We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Nearby Hotels
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel(Riga)(Great Value!)
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
bedfinder
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Europa Royale Riga(Riga)(Great Value!)
US$65
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
City Hotel Teater(Riga)(Great Value!)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Opera Hotel & Spa(Riga)(Great Value!)
US$132
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$272
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$234
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (798)
Filter reviews
798 results
Traveller rating
377
294
87
28
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
377
294
87
28
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevening buffetold townfree dinnertea and coffeegreat hotelhalf boardbeautiful art nouveauupgraded to a suitelounge areabeautiful citycozy hotelporridgebuffet stylebusiness tripcity centrevisit rigareceptionist
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
264 - 269 of 798 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Just returned after a short stay and was totally impressed with this hotel staff and restaurant and the history of the hotel. for once so pleased I kept away from the bigger group hotels as this hotel is unique in its own way. a balance of traditional and contemporary building. would have liked more history on the building in the welcome pack this is only a suggestion.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 501Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear 501Peter,
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Also a big thank you for the feedback on presenting the great history of the hotel more. You are absolutely correct we are currently looking on how to do it, but it most certainly has to be done. Welcome back in a couple of months and hopefully by then the history will be better presented.
Regards,
Helen – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Exceptional......My husband and son stayed here last year whilst on a visit to his fathers birthplace, he initially choose the hotel as his father had been called Valdemars and was born in Riga. They enjoyed the trip so much that my husband surprised me with a visit this year, we have just returned after a long weekend and felt the need to comment as our treatment at the hotel was exceptional, we would like to single out Evita and Intaris on the reception, and also Andes and (Blonde) Martin in the dining room, they were all extremely helpful, always smiling and a credit to the hotel, anyone visiting Riga should stay here as it is a lovely hotel well run, and one of the best value for money hotels we have ever stayed in......

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolPizans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear CarolPizans,
Thank you for taking your time to write a review of our hotel. Also a very big thank you for the nice review! Evita, Intars, Andes and Martins are our shining servicestars. I have to admit that it is a true pleasure to get the opportunity to work with them and their colleagues on a daily basis. In the hotel we focus a lot on taking care of each other, both guests and colleagues, I’m glad that you sensed our spirit.
Regards,
Helen – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Stayed with a group of friends and we were very impressed by the friendly attitude, comfortable (but somewhat bijou) rooms and the great location, right in heart of Art Nouveau area of Riga - lots of bars and restaurants, 15 minute walk from city centre and Opera. No air conditioning in the rooms, so bit noisy with the window open. Good breakfasts and complimentary buffet dinner served free in early evening - great if going to Opera. Tea & coffee available all day. Prices sensible. Could also have benefitted from curtains or darker blinds in the bedroom windows.

Room Tip: Ask for back of the hotel. Also consider superior room as standard are definitely bijou!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Peter G,
Thank you for taking your time to write a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. I think you have made a good summary of our hotel and its benefits. I wish you a very warm welcome back at anytime.
Regards,
Helen – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I had a very comfortable stay here. The breakfast and dinner is awesome. You have the option to have tea and coffee through the day and they also serve delicious waffles for tea along with organic fruits 24X7. The staff is super friendly and will go out of their way to make your stay comfortable. Intars at the reception desk was always ready to guide us with tips and things to do while in Riga. The hotel bar and lobby is a great place to hang out. We could access wifi in the room and speeds were good enough to make voip calls back home. Location wise the hotel in quite central and were were able to walk too old town within 10 minutes easily. Rooms may be a bit on the smaller size but very clean and the bathrooms were extremely clean too. Overall wonderful experience, i will definitely book here on my next Riga trip and would highly recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the inner garden area and not facing the main road which can get quite noisy
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crisfurtado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Crisfurtado,
Thank you for your very nice review. Intars is working at the front desk today and your comment have for sure made his day as well as mine.
Regards,
Helen - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This is lovely comfortable hotel only 10 to 15 minutes walk from the Old Town. It is very friendly and welcoming, we arrived late and they offered us some snacks on arrival. All meals are included in the price, including the evening meal which was always delicious, especially the soups!! The Staff were excellent. The hotel is spacious and comfortable downstairs with plenty of comfortable places to sit, both outside and in.

Room Tip: You need to keep windows closed at front of hotel to keep out street noise at night, but there was air con in our front room to make it comfortable.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annelincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Annelincs,
Thank you for writing a review of your stay at our hotel. It makes us all happy to read that you enjoyed every part of the hotel and our services provided. Most of all it of course makes us extra happy to read that you thought the staff was excellent, we always do our best to assist our guests.
Regards,
Helen – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews