We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple and cozy”
Review of Hotel Jurnieks

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Jurnieks
Ranked #92 of 112 Hotels in Riga
Reviewed 26 August 2014

As I didn't choose this accomodation by myself, but went there as a part of the group, I was a little worried about the quality of rooms and the breakfast. There was no need to worry - rooms and bathrooms were clean (this is my highest priority!), and breakfast was basic but good.
Yes, as already said, the location of the hotel is not the best - it is 15-20 min tram ride away from the city centre, so you need to spend some additional money for the tram fare, and keep an eye on the schedule, as trams do not run during night. It is located in the residential area, so you should keep your voice down after 10 PM, as the neighbours tend to complain if you hang out in front of the hotel (and as we were in a group of 40 people, the noise level was a little higher...).
Rooms are small and basic, but I use hotel rooms only for sleeping, not for spending any time there, so the lack of space doesn't bother me much. I would appreciate more free sockets for our electronic equipment, but we managed to charge everything by unplugging the TV :-)
There are two elevators to transport you and your luggage to the higher floors.
The staff is friendly, but they don't speak very good English, so if you are not familiar with Latvian or Russian you will need your arms and legs to communicate.
Finally, I would reccomend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a budget accomodation and doesn't mind to use a public transportation.

Room Tip: Specify if you need seperate beds in a room for two!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyGoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2013

The location of this property is really not the best. Strange neighourhood and transportation (10-15 min by public transport) are not the options to choose. Very small rooms, the furniture is"tired", but because of location of the hotel, sleeping quality is perfect-silence!!So if you're ready to catch buses every day and don't want to pay a lot, this acomodation is for you..

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We landed up at this property since we could not find any place in Central Riga due to the Tall Boats sailing competition. One of the reception staff called them and confirmed that they had rooms available and directed us to the place. This hotel is pretty out of the town in a quiet, residential suburb- but it is well connected to the city center by Tram No.5- you can also change from the airport bus 22 to tram 5. There is a well stocked Maxima supermarket at the tram stop. Only one choice for eating out if you do not want to eat in the restaurant of the hotel. Rooms are OK, the housekeeping is above average and overall a good deal for the price you pay. The front office staff are all very helpful. The breakfast is basic but a good deal for the price you pay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UNNIMAYA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Lovely hotel and excellent value for the price ,I would recommend this hotel if your not to bothered about scenic views as Latvia was communist run so expect it to be surrounded by tower blocks so please don't slate the area and know your history.
Me and my partner stayed in a standard double en-suite and it is pretty much standard with basic furniture but the room is clean and spacious for the price we paid.We visited the hotel cafe numerous times as the service was excellent and the prices was very cheap we ordered fries and fried pork meal which probably came out as £3 and they was large portions aswell and made fresh.The receptionists was very helpful and knowledgeable about the surrounding area and tourist attractions especially when it comes to ice hockey.The location is excellent as the hotel is only a 5 minute walk from the tram stop if you wish to go to the centre and also expect lots of cats in the surrounding area would advise not to try and pat them as they run off anyways!.Would come back again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Songling C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

When we all three entered the room, it was a room with two beds and it had little space for a third. We asked for the third bed and they brought an old folding bed with a two-inch-thick mat. We asked for another bed and they brought another two-inch-thick mat to put on the third bed. They gave the excuse that the better rooms for three beds had already been booked far in advanced and that that room was the best they could do. Also, the TV did not work and neither did the WI-FI.
However, they allowed us to use the PC room near reception, thanks.
Pretty basic accommodation and not the best neighborhood. Breakfast was OK.

Room Tip: If you need to book a room for three people in Riga, book one double and book a single. Your single...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank espa000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

At first glance, especially on a map Hotel Jurnieks seems quite out of the way from the City Centre and Old Town Riga. While it is if you were to walk... There is a tram stop literally 30 seconds around the corner that gets you into the very centre of Riga in 15 minutes. There is a Maxima supermarket next to the tram stop which sells anything you'd need for your room also.

The hotel, while it looks abit dated and very 'Eastern European' on the outside, is very nice, although basic. Basic isn't a bad thing. Riga is a great city with alot to see an do within it so there's no need to stay in the hotel long! The food at the hotel restaurant was excellent and very well priced! It cost about €3 for a meal. While it's just basic food like pork, fires, salads, they're all cooked there and then by one of the staff for you. Breakfast is as you'd expect anywhere. Crossiants, bread, orange juice and so on.

The rooms are very cheap I find. For instance you can live in this hotel for just 150 laht per month! It cost around 20-30 laht per night for a room.

The location is residential, and for people who like cats, might seem random to state that but, there are cats all around outside the hotel!

The staff are great and speak English well. You even get KHL (ice hockey channel) free in your room!

Overall I really like this hotel and will be returning.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RigaFanUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Nice cozy hotel with good speed WIFI and tasty breakfast. Don’t expect luxury but it is clean and everything works. You get what you pay for.
But the most amazing is the staff you meet at the hotel. I really liked the service at the reception. They treat you like a good friend explaining all the small things and answer any of your stupid questions. Blonde Nelli at the reception is very helpful and full of energy. You don’t often meet so friendly receptionists in other hotels :)
When you come for breakfast it is not a buffet but you have a choice of several meals. English breakfast is very unusual. You get mayonnaise on scrambled eggs, but in fact it tastes Ok in fact, just try it :) But you can ask for ketchup, no problem. Ladies in the café will fix it.
Hotel is quite a distance from the center, but you can park for free near the hotel.

Room Tip: ask a warm room in winter :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vladno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
5.9 mi away
Vilmaja
Vilmaja
#76 of 112 in Riga
41 reviews
4.2 mi away
Dodo Hotel
Dodo Hotel
#52 of 112 in Riga
461 reviews
5.8 mi away
BEST Hotel Riga
BEST Hotel Riga
#56 of 112 in Riga
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
TOSS Hotel
TOSS Hotel
#77 of 112 in Riga
47 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Liene
Hotel Liene
#94 of 112 in Riga
58 reviews
3.1 mi away
Conference Hotel Tomo
Conference Hotel Tomo
#101 of 112 in Riga
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jurnieks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jurnieks

Address: Sofijas iela 8, Riga 1005, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 112 Hotels in Riga
Price Range: £19 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jurnieks 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Jurnieks offers you: friendly, service-minded staff. Budget hotel conception - cheap price and good quality ratio. Free Parking facilities, free Wi-Fi. Easy access to Riga's Old Town (15 min by tram). Easy access to Riga Zoo, the Mezaparks natural park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Jurnieks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurnieks Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing