We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not clean and very noisy” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Ranked #31 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“not clean and very noisy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

I stayed in this hotel for a week in July 2014 with my husband. My parents, sister, and some friends were also staying there for different lengths of time. It is a good concept and conversion of an historic building. Unfortunately, the housekeeping service was not good. The rooms were universally not cleaned properly. The toilet in our room was visibly dirty from the previous occupants when we checked in. The bathroom was mouldy and rusty and could do with updating. There were dust and hairballs floating across the floor in the room. It was very hot, being summer, but no air conditioning in our room meant we had to have the windows open. This would normally have been fine as we had read reviews on tripadvisor and asked for a courtyard room (its true- the rooms on the roadside are VERY noisy). Unfortunately the courtyard seems to amplify the noise of the hotel bar and early in the morning the deliveries to the kitchen so we had very difficult sleep. We booked a superior double but were given twin beds and told we had to pay an extra 20 euro a night if we wanted a double bed. The hotel was a ten- fifteen minute walk from old town which is fine in itself, but given the noise and cleanliness issues, I'd recommend staying in a hotel central to Old Town since the side streets there are not as noisy as the traffic outside the Valdemars. We stayed at Hotel Justus for a couple of nights prior to the Valdemars- it had air conditioning so we could sleep with the windows shut and were not disturbed by any late night revelers.

Room Tip: The rooms on the courtyard are relatively more quiet but ask for one with air conditioning. Room 10...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eelbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Eelbarb,

I am sorry to read that you didn’t seem to enjoy your stay with us. It has been a couple of days a lot warmer then average. All our rooms facing the street do have AC as you have the sun beating on the windows and a busy street just out side. Our rooms facing the inner court doesn’t have any direct sun and therefore doesn’t have any AC.
For the additional 20 euros you were offered a suite with a double bed as all our superior double were fully booked at the time you were staying with us.

In regards of the cleaning I will bring this up with my housekeeping department.

Warmest,
Helen – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    242
    67
    25
    10
See reviews for
84
222
49
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Our stay at the Clarion Valdemars was very comfortable. This family-run hotel has a fascinating legacy that in a way embodies the political and economic transformations that have taken place in Riga over the past century. The hotel was totally renovated and reopened in 2006. The glass entry space that leads to the reception desk is a bold and tasteful attempt to expand the lobby area as well as provide a spacious passage to the hotel’s inner court. The common areas are tastefully appointed and well maintained. Our room was small and faced the inner court rather than the street, which made the room cooler and quieter. Our room had high ceilings, at least 3 ½ meters in height, which made it feel more spacious. There was good wi-fi coverage in the hotel. Overall, we were quite content with the condition and cleanliness of the room. However, years of use since the 2006 renovation means that the tracks along the shower’s sliding doors and shower tile grout need a good scrub. A real plus while staying at the Clarion Valdemars is the breakfast and evening buffet that are included in the room price. Clarion Hotels make an effort to tap into locally produced food and to include larger amounts of fruit and vegetables in their buffet. The buffet was always tastefully set and the staff was quick to replenish dishes and clear tables. The carefully prepared buffet and friendly service in the dining area well preserve the family feel of this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 432West
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear 432 West,
Thank you for posting a review of your stay on Tripdavisor, Also a big thank you for the very nice review. We are a small intimate hotel and we want to keep it this way. Our guests are not just a figure but also persons that we want to get to know and interact with.

Also a big thank you for the comments about the architecture of our hotel. It is an old building and we have tried our best to mix the old with the new and get a harmonic combination, which you seemed to have enjoyed.

We have also put a lot of focus on our food as we think it is important that our guest can eat well whiel staying with us.

Warmest,
Helen – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We had a room on the 5th floor.Since I am a light sleeper, we asked for a room with a window to a courtyard. What a mistake! Around a midnight a Group of People came to a sitting area at the courtyard and start having a party downthere, buying drinks from hotels bar. The courtyard had an great accustic, and every sound was raising up to our window(together with cigaretts smock). As there is no airconditioning in the rooms,and ventilation is poor, we couldnot sleep With window closed, so as you see, we had an awfull night in a middle of the summer heat. My husband tried to talk to the stuff, but nothing had happened.
Full dissappointment.
Bed was uncomfortable,too... Winter blankets(!) some mosquitos as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nataliya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Nataliya H,
Thank you for writing a review of your stay in Tripadvisor.
I am sorry to read your review, of course we want our hotel guests to have a good nights sleep and therefore we have as rule that it should be quite on the inner court after 11 o’clock in the evening. I will make sure our staff is updated with this information.
Warmest,
Helen – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemara!
The rooms are quite small, but you don't need more space to feel comfortable during your business trip.
Stuff was friendly and all meals (breakfast as well as dinner included!) were nice!
Great value for a very reasonable price!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vladimir C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Vladimir C
Thank you for posting a review of your stay at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars on Tripadvisor, also a big thank you for the nice review.
Warmest.
Helen – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Great breakfast and dinner buffet, but the rooms need temperature control with air conditioning or fans. The staff was excellent and provided any necessary assistance when requested. The beds were a bit uncomfortable, it was not far off from sleeping on a cot.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Frutos T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Frutos T
Thank you for posting a review of your stay at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars on tripadvisor. I am glad to read that you did enjoy the food while staying with us. It has been a warm period in Riga and only our rooms facing the main road do have AC system, but we are more then happy to hand out fans for guests in the other rooms.
Warmest,
Helen – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Business trip, 1 night. Perfect location, friendly staff. Breakfast and vening meal/starter included in a reasonably fair price. No need to look further. The only drawback could be cleanliness of the bathroom, but it was anyway acceptable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank MaciekW312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear MaciekW312
Thank you for your posting on Tripadvisor. Short but contained all of the most important elements.
Warmest,
Helen – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novara, Italy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I'm sorry to say that I've found this hotel quite disappointing. Rooms are quite small without any space were position your own stuffs. There's no cupboard or chest of drawers. Bathroom is the worst thing: it's really dated, with pipes beside the mirror and mustiness in the shower. There's no electrical outlet in the bathroom, so if you need to dry your hair you have to do it in the room without a mirror. Moreover the SPA was really dirty as like the room. I've infact found on the floor some plastic parts of previus guests...
Breakfast/dinner instead was quite good and with several dishes.
Staff is not really proactive: I've immediately asked the receptionist to change the room, the lady said she would have tried to do her best but she forgot about my request.
I wasted about three hours waiting for her and at the end she showed me a room exactly like the one she had assigned me. I'd like to highlight that I had booked that room at full price and 45 days in advance. I think there was time to book a better room.

Room Tip: Ask for renewed rooms. Otherwise choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cinzia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Cinzia G,
I am sad to read you posting, and that you were disappointed with your stay with us. I can see that you had booked a single room in our hotel and yes they are our smallest room, and all in the same size, My recommendation is that if you do want a larger room it is better to book a double room for single usage. We are currently renovating our bathrooms and our single rooms have yet not been renovated, but there is still an electrical outlet in the bathroom above the mirror. I feel that it is to bad that I didn’t meet you whilst staying with us. I try to walk around a lot in the hotel to follow up operation both with staff and guests.
Warmest,
Helen – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.6 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.7 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Monika Centrum Hotel
Monika Centrum Hotel
#18 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Janne
Hotel Janne
#34 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Address: Krishjana Valdemara iela 23, Riga 1010, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Riga
#14 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#17 Business Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars 3.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hotel Valdemar you live in comfort and style in the heart of Riga's history and culture. The over 100 year old house is an example of Riga's unique Art Nouveau architecture and total renovated in 2006.Hotel Valdemar is located in central Riga, only a few minutes walk from Old Town. On the tranquil courtyard, you can during the summer months enjoy a cup of coffee in the sun, while the one million city of Riga pulsates just outside.We want to take good care of our guest we therfore offer all our guest complimentary breakfast, afternoon tea and evening meal between 18:00 and 21:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Nordic Choice Hotels so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Riga
Clarion Collection Valdemars

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing