with a good power shower. There is some good fitness facilities including a welcome hot tub after a day out in the cold!!

Drinks at the bar are reasonably priced and the barman was great - happily making us cocktails and various drinks to order which was fantastic.

Absolutely cannot fault the hotel, do not hesitate to stay here. Thank you for a great stay, we will certainly be back again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZaneGrike, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you so much for complimenting your stay at our hotel! It was a pleasure to welcome you and we all hope to see you sometime soon!

With greetings.
Zane Grike
GM at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

I arrived from Sweden late a friday night. The restaurant was closed so the entrance felt a bit unwelcoming, the hotel is like a big fort (high security). When the receptionist arrived after 5 minutes she was very kind. They had also made a small bag with a sandwich, some fruit and a yoghurt. The lobby and restaurant is nice, good and fresh interior. The road sounds outside when you sleep, but not more than other hotels in AA postition. I felt that the room was nice, good beds, small but working tv, and tiles in the shower.

The small buffet in the night was also good. Everything was in fact good, the hotel is situated close to a park. It takes 10 minutes to go to the old city. But it works, was in fact quite good to stay here.

I like that the manager wrote a small note and that the cleening lady also had a small note, it makes the stay more personal.

Room Tip: I would have wanted a room to the inner garden just to have a more quiet room next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antiez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZaneGrike, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for posting your lovely review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel!
Good tip about requesting a room to our inner courtyard - it is recommended for guests that value absolute quiet during their sleep.
Thank you for complimenting our rooms and meals! We appreciate that and your comments will be forwarded to our restaurant and housekeeping staff members!

Greetings from snowy Riga!
Zane Grike
GM at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

I stayed at Valdemars for a weekend trip to Riga and was very impressed by the value for money we got here. Yes, the interior is a bit 'IKEA-chique', but that also gives it a relaxed and homey atmosphere. Rooms and bathrooms are spacious and clean. Also very nice to be able to use the sauna and hot tub after a cold (it was March) day of site-seeing!

An absolute plus about this hotel is the free buffet dinner that guests can enjoy. Every evening there is a decent buffet which is included in the room rate. Excellent feature!

Highly recommendable hotel if you want good value for money!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZaneGrike, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for posting this lovely review!
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel!

Looking forward to welcome you sometime soon again.

With best regards
Zane Grike and everyone at
Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
104 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

We recently spent three days in Riga for business purposes. Because we knew we would be very tired in the evenings, we decided to try this hotel because of the advertised buffet dinner. We were not disappointed. In fact we liked almost everything about this hotel!

At first it is a little difficult to find reception. You can either enter directly from the street--but then you have to drag your bags up a lot of stairs and through the lounge or enter from the door, after you go through the archway into the courtyard. Fewer stairs, and no lounge wandering...

The ladies at reception were always helpful, whether it was calling a taxi (and even suggesting a less expensive company), contacting our car rental for pick-up, printing our boarding passes or storing our luggage for later collection.

Both breakfast and dinner exceeded our expectations. Others have described them, so I won't gush about the variety, etc. We were satisfied and especially appreciated the fresh fruit and vegetables available at every meal. The only improvements could be to offer more interesting desserts and to perhaps offer guests a glass of wine with their evening meal.

We took advantage of the fitness and spa facilities which are located across the alley way from the courtyard reception entrance. The key card to this facility must be updated daily. The fitness equipment worked fine. The steam bath was a dream. The temperature of the hot tub unfortunately was just above tepid. The jets were good though. There are lockers in the changing room and extra towels in the spa area which was very clean.

We chose a comfort level room. There was plenty of space, with a small seating area. We loved the fresh rose on our table and the stack of English language novels on the shelf. The beds were comfortable. Nice selection of pillows. The wood floors do creak. Heat was adjustable and our window opened.

The only drawbacks we observed are no parking and no exhaust fan in the bathroom. Otherwise, for the price--this was a near perfect hotel experience!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZaneGrike, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for a fantastic review! Nice compliments that I will forward to all my staff members!
Thank you also for writing tips to other travelers!

It was a pleasue of welcoming you and hope to see you some other time soon!

With best regards from Riga
Zane Grike
GM at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.6 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.7 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Monika Centrum Hotel
Monika Centrum Hotel
#18 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Janne
Hotel Janne
#34 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Address: Krishjana Valdemara iela 23, Riga 1010, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Riga
#14 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#17 Business Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars 3.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hotel Valdemar you live in comfort and style in the heart of Riga's history and culture. The over 100 year old house is an example of Riga's unique Art Nouveau architecture and total renovated in 2006.Hotel Valdemar is located in central Riga, only a few minutes walk from Old Town. On the tranquil courtyard, you can during the summer months enjoy a cup of coffee in the sun, while the one million city of Riga pulsates just outside.We want to take good care of our guest we therfore offer all our guest complimentary breakfast, afternoon tea and evening meal between 18:00 and 21:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Riga
Clarion Collection Valdemars

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing