We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Cheap, clean, and quiet.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of FireFighter Hostel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
FireFighter Hostel
Ranked #78 of 135 Speciality Lodging in Riga
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Cheap, clean, and quiet.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

I was lucky to be in Riga when it was quiet, and had an eight bed dorm to myself for three nights. The hostel and the area it's in seem a little rough when you arrive, but the accommodation itself is lovely.

The hostel is between two tram stops, and building numbers are quite clearly labelled, so if you catch the number 7 tram from the city you'll see the sign for FireFighter on the side of the building, either from the tram or the street, depending on where you get off. As others have mentioned, reception isn't always open, so make sure you have a phone to call them to come and check you in (the number's on the door).

The room was clean, with a big window and lots of light and air, although trams do pass by regularly and the noise could disturb light sleepers. The adjoining bathroom was spotless, with great showers, and even a heated towel rail! The kitchen is small, with a microwave and toaster, and there's a fridge downstairs.

The wifi in the room was fast and reliable, and allowed me to book an extra night once I'd arrived and realised I wanted to stay a little longer.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridgett C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    6
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
2
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
vilnius
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Weekend in Riga. Nice place when you find it and know what you want. We did have reservation that guy in reception could not find. You can get there by tram from a center if you know where to get off. Have your telephone charged you might not get in ringing a doorbell. Wi-fi is working in some parts of a building, if you smoke and have hangover courtyard is not a place you want to be. Don`t go out alone in the in the evening. When you get inside it is safe, showers and toilets were allright. Small kitchen and some internet. If you stay for one night it`s okay.

Room Tip: Second floor dorm did look much nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kari P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Riga hotels

galway
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

stayed there 3 nites in a 16-bed room,rough but cool all at the same time :-) the area is tricky,but alright in daylight,walking distance from the city center,so all in all great for the price you pay :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank olgierda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olsztyn, Poland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

I must say it first: THE PRETTIEST HOSTEL I'VE EVER SLEPT IN. Always clean and quiet. Localization seemed quite dangerous to walk at night, but it's close enough to the city center. It was a pleasure to stay there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anejbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.8 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#41 of 108 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dodo Hotel
Dodo Hotel
#49 of 108 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
1.6 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#1 of 108 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hostel Knights Court
Hostel Knights Court
#15 of 135 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FireFighter Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FireFighter Hostel

Property: FireFighter Hostel
Address: Maskavas iela 156/158, Riga 1003, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 135 Speciality Lodging in Riga
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your FireFighter Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing