We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel I have ever been to!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Naughty Squirrel Backpackers
Ranked #1 of 151 Speciality Lodging in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Everything about this hostel was great. But what especially made the difference to me was that everyone working there was REALLY nice, great to talk to or have fun with. All of it together made me feel very much home. I could really relax in the hostel. And I believe the other visitors felt like that as well, because everyone was outgoing, relaxed and fun.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RockViolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

First of all, this is a great hostel and they have a perfect understanding of their profession. The goal of the hostel and its staff is not only to provide a nice and clean bed but also to make your stay in Riga as pleasant as possible. Since all members of the staff are very professional they easily achieve this goal.

The staff is very nice and all of them speak English fluently. We get a welcome shot at arrival and could use the shower although it was before check-in time. Furthermore, they were so kind to put our towels in the dryer. You get a map at the reception and you they will show your the locations you want and have to go (sightseeing, restaurants, pubs and so on).

The shower and bathrooms were all very clean. We had a double-bed room, which was also very nice and equipped with a comfortable bed.

They offer a lot of activities like pub crawl, AK47 shooting, conoeing trips and so on. So it never gets boring.

I enjoyed my stay there and can recommend this hostel if you plan to go to Riga.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mahatma_Panda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Greeted at the door by friendly reception staff and offered a welcome shot, we immediately had a good impression of the place. It just kept going up from there. The hostel is in the BEST location you could hope for in Old Town and it is very clean; bathrooms are spacious enough with good hot shower pressure too. The girls that work at the hostel of.a.night time are particularly helpful and give the whole place a great vibe. We even scored free shots one night because one of the girls had had a bad day! Better yet, my boyfriend and i were offered a free upgrade to a double room on our final night there which was so nice of them. Overall the staff, facilities, location and fellow backpackers make this hostel the best we've stayed at. Couldn't recommend more highly

Room Tip: The 8bed dorm we were in faced a busy street, and to keep the air circulating we needed the windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mellybourke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This was a great find, recommended by a friend who forgot to mention its name so it took quite a lot of "hostel tastings" (Riga has an incredible number of hostels in the city centre) before I finally found it, and I was really glad I did not settle for the other hostels. The place is warm and very friendly. You get a free shot of Latvia's national hootch, Riga Black Balzam, as a welcome initiatory rite to Latvian habits and I suspect as a way of making sure your insides are cleared of any unwelcomed germs (Balzam is considered a medicinal drink and at 45% it sure does the trick). You also are entitled to free teas and coffees and they printed my boarding pass for free. Rooms are clean and spacious (I slept in a four-bed dorm), beds are wide and comfortable and each has fresh linen and a towel. You get a big locker to keep your suitcase and valuables under your bed and if you didn't bring your own lock, you can have one for a 5 euros deposit fee. Bathrooms and kitchen are clean and tidy. Wifi is excellent all around the hostel, entertainment is provided if you wish to join in and most importantly the location is spot on in the city centre, a 3-minute walk from the bus station and airport bus.
My days as a backpacker are long gone (I am not exactly a young chick anymore - I had been sailing across the Baltic and slept at the Naughty Squirrel on my last night as the boat was leaving for Tallin at the crack of dawn the next morning) but I will definitely use it again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lannu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Great Aussie run place, warmest, friendliest welcome by the gorgeous Sunny, who organises events most evenings. Decent sized beds, comfortable mattress, clean showers. Kitchen/bar/lobby/common room area all quite compact but contain everything you will need, including the ability to print bus tickets at 4am-thanks Wendy.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy-actor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed in this hostel with 7 friends for 4 nights over bank holiday weekend. Staff were absolutely great, hostel was very secure and very clean, free wifi was great, did the shooting tour which was really fun, went on two pub crawls which were awesome and Riga was great. Can't recommend it enough.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank GoBeck_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Had a great time at this hostel! Great location, super sociable so it was easy to meet new people, the dorms were clean and spacious, staff were friendly and helpful and they love to party! Just go there!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.3 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#1 of 112 in Riga
821 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST Hotel Riga
BEST Hotel Riga
#57 of 112 in Riga
197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cinnamon Sally Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Central Hostel
Central Hostel
#5 of 151 in Riga
252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tree House
Tree House
#6 of 151 in Riga
65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Nose
Red Nose
#16 of 151 in Riga
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naughty Squirrel Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naughty Squirrel Backpackers

Address: Kaleju iela 50 | Old Town, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 151 Speciality Lodging in Riga
Price Range: £16 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aussie owned Backpackers in the Heart of the Old Town. Only 300m to Main Square, Airport Bus, Central Markets, Bus Station, Supermarkets and many Bars/Restaurants. AK47 Shooting, Bobsled, Free Walking Tours, Pub Crawls, Latvian Food Nights, Karaoke, Husky Dog Sledding, Daily Happy Hours, Latvian Beer Tastings and much more! Voted No.1 Hostel in Latvia 2009 and 2010.A Genuine Backpackers for Real Travellers !!!!!** NO STAG PARTIES ALLOWED **Clean, Secure and Fun backpackers hostel in Old Riga for small groups and solo travellers. We are a true backpackers with friendly local staff that will help you 24hrs.** Female Only Dorms Available!! Our prices include all taxes, all linens and your bed already made for you... PLUS a FRESH TOWEL!!- FREE internet and WIFI- FREE lockers and locks- FREE Foosball Table- FREE shower and hand soap- FREE tea all day- FREE guide map- FREE popcorn & gumibears (Movie Nights)- FREE good times and awesome memories. We offer you TWO common rooms to meet other backpackers and a fully equipped KITCHEN for cooking 24 hours. All dorm rooms have large security lockers under each bed that can fit your whole backpack. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Naughty Squirrel Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing