We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Riga city center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Ranked #24 of 110 Hotels in Riga
Reviewed 21 August 2010

This family-owned hotel in the city of Riga is very cosy, just excellent. We have stayed at hotel Valdemars many times and we always feel that special welcome from the friendly staff. The hotelrooms are nicely decorated, with nice bathrooms. The beds are very comfortable too. We always stay at Hotel Valdemars when we are visiting Riga. Looking forward until the next visit!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy650220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (708)
There are newer reviews for Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

367 - 373 of 708 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2010

My collegues and I were extremely satisfied. Excellent service and a location as goog as it can get. Above all, it is really value for money!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gunnarljungdahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

we travelled to Riga for a break,on the cheap ,flying with Ryan air for a three night stay - arriving on Friday we first had a look around the outside airport museum - which we would recommend - as its cheap and some of the old planes and helicopters on the site are quite amazing! we took a taxi into the Riga town ( please be aware that we paid 25 Lats to get into Riga but only 7 lats back! so watch those cabbies! - suggest you get the Baltic cabs - they are the green ones) When we arrived at the Hotel Valdemars - we found out that the booking.com website had not placed our booking correctly ( and had not informed us prior to leaving for our holiday!) so we did not have a booking - but the receptionist could not have been more helpful and she got us booked in and onto the sixth floor - it turned out we were the only ones on this floor - which was quite useful when we arrived back on our second night - a little noisy! the lifts are very fast and so getting to the sixth floor never proved a problem.
the hotel has a lovely back courtyard that guests can sit in and 'chill' it has nice garden furniture including those big bean bags that are sooooo comfortable. The spa and the steam room and fitness suite is practically brand new - and well worth a visit if you get the chance - they give you a key and you can go visit - there are lockers and loads of towels that you can use - no charges and everything is available for you to shower and get changed afterwards.

Tea and coffee is always available in the reception,( no tea or coffee in the rooms) the free fruit was nabbed quite quickly by the guests - pears and apples were huge!

The hotel decor is nice, the communial areas are small but atractive.

The best bit by far in this hotel is the food! the breakfast is very good indeed - cereals, make your own muesli ( with all the dried fruits etc), porridge, cold meats, spreads ( even caviar!) cakes, pastries, fruit, and bacon, sausage, eggs, boiled and scrambled - bread rolls and toast, three different types of bread, plus the jams and preserves. It is buffett style , help yourself and is constantly replenished. The best bit is that the breakfast does not finish till after 10am weekdays and 11am weekends - a definite plus in my book!

The free dinner in the evening is what sold the hotel to us, as we were on a limited budget - we ate out once and ate in twice- starters of soup, and salads and the main being meat and three veg, plus two or three sweet choices and cheeses and loads of biscuits - again buffet style- it was constantly replenished and the area was kept very clean and in the evening the tables were laid out with serviettes. The meal went on from 6pm - 9pm - which again was very handy if you had been out for the day!

The hotel is a seven minute walk away from the old Riga town - and please do not let this put you off as the walk through the gardens and parks is wonderful - Riga is full of parks! keep an eye out for all the many statues dotted around the place!
I am so pleased that we visited RIGA - it is a beautiful city - with some absolutely spectacular architecure and buildings - quite breathtaking - the people are very very friendly and because they dont have the euro yet - it is reasonable too!
Visit the sky bar - make sure that you do the full route of the old Riga town and dont forget the art nouveux buildings two minutes walk away from the Hotel Valdemars -

we did do a boat ride around the canal - but although the boat was nice the canal ride is probably not the best way to see the sights - I think the bus would be better!

If you have time do a day trip to Jamarla - well worth a visit!

Hotel Valdemars was definitely a good choice for us and we felt quite at home there - just wish we could have stayed longer! but one day we will go back!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimberly38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZaneBusa, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2010

Dear Guest,

thank you for your nice review and really good tips that you are mentioning!

Hope to welcome you some other time, for longer stay! :)

Greetings from Riga,
Zane Buša
General Manager
Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

A hotel with a friendly and welcoming enviroment. Newly renovated with very clean and nice rooms, good facilities, nice restaurant and bar. Great location with close access to restaurants, shopping and nightlife. Would stay here with family or friends, suits every occation. With other words, I would love to come back!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VeronicaOhrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZaneBusa, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2010

Dear, Guest,

thank you so much for your review!
Nice to hear that our Guests appreciate the friendly and cozy environment that we are trying to create for everyone, during their stay at our hotel!

We all hope to see you some other time again!

With best regards,
Zane Buša
General Manager
Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

This is a lovely hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable, with air conditioning. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. A complimentary hot buffet meal is available every evening. We had 3 courses which were delicious followed by coffee (or tea). On the evening we arrived we were too late for the meal but they gave us very nice fresh sandwiches which were much appreciated. Coffe/tea is available in the bar area at any time to help yourself to, free of charge. Also fresh fruit. Free wifi is also available. We were made to feel welcome at all times and the hotel had a warm relaxed atmosphere.
The area is very good, within walking distance of the centre. The Art Nouveau area is close by with many beautiful buildings.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mervyn04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZaneBusa, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2010

Dear Guest,

thank you for such a nice review!
It makes me really happy that you appreciate the relaxed and home like atmosphere here at our hotel, this is exactly what we want our guests to experience while staying with us! :)

Hope to see you again some other time!

With best regards,
Zane Buša
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

Hotel Valdemars is conveniently located within 10 min walk from the Old town. Travelling with young children, there were little space for playing in the hotel itself. That said, the staff were child friendly. A couple minutes away there were a nice playground in the park behind the museum, and we used to stop for a while on our way to the city or in the evening.

The service in the hotel is very good, the staff is friendly and helpful, whether we asked about day trips advice or getting an extra towel. Good value for the money, as breakfast and evening buffet is included. The food is simple, only one main course for dinner, but tasty and deliciously presented, with lots of vegetables and fruits. Complimentary coffe/ tea in the lobby was also very convenient. The free wifi service was not very reliable, we had a room at the 5th floor, and didn't manage to get connected until the 2nd day, but you could still get on internet in the lobby.

The room we had was small, but modern, nice and perfectly clean. The only drawback is that it was very hot and we had no A/C, which meant we had to sleep with the window open. Our room facing the courtyard meant that there were noise from other guests sitting in the courtyard drinking until late hours. I'd recommend A/C in the room summertime.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mamta66no
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZaneBusa, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2010

Dear Guest,

thank you for your comments and kind words!
Indeed, some of our rooms don't have air-conditioning, but we are happy to implement all Guest needs, so rooms can be changed upon request.
Next time, when visiting our hotel, please inform reception staff about your wishes and we will make sure that your stay with us is as pleasant as possible!

Once again - thank you for posting this review and greetings from everyone at Valdemars!

Best regards,
Zane Buša
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Excellent on all counts! One of the best places compared to the many hotels I have used over many years of travelling in Europe. Can highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laetitita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZaneBusa, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2010

Dear Guest,

thank you so much for your nice rewiev!
me and my team enjoy working hard to get and keep happy Guests.

We hope to see you again some other time!

With sunny greeetings from Riga,
Zane Buša
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#20 of 110 in Riga
927 reviews
0.4 mi away
Monika Centrum Hotel
Monika Centrum Hotel
#12 of 110 in Riga
562 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Edvards
Hotel Edvards
#50 of 110 in Riga
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.7 mi away
Tallink Hotel Riga
Tallink Hotel Riga
#15 of 110 in Riga
903 reviews
0.7 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars

Address: Kri jana Valdemara iela 23, Riga 1010, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Riga
#14 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#17 Business Hotel in Riga
Price Range: £51 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars 3.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hotel Valdemar you live in comfort and style in the heart of Riga's history and culture. The over 100 year old house is an example of Riga's unique Art Nouveau architecture and total renovated in 2006.Hotel Valdemar is located in central Riga, only a few minutes walk from Old Town. On the tranquil courtyard, you can during the summer months enjoy a cup of coffee in the sun, while the one million city of Riga pulsates just outside.We want to take good care of our guest we therfore offer all our guest complimentary breakfast, afternoon tea and evening meal between 18:00 and 21:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Riga
Clarion Collection Valdemars

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing