We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice standar hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Ranked #24 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice standar hotel”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I can recommand this hotel to familys because its great value with free snacks and dinners if you have kids. The rooms held a good standard and the staff was really helpful. The location is good, and its close to old town, some great resturants and spas.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marbra84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Marbra84,
Thank you for posting the review of your visit to Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars on Tripadvisor. I think you have done a short but got summary of our hotel and it pleases me to read that you find the staff helpful, we put all focus on our guests and I am glad that it is noticed.
Warmest,
Helen – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    264
    70
    27
    10
See reviews for
94
241
53
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius, Lithuania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Cosy and comfortable hotel. Nice welcome and good service at the fron desk and all around. Good and tasty food, dinner included, complimentary tea and fruits available 24/7. Location is close to the center and personell all in your attenion.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Sarunas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Sarunas L,
Thank you for the very nice review you have written about your stay at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars on tripadvisor.
Warmest,
Helen – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Valdemars and overall this is a very good hotel. The hotel is understated but this offers a lot of extra facilities.

Room - they are okay. A little small and the blinds didn't fully cover the window so let the light in early. As on other reviews bathroom maybe needs a little updating. BUT overall quality is good for price paid.

Food - the evening supper buffet is truly exceptional. This is not an extra and is available for all guests. Classed as light.. but this is clearly good enough as a full meal. There are 3 courses and a superb salad offering salmon, prawns etc. Tra and coffee available all day another nice touch.

The breakfast is good, orange juice is not kept chilled. Maybe an ice bucket?

Location - good location about 10 mins walk from main area which is small anyway. Great coffee shop by hotel that offer 2 large beers for 2.40euro! Also recommend the sports bar under radisson.

Overall a very good choice and I would recommend. There are aspects that surely set this hotel apart.. supper buffet.. free tea and coffee all the time. . Very good location for a good price.

If good value, ease and convenience is you. . Look no further

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank avfc4life16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Avfc4life16,
Thank you for taking your time to write a review of your stay at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars on Tripadvisor. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the food as we think it is important to serve our guests good tasting and healthy food.
Warmest,
Helen - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden, Europe
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We Went to Riga for the second time and chosed this hotel again. It is situated 12 km from RIX, Riga Airport. You can easily go there by cab, for a cost of 13 euro. Taxi drivers go fast!
We were upgraded to a suite on 5th floor, it was nice and large and had a balcony. But the noice from the traffic is too loud. The shower flooded when used. The cleaning wasn´t any good either, as there was dust on top of the bottles, hair in the sink for 3 Days, the balcony floor and table was so Dirty that our feet Went black!
There is an evening meal included, the first evening of Three, food was excellent, a Little worse the next day and the last day I got 3 big bones from the fish, and then I lost my appetite.

The jacuzzi in the basement was still broken, as it was on our first visit 2 yrs ago. You have to push the button all the time to get any bubbles. There is also a gym and a steam sauna, and they were nice. It not allowed to bring any alcohol to the pool and gym area, but we saw beer glasses outside the sauna so people must not care.

Breakfast is very good, with yoghurt, bread, bacon, scrambled eggs, panncakes, fruit and so on. Nearby there is Another hotel with a Sky bar with Amazing wiev of Riga.

Riga is a nice and cute Little Town, and Valdemar hotel is only a few minutes walk to the Old city, where you can find restaurants, bars, souvenir shops, churches, but we don´t like to pay entrance fee to visit a Church, so we couldn´t enter. Is the Word of Jesus only for paying people?

All in all, even though the hotel has its faults, I wouldn´t hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eriicsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Eriicons,
Thank you for writing a review of your stay at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars on Tripadvisor. It seems to me that you have really done Riga whilst here.
Warmest,
Helen – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The windows didn't lock and were sellotaped closed, the curtains looked pretty but did not cover the windows. The bathroom was grubby and flooded when I used the shower or basin. I moved to the Albert hotel around the corner, much better!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Andy H,
I am sorry to read that you didn’t have seemed to enjoy your stay with us. To bad I didn’t find out when you where still staying here so that we would be able offer you another room.
Warmest,
Helen – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gjøvik
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We ordered a suite, and we were a bit dissapointed. The room had a bad smell, and I foubd it ordinary. The breakfast did not impress. The jaquzzi eas broken. Good service and nice staff, but still- I would choose a other hotel next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Ida M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Ida M,
Thank you for taking your time to write a review of your stay on Tripadvisor. I am sorry that the room was a disappointed, to bad you didn’t let us know whilst staying with us. I would have been more then happy to show you some other suits.
Warmest,
Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

amazing restaurant. very cozy conference room.very strong A/C.close to the centre.there is a few areas where you can have some relax time, like with books,magazines or pc. i would go there once again for sure!

Room Tip: should be really romantic place for couples :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Braškė Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Braske Z,
Thank you for taking your time to write a review of your stay at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars on Tripadvisor. I also want to thank you for your very nice review, I am glad you enjoyed all our facilities. I have to agree it is nice with public areas where you can just sit down and relax.
Warmest,
Helen - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#22 of 109 in Riga
914 reviews
0.4 mi away
Monika Centrum Hotel
Monika Centrum Hotel
#14 of 109 in Riga
548 reviews
0.6 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
PK Riga Hotel
PK Riga Hotel
#20 of 109 in Riga
656 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Edvards
Hotel Edvards
#50 of 109 in Riga
108 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Address: Kri jana Valdemara iela 23, Riga 1010, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Riga
#14 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#17 Business Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars 3.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hotel Valdemar you live in comfort and style in the heart of Riga's history and culture. The over 100 year old house is an example of Riga's unique Art Nouveau architecture and total renovated in 2006.Hotel Valdemar is located in central Riga, only a few minutes walk from Old Town. On the tranquil courtyard, you can during the summer months enjoy a cup of coffee in the sun, while the one million city of Riga pulsates just outside.We want to take good care of our guest we therfore offer all our guest complimentary breakfast, afternoon tea and evening meal between 18:00 and 21:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Nordic Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Riga
Clarion Collection Valdemars

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing